We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Patagonian cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Marmita

La Marmita
Plaza Sampaio 678, Punta Arenas, Chile
56061 222 056
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 91 Restaurants in Punta Arenas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, Vegan, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant Patagonian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had dinner here every night when we visited in December 2012. Given our back packing/trekking trip this was a splurge worth every cent! Great food, excellent staff, great atmosphere. My vegetarian partner felt as well taken care of as I did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    144
    48
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Another rave review... but don't forget happy hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

As indicated by the vast majority or reviews, this restaurant was fabulous. Besides the eclectic atmosphere, gracious wait staff and titillating cocktails, they have a very reasonable happy hour menu. Lasagna or a pasta and dessert for $5000 Chilean paseos! Tremendous deal and the best meal so far in Chile! I will be going back before I leave Punta Arenas!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“a perfect meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

on our arrival to chile our b&b recommended this restaurant. we were anxious for some pisco sours meal of local food. we were not disappointed. the cozy atmosphere added to a wonderful meal. lamb and hare, both stewed were heavenly. the wine was great and the pisco sours were the best we had in all of chile during our three weeks there. the bill was much less than we expected (and thankfully converted to US dollars for us since we hadn't yet figured out the exchange rate!). would go back again in a heartbeat if we are ever there again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calico Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

ongrio eel is the best in town. The veggie dishes are very good as well for those who are vegetarian. The chef will make something up special for your dietary needs.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love to live in Punta Arenas just for this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The restaurant has a unique decoration and it makes it cozy. I guess is family own restaurant, and they service was very high-quality. For vegetarians there are 4 or 5 different plates, not the usual salad that you find in Chile, this was REAL food. The menu listed charquican with cochayuyo, pastas and risotto. I tried the charquican and it was delightful, the best I have tried in years. Other friends, that were not vegetarian, asked for vegetarian dishes and they clean their plate. The rest asked for rabbit and pork, they like it a lot also. They have only a few wines by the glass. We asked for three desserts to share, and it was a great way to finish our fantastic meal. So if you go to Punta Arenas, don’t miss this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marmita also viewed

Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
Punta Arenas, Magallanes Region
 

Been to La Marmita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marmita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.