We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will feel at home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilaia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ilaia Hotel
Save
You added Ilaia Hotel to your Saves list
Ignacio Carrera Pinto 351, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“You will feel at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

A wonderful place top stay! It’s almost like coming home to your parent’s house! The staff is marvelous; Juanita, Lis and Daniella are just like family the minute you meet them. Our room was spacious, the bed extra large, super comfortable, the sheets and pillows super clean and top notch! They have parking for rental vehicles and go out of their way to book any excursion or reservation. The location is acceptable because the town is very small and everything is within easy walking distance. The breakfast is a healthy mix of local goodies, the service and consideration is exceptional and very uncommon when traveling internationally. We recommend this place when staying in Punta Arenas, you can’t do better. However, there remains a few weaknesses which include a slight noise factor due to the thin walls between rooms and the WiFi, which is free, but pretty slow. All things considered, you’ll love this place if traveling as a couple without the children.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much!

Keep smiling...here and now...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
164
34
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We picked the Ilaia Hotel because of its reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. This hotel has very few rooms and serves a free, healthy breakfast. We arrived on a Sunday evening and had a party of 4. I had reserved 2 rooms. Remarkably, we were not required to "guarantee" the reservation with a credit card and merely reserved via e-mails with them. The staff is very, very nice and the rooms were spotless. The beds were very large and comfortable. The hotel sits on a hill a few blocks above the downtown area. We walked to town for dinner and then for lunch the next day. All was great and I would be happy to stay here again. Also - a great value too.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a little bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
We are glad to know that you fell good by choosen this space to stay...

Love and gratitud for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Ilaia, and we loved it. From the moment you walk in you sense the yoga influence of the owners, as there are messages of peace and love all over the place. The lovely ladies who operate the hotel greeted us warmly and in good English, and made us feel welcome immediately. Yes, the rooms are a bit Spartan, but that's just the style of the hotel. The bathroom was modern and nicely fitted out, good toiletries and towels, etc.
One thing we noticed is that sound carries somewhat loudly around the hotel, for example in our room we could hear anyone walking near our room or talking in the internet area; but again, it was no big deal.
Others have mentioned the fabulous breakfast, with muesli, fresh fruits and yogurt, etc.
The rooftop sun/observation room is just wonderful, and is worthy of mention. It is peaceful (a good word for the hotel overall!), well furnished with comfortable couches, and you can see over the whole city as well as the Straits of Magellan.
I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that we highly recommend the Illaia Hotel. There is no question that when & if we next visit Punta Arenas we will stay at the Ilaia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
We thank you with open heart for all the details you have mentioned, inclueded the sounds because that is our reality in our little space.

A life full of joy and love for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

How many hotel keepers give you a kiss on the cheek when you leave? And that's after onlt 1 night.
We stayed here on our last night in Chile before we flew back to the UK and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The bedroom was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful. Car parking is off-street and secure.
My only criticism is that I was awoken by some people leaving early. They tried to be quiet but we were on the ground floor and we could hear all their footsteps on the floor above - probably because of the laminate wooden floor. I would happily stay here again but would request an upper room.
Breakfast was superb with some unusual elements such as creamed avocado - it just kept on coming and was very tasty.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
We give thanks because the magic of love help us to improve the complexs situations, and in that way keep having our joy.

A big hug!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had an amazing experience at Hotel Ilaia. It's a quiet, modern little hotel with a lot of character. Amazing service, the nicest people we met on our entire trip. They make it a point to take really great care of you. The breakfast is also the best we had on our entire trip (yogurt with fresh fruit, homemade granola, fresh squeezed orange juice, etc.). As far as the rooms, they're all well decorated and cozy. Showers are better than normal.

We stayed here to relax after hiking the "W" in Torres del Paine and were extremely happy with our experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
We are glad to know that you'd enjoy our space.
Have a life full of miracles...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We only had one night here and wished we had more. It's very small, but designed to make maximum use of the space. The rooms are also small, but well-appointed. Everything looks new and it's all very clean. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We loved the top floor lounge room that was reached by a spiral staircase. It was also quite cozy, but had a view of the city and was very peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
thank you with all our heart...
have a nice life, full of miracles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We only had one night at this small, modern hotel, before setting off for Puerto Natales and Torres del Paine.

There is secure parking at the side of the hotel, which itself is a goodly walk down into town – at least 15 minutes. We received a warm and pleasant welcome at reception and were shown to a twin room (Room 1) on the ground floor. It was very sparsely decorated with no wardrobe but a long wooden structure which acted as an open chest of drawers, dressing table & desk, no TV and no safety deposit. This made us a little nervous being on the ground floor. The bathroom was a reasonable size, with good quality toiletries and an efficient hairdryer, but the towels were rather thin. The shower section is open to the rest of the bathroom, so the area around the loo does get rather wet. However, the water was hot and plentiful. Wi-Fi was good and strong in the room and throughout the hotel. The hotel is smart and very ‘new ageish’ with messages/statements on the walls etc, which might or might not be to everyone’s taste.

There is a super roof terrace and great views, although sadly we didn’t have time to make any use of it.

Breakfast – quite a show! We were presented with a bowl of homemade muesli and then instructed (very pleasantly) that we should top this with the presented chopped up apple, and banana, yogurt (natural) & homemade jam or honey and mix it all together. This was then followed by freshly squeezed orange juice, good coffee, fresh cheese & avocado, the latter to be eaten with thin, warm chapattis. We can report that it all was delicious & substantial.

The breakfast gets 5 stars, easily, but the spartan room and lack of facilities within in it, brings the score down to 3.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
ilaia´s family appreciate with all our heart, that you can let us know your experience with all possible details, because in that way you help us to show this space how it really is.
we know that the universe is on our side and we trust in the divine perfection.
trust and release.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilaia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilaia Hotel

Address: Ignacio Carrera Pinto 351, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilaia hotel, is an ideal place of rest, inspired on the very roots of Patagonia, nature and welfare.We as a family, are open to the awakening Era, through activities that will let you enjoy your wonderful present right now. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilaia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.