We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth doing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Magdalena y Marta

Isla Magdalena y Marta
jose nogueira 1255, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile
56-61-710219
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$136*
and up
Ranked #1 of 31 Attractions in Punta Arenas
Type: Reservations, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FEEL PATAGONIA is a company who navigates with RIBS trought the straight of Magellan and take the visitors to places that they can't get terrestrial way. This way you can really feel patagonia.Also we offer excursions all over Chilean Patagonia, such as Torres Del Paine, Tierra del Fuego & Punta Arenas and its Sourroding.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth doing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Easily the best thing to do in Punta Arenas. We did the larger ferry boat run by Comapa - 2 hours on the boat each way, plus an hour on the island.

The boat was really comfortable, despite what it looks like from shore one side of the ferry is like a train carriage and has similar seats, and even some with tables.

The penguins were great, and we loved the experience even though it was windy as hell!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    55
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A few friends and I took this tour upon arriving in Punta Arenas on the way to Torres Del Paine. We had no idea that visiting these two islands would be one of the highlights of our trip. Be prepared though. The zodiac boat trip is about an hour long in rough seas. On the island, the winds were relentless & unforgiving and the climate was unbearably cold. Bring gloves, hand warmers, down jacket, beanie, etc. in order to serve as buffer against the frigid environment. And, please do not forget your cameras. There were penguins everywhere we looked. We visited Christmas eve, 2012 and saw lots of toddler penguins being nursed by their mommies. The sight literally took our breaths away! Not only that, some of the penguins appeared to want to interact with us so we were fortunate to have some approach us at close range. There's also an atmospheric lone lighthouse at the end of a cordoned path in the island, where information about the island and restrooms are available. After visiting Magdalena, the boat circled around Isla Marta where you can get the opportunity to get a glimpse of more penguins and sea lions on the shore and in the water swimming. Do not miss when in Punta Arenas!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Penguin and penguin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The long boat ride is all worth it to see this lovely penguin, they're all over the island and it is amazing to be able to watch them close

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cameras required, Black tie optional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were fortunate enough to visit Magdalena Island at the end of our Via Australis cruise, so I can't comment about any logistics about getting to the island. For us it was just a very short zodiac ride to a permanent gangway. As you're approaching the island scan the waters for "porpoising" penguins skipping away from boats or unseen predators.

On the island there's a well marked path to the lighthouse which keeps tourists out of the penguins nesting area... but the birds will come very close as they go about their business. Some nests are barely off the trail. We visited in early January and the chicks were quite big, wearing their gray plumage. There were also gulls nesting along the trail.

I never made it to the lighthouse, preferring to stay in the area where the trail bends near the water, watching the penguins come and go. It's quite surreal for someone who has only seen these guys at a zoo. So interesting to be able to get so close and see them digging burrows, feeding chicks, commuting to the water and back, squabbling with neighbors... just being penguins!

If you're a bird-watcher you'll really enjoy this excursion. There are lots of people around, but just ignore them like the birds do!

Photographers will welcome a long lens to peek into burrows and landscape lens. There are plenty of cooperative penguins willing to let you play with fanciful shots if you like to carry a tilt-shift, fish-eye or such. And of course grab a quick video while you're at it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coolest wildlife experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

You can get incredibly close to these Penguins, they were even biting my shoelaces! The zodiac boat ride is long, but the views on a nice day are incredible. Isla Marta is an extra cool experience because you can get a great view of a massive sea lion colony and an empire penguin colony.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Magdalena y Marta also viewed

Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Isla Magdalena y Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Magdalena y Marta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.