We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rey Don Felipe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rey Don Felipe to your Saves list
Hotel Rey Don Felipe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Armando Sanhueza 965, Punta Arenas 6200729, Chile   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in Rey Don Felipe in February 2012. It was a last-minute booking, but we had superb service from the staff, who were extremely friendly and welcoming. We had a set of difficult connections into and out of Punta Arenas and they were very helpful in accommodating us and sorting out some of logistical problems. A big thank you to them!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive comments which motivate us to maintain a constant concern for the highest quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    107
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
39
117
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We took Cascada Expedition's advice (backed up by Frommers) and stayed here on the way to and from Torres del Paine park - so glad we did. Very clean, quiet, modern rooms - most welcome after many hours of traveling. Helpful and reasonably friendly front desk staff. The included breakfasts offered a tasty selection of typical foods, with attentive servers when things got busy. This hotel is just off the beaten path, yet an easy walk to the center of town and restaurants/shops. About 1/2 hour's stroll from both the fascinating and historic cemetery and waterfront. Punta Arenas is definitely worth exploring, not just passing through, and this small hotel makes a good base for that.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in (ground and 4th floors) were quiet and clean; no particularly interesting vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive comments and we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay Your comments motivate us to continue to work and providing welfare to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel is modern, clean and well appointed. The staff is very good - they went out of their way to accomodate us. We arrived late and they made a special accomodation with the restaurant to make a delicious sandwich and bring it directly to the room. I would classify the hotel as a "hidden gem" in Punta Arenas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
we appreciate very much your favorable comments, all of them are very important to us. We will continue doing our best to make every guest feel like at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We loved our staff here. Located close to town. Free internet, two computers. Great staff. Somehow we were upgraded to a matrimonial suite on the 4th floor, huge room complete with jacuzzi spa and shower. Clean and comfortable. Nice lobby and good restaurant--the pumpkin soup was a huge favorite. The breakfast is very complete and plenty of fresh fruit. The staff goes out of their way to make guests comfortable. Wished we had stayed longer, we liked Punta Arenas a lot. They have a small but adequate gift shop. Get your calafate jam at the hotel, you won't find it elsewhere--and definitely not in Santiago! Good post cards, too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest, we are glad to know that you enjoy your stay. Your comments motivate us to continue to work and providing welfare to all our guests. thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Rey Don Phillipe. The food at the restaurant is excellent, the rooms are large and the staff are very friendly - we would highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear guest, along with our greetings, we sincerely appreciate the time you have set aside to express your opinion about our service, we are glad to know that the time you spend here was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Great location, helpful staff, nice restaurant, quiet, clean room. What more could anyone want? Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest, even as some time passed, we are very grateful for your feedback and happy that your stay was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel on the night here between getting off the ferry from Puerto Natalas and embarking on the crise ship to Ushuaia. The location is very central and it was a cosy hotel with a lovely lounge with fireplace, a geat restaurant, comfy well heated rooms and helpful staff. A nice place to stay when it is cold outside.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaRDF, Gerente at Hotel Rey Don Felipe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest, even as some time passed, we want to let you know we are very grateful for your feedback and happy that your stay was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rey Don Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rey Don Felipe

Address: Armando Sanhueza 965, Punta Arenas 6200729, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rey Don Felipe 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first class hotel Located in Punta Arenas, the capital of the province of Magellean's, which comprehends from Cordillera del Paine on the north to Cape Horn on the south. Suited by the Strait of Magellan's in Brunswich peninsula, is the continental city farthest south in the world, and a supply port for the Antarctic traffic. At just two blocks of the city's main square, we provide you 45 warmly, large and comfortable rooms, decorated elegantly, with good taste and simplicity. Attended by a courteous and bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rey Don Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rey Don Felipe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.