We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location + beautiful view of the Plaza, and helpful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Plaza
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jose Noguira 1116, Punta Arenas, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“best location + beautiful view of the Plaza, and helpful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Best area to stay in town, and a great price for the location. a bit run down but staff was friendly and helpful w/ loaning out adapters calling tour companies, suggestions for dinner.
loved the balcony view of the building acoss the street w/ lanterns carved into the hedges!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    38
    12
    4
See reviews for
19
41
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The hotel is centrally located right on the main square, but as a result a bit noisy. Above all, the hotel is oldish and shows its age. The staff's friendliness makes up for it though. Overall not a bad experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel twice, each time for one night before and after a tour to Torres del Paine, and had two very different experiences.

When we first arrived, we were given room 308 -- a beautiful room upstairs with a huge balcony that literally opened up over the Plaza de Armas. The room itself was nice sized - with a queen and full size bed - and the bathroom was clean with a hot shower, which we both needed after traveling 23 hours to get to Punta Arenas. It was a Saturday night, so the room was a bit noisy...but that was to be expected. As I said, the room looked out onto the main Plaza in town and on to the neighboring church, which seemed to be the setting for numerous weddings that day and each time the wedding party parted or arrived, it seemed everyone in town drove past and honked their horns. Again, it's part of the local culture and we found quaint and certainly wouldn't judge the hotel on this.

The hotel staff was wonderful. Always greeted with a smile, always happy to try to understand my very broken Spanish. Breakfast was simple, but good -- hot eggs, warm bread, and fruit juices -- the norm in South America. The hotel held two large bags of ours (we were going to Antarctica afterwards and had LOTS of clothes) for the 5 nights in between our stay with no charges.

The second stay of our came after our visit to Torres and we were given a room right behind the reception desk and right next to the stairs. Every time the hotel phone rang, we heard it. Every time a guest checked in or out, we heard it. Every time anyone walked up or down the stairs, we heard it. All. Night. Long. I would have listened to honking cars for hours in exchange for this room: small, noisy and cramped. The only redeeming point of this stay was the very nice girl at the front desk recommended La Marmita as a place to eat, which was very cute, good service, and great food and Piscos.

Free fast wifi, as well as a computer in the lobby to use if you didn't bring your laptop. Our first stay, I would have given the place 4.5 out of 5 circles. Our second stay rated 2. Therefore, the average is 3-ish. I recommend - just try to get a room upstairs.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We had a room right near the reception so it was noisy and the light came through the window over the door all night. Be prepared to sleep under a lot of slightly ratty blankets. Breakfast was really bad - stale, stingy and tables were dirty.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Those wishing to see Torres Del Paine and the Penguins of Magalinda Island most likely have to spend a night or two in Punta Arenas. This was our plan and we chose the Hotel Plaza for its central location and good value. We were not disappointed and found it an above average oasis in an otherwise gritty and difficult frontier like town.

The hotel occupies the 2nd and 3rd floors of a quaint building at one of the corners of the Punta Arenas main plaza. Upon arrival at 2AM by very efficient taxi from PUQ, we got our first experience of southern Chile – a drunk recovering in the hotel entryway. Fortunately, the hotel desk clerk responded quickly to the taxi driver’s sounding of the entry buzzer and we let upstairs.

Inside, the Hotel Plaza is charming and warm. There are wonderful pictures and local artifacts on the walls. The common areas renovation is well done including hardwood floors that still creak as one walks the hallways. The lobby includes a small sitting area and computer where guests can access the Internet.

Our room was spacious and featured grand windows and high ceilings. There was a comfy queen bed with good quality linens. The room included flat screen TV and had good wireless internet [free] signal. The bathroom was bright and clean with new towels and great hot water.

It costs money to park on the street in Punta Arenas during the commerce part of the day. There is a small off street private parking stall [large enough for 3 subcompact cars end to end]. Due to the layout, the first car wishing to leave in the morning has to be the last car to arrive in the evening. If you tell the front desk staff your departure time and give them your car key, they will help coordinate. Very few guests get cars so this arrangement worked fine for us..

Breakfast is included and served on the 3rd floor. The breakfast is on the small side and not the kind where you might get away with a light lunch. Breakfast choices are limited, but tasted good nevertheless. The English skills of the breakfast staff are almost non-existent and fortunately not really needed.

The English skills of the front desk staff are variable – some better than others. Those with poor English seemed uninterested to help us with anything. Those with modest English seemed to enjoy the challenge of helping us with local arrangements. In general however, don’t count on getting answers to any special needs.

We tried to pay our bill in Chile Pesos [rather than convert back to USD at the Airport] but were told we would then have to pay a 19% tax.

The biggest negative we encountered was urban noise on Thursday and Friday nights. The noise came mostly from locals loitering in the town plaza and also from loud hot-rod cars, busses & trucks. Our night’s sleep was not as pleasant as it could have been.

Overall we thought the Plaza Hotel was a very good overall value and upon conclusion of our two-night stay, made another night’s booking for a week later upon our return from Torres Del Paine.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK USA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

This place is in an old mansion right on the plaza. Location was excellent for walking everywhere, but at night, it was very noisy. The windows are very old and don't latch well. Bed was broken down and uncomfortable.
The bathroom, however, seemed very new, and the shower worked fine.
Internet is included and was faster than that in my house.
Would I stay here again? Maybe, but in a different room and only if I knew there weren't better options.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Hotel Plaza is in a great location in the center of town. You can walk to everything. Room was comfortable and clean and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Jose Noguira 1116, Punta Arenas, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the main square of the city, Hotel Plaza is waiting for you to offering you the best of our services. No matter if you are going on a business or holiday trip, we have all that you need to give you a very nice stay in Punta Arenas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Punta Arenas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.