We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and helpful owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje Magallanes

Hospedaje Magallanes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hospedaje Magallanes to your Saves list
Hospedaje Magallanes
Magallanes 570, Punta Arenas, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place and helpful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Very helpful owners, got a lot of detailed information about Torres del Paine before and during my stay. Centrally located (5 min walk to the bus terminal and 15 minutes to the centre) with good breakfast, only a few rooms plus shared kitchen and communal area. Cosy place which makes it easy to meet fellow travellers. They also have laundry service and baggage deposit (left most of my stuff there when heading to Torres del Paine) and two nice dogs :-) Overall good value for money, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
WOW!!! What a review! You summed it up pretty good! Thanks for recommending us to the next fellow travelers! Cheers, --Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
31
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We had a nice stay here -- the common area is comfortable, and Marisol is very helpful with travel plans. The rooms are quite small and not especially warm though, and other people working/living there are not always very open or friendly. It was great to have a kitchen, but it is always a bit nicer if the hosts have a few basics around for guests (pepper, oil, napkins, etc, which if they had these, no one showed us where!) We didn't stay anywhere else in Punta Arenas, but elsewhere in Chilean Patagonia we had more comfortable lodgings and accommodating experiences for a similar price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thanks for your recommendations on how to further improve. We actually do have a few basics in the kitchen, which we happily share with our guests, but I guess, we weren't clear about it. We'll work on that!

I'm glad you had a nice stay althogether!

Best,

Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a really nice house and it feels like staying in a home rather than a hostel. The rooms are rather simple and there wasn't any heating in our room, but we left our door open for a while and the heat from the heater in the hallway warmed it up.
There are 2 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms so no problems with sharing at all.
There's a really clean kitchen which guests can use, and we were invited to share our lunch with Sebastian and his family.
The best thing was the breakfast! It really is plentiful and there's homemade bread and jams.
This is a nice place to stay, just so you can have a little of home from home.
Oh, and people have written about the dogs, and I just want to say that they are the most beautiful, clean and well behaved dogs ever, and I'm not a dog lover!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thanks for your very complete review. --Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brønshøj, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

German-owned, this small Hospedaje offers very helpful service and updated information, which gives "mark 4". Accomodation rather basic, but atmosphere very and friendly, and breakfast OK. If you dislike dogs, it is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks, Klaus M, for your honest review.

You are right, we share our family-owned and family-run Bed & Breakfast not only with our guests but also with our two lovely dogs, Rosita & Emma.

About our dogs, one of our guests once described her experience staying at our B&B like this: "They have two dogs, both of whom are very friendly, cudly, and not intrusive."

Best Regards from Patagonia to Denmark,

Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about Hospedaje Magallanes in Punta Areas. Sebastian and his wife were pleasant, helpful and made us feel like part of their family. We were given great food recommendations in the area and we even celebrated New Years with a backyard barbeque and drinks followed by the fireworks show. Breakfast was set up the night before so we could eat a good meal even though we had to leave really early in the morning. Sebastian was happy to make taxi, bus or hotel reservation. The hostel was located in a small downtown area so you could easily walk to get anything you needed. I would defiantly stay there again and would I recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Punta Arenas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us! New Year's Eve was fun! Hope to see you again in Patagonia soon! Best, --Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashmere, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Sebastian is a wealth of knowledge to help you on your trip. The hostel was comfortable and the breakfast here is excellent, and included in the price of you stay. Sebastian switches languages as someone would switch television channels. It's quite impressive, and certainly makes people feel even more welcome, and comfortable.Great place to stay! Right down the road from a supermarket as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
All 5's! Wow! Thanks for your awesome review!!! ;-) --Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I originally contacted Sebastian in September to help me arrange hiking and accommodations in both Torres del Paine and Tierra del Fuego. Sebasatien arranged everything for me including all my reservations to hike the W and would respond almost immediately to my emails. My trip went like clockwork. I talked to other hikers along the way who were less that satisfactory with their travel organizers. I would highly recommend Sebastian his travel agency Turismo Aonikenk. The accommodations at Hospedaje Magallanes were warm and friendly. Good location and bus stations, grocery store, shopping and restaurants close by. He and his wife Marison made me feel at home. I cannot say enough good things about Sebastia, his family and his business. Thank you for making my trip to Patagonia a cheriched memory!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Yup, we offer way more than "just a bed" and "just a breakfast"!

In our full-on, in-house travel agency, "Turismo Aonikenk", we can set you up with pretty much everything Patagonia & Tierra del Fuego have to offer!

I'm sure your favorite search engine, provides a one-click option to finding out more about your next, unforgetable "Adventures made in Patagonia"!!! ;-)

"celia d", I'm happy to read that you had a wonderful time in Patagonia! Thanks for recommending us!

Best,

--Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospedaje Magallanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Magallanes

Address: Magallanes 570, Punta Arenas, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by travelers, we offer 4 quiet double rooms with 2 shared bathrooms.Our provide great German-Chilean home-made breakfast with real coffee and real German bread.Centrally located, we are 4 blocks from the Plaza, close to bus stops, restaurants etc. In our full-on in-house travel agency, we provide first hand information and can arrange pretty much everything in Patagonia.We often get together around the campfire or for a Patagonian-style BBQ in our backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hospedaje Magallanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje Magallanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.