We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience in Chile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilaia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Arenas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ilaia Hotel
Save
You added Ilaia Hotel to your Saves list
Ignacio Carrera Pinto 351, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel Experience in Chile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I never write travel reviews but had to in this case. Hotel Ilaia was so special. I got into Punta Arenas from 30+ hours of traveling, tired and irritated because of a significant logistical issue that had the potential to ruin my Patagonia trip. They were unbelievably thoughtful and went out of their way to help me with my problem. Beyond helping me solve my problem, they were extremely sweet, kind, understanding and peaceful. Their hotel projects this very tangible joy and welcoming tranquility. In short, great vibs from great people. My only regret is that I only stayed one night before moving onto Torres Del Paine national park. My advise for those coming to Patagonia, spend at least 2 days in Punta Arenas decompressing at this terrific "good vib" hotel oasis. Thanks again Hotel Ilaia. B Folk California USA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your loving words, we appreciate your truly feel about us...

A big smile for you ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
144
31
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Yes, this hotel deserves its rating on all categories. Staff, hotel, breakfast all outstanding and on the top small viewing lounge you have a sweeping view of the city. I could write more but it has all been said by all the other guest reviews. I also say this as a traveler to many countries, sometimes you find a special place such as Hotel ilaia.

Joe Hall
Santa Cruz California
USA

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We thank you for the magic of love...

Our best wishes for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We loved Juanita and her sister! They were so friendly, helpful and happy. Great vibe! The hotel deserves the best review. It was very clean, quiet had the most wonderful beds and a great, healthy breakfast in the morning. We enjoyed tea on the roof top with a view. We stayed one night before heading to Torres Del Paine and booked again when we came back through. This would be the place we stayed again if we return to Punta Arenas. Well done ladies! Keep up the awesome work and great atmosphere. I wish more hotels were like this!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Remember that WE ARE ONE.

In the path on the consciousness…we keep walking…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really perfect place. Very reasonably priced. It is the perfect distance from the Straight of Magellan. Up on a hill, a couple of blocks from Buses Fernandez if you're going to Torres del Paine. Knowledgable staff. Taxi took 1 minute to arrive to get me to airport. Love it!

Room Tip: All rooms great! Use the upstairs third floor solarium to enjoy a cup of tea and the extraordinary v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your loving words ...Our best wishes for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I visit Punta Arenas often and usually stay at the Dreams. I saw the high ratings on Trip Advisor and gave the Ilaia a change. I am really glad I did. The hotel staff were incredibly nice and fun to be around. The rooms were very nice and the breakfast was fantastic. As with other reviewers I was traveling alone so it was like staying with friends. Definitely a wonderful energy to the place. A colleague who stayed there a week later loved it as well. I loved my goodbye hugs from everyone! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Everything good about this place is true! Excellent breakfast (even when I had to leave at 5 in the morning), impeccable customer service, herbal teas (even medicinal herbs available as well as for sale), there really is almost nothing bad you could say about the place... except the following:
1) If you are a light sleeper, this may not be the place to stay. On the upside, there is no carpet-- wood floors throughout. On the downside, the walls and doors are extremely thin and you can hear the other people staying there walk around, cough, drop things on the floor, etc., very easily.
2) Bring your own shampoo. The stuff they provide is mostly sodium lauryl sulfate (bad, though hardly uncommon) with a nice dose of formaldehyde-- yikes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

As a woman traveling alone, it is vitally important for me to feel safe and have a security net in the unlikely event that I need assistance. Also, I like to stay within short walking distance from the city center to enjoy the shopping and restaurants. Ilaia Hotel was a perfect match on both counts.

However, this hotel is more than a safe haven in a storm. It is a fun, cheery place with lots of laughter and helpful guidance. I spent 2 nights and followed their recommendations to visit the cemetery (incredibly peaceful and filled with stories), the natural history museum and lunch at La Marmita. All of which, I recommend.

If you have the opportunity and can give up bacon and eggs for breakfast, do book in. The larger superior room is worth the additional price, I believe.

I might add that I don't speak Spanish, but Paulina, Juanita and Lee all helped me through my list of questions, including sending laundry out.

Room Tip: I chose the superior room #8, which is larger and has a view of the distant Straits through the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H, Propietario at Ilaia Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank ! We feel love and gratitude for all and everything we have everyday.

A big smile for you ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ilaia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilaia Hotel

Address: Ignacio Carrera Pinto 351, Punta Arenas 6200000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilaia hotel, is an ideal place of rest, inspired on the very roots of Patagonia, nature and welfare.We as a family, are open to the awakening Era, through activities that will let you enjoy your wonderful present right now. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilaia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.