We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje Magallanes

Hospedaje Magallanes
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hospedaje Magallanes to your Saves list
Hospedaje Magallanes
Magallanes 570, Punta Arenas, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Punta Arenas B&B and Inns
Brønshøj, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Helpful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

German-owned, this small Hospedaje offers very helpful service and updated information, which gives "mark 4". Accomodation rather basic, but atmosphere very and friendly, and breakfast OK. If you dislike dogs, it is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks, Klaus M, for your honest review.

You are right, we share our family-owned and family-run Bed & Breakfast not only with our guests but also with our two lovely dogs, Rosita & Emma.

About our dogs, one of our guests once described her experience staying at our B&B like this: "They have two dogs, both of whom are very friendly, cudly, and not intrusive."

Best Regards from Patagonia to Denmark,

Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
29
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about Hospedaje Magallanes in Punta Areas. Sebastian and his wife were pleasant, helpful and made us feel like part of their family. We were given great food recommendations in the area and we even celebrated New Years with a backyard barbeque and drinks followed by the fireworks show. Breakfast was set up the night before so we could eat a good meal even though we had to leave really early in the morning. Sebastian was happy to make taxi, bus or hotel reservation. The hostel was located in a small downtown area so you could easily walk to get anything you needed. I would defiantly stay there again and would I recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Punta Arenas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us! New Year's Eve was fun! Hope to see you again in Patagonia soon! Best, --Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashmere, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Sebastian is a wealth of knowledge to help you on your trip. The hostel was comfortable and the breakfast here is excellent, and included in the price of you stay. Sebastian switches languages as someone would switch television channels. It's quite impressive, and certainly makes people feel even more welcome, and comfortable.Great place to stay! Right down the road from a supermarket as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
All 5's! Wow! Thanks for your awesome review!!! ;-) --Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I originally contacted Sebastian in September to help me arrange hiking and accommodations in both Torres del Paine and Tierra del Fuego. Sebasatien arranged everything for me including all my reservations to hike the W and would respond almost immediately to my emails. My trip went like clockwork. I talked to other hikers along the way who were less that satisfactory with their travel organizers. I would highly recommend Sebastian his travel agency Turismo Aonikenk. The accommodations at Hospedaje Magallanes were warm and friendly. Good location and bus stations, grocery store, shopping and restaurants close by. He and his wife Marison made me feel at home. I cannot say enough good things about Sebastia, his family and his business. Thank you for making my trip to Patagonia a cheriched memory!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Yup, we offer way more than "just a bed" and "just a breakfast"!

In our full-on, in-house travel agency, "Turismo Aonikenk", we can set you up with pretty much everything Patagonia & Tierra del Fuego have to offer!

I'm sure your favorite search engine, provides a one-click option to finding out more about your next, unforgetable "Adventures made in Patagonia"!!! ;-)

"celia d", I'm happy to read that you had a wonderful time in Patagonia! Thanks for recommending us!

Best,

--Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Hostel is owned by a German/Chilean couple who speak perfect English which makes it extremely helpful when you are trying to book excursions in Patagonia. We emailed in advance of our arrival asking Seb if he could help us book the bus to Puerto Natales and then on to Torres Del Paine, the answer came back quick and fast just saying it was all confirmed. Although we didn’t use the Hostel for booking the rest of our trip in hindsight we would have, it would have saved a lot of trouble! The Hostel has four guest rooms, a kitchen which you can use, living area with TV and book exchange and free wifi. Whilst only there a night we were made to feel welcome and invited to join Seb’s family for a bbq in the evening. The rooms are of an average size with lots of warm bedding which is a necessity in Patagonia! There are two guest bathrooms which makes it nice and easy in the morning if you need to get off quickly for a bus. Clean, friendly and extremely helpful hostel would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thanks, 10times, for taking your time to review our "Bed & Breakfast & BBQ" in such a complete way and for recommending us. Much appreciated! --Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed with Sebastien and his family for two nights and couldn't have been happier with his hospitality and the comfort of the hostel. Rooms were comfortable and clean with an excellent homemade breakfast. We found them very accomodating to our schedule and very helpful and knowledgeable when we asked for advice about travelling in Patagonia and Chile in general. The hostel itself is an excellent location close to downtown, walking distance to everything. We felt like welcomed house guests and would reccomend to anyone considering a trip to Patagonia. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thanks a lot for your very nice comments. It's always good to know when a traveler (like you) appreciates the help of other travelers (like us)... ;-) Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you again one day in Patagonia! --Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We arrived at 6am and Sebastian greeted us with a smile and showed us our room. There are 4 rooms attached to his home with a common living room, office and kitchen. At first it felt a little strange sharing his home but his family is wonderful and it felt like staying with relatives. The rooms are small but bright and the 2 shared bathrooms are plenty. We met some of their friends and other hostel owners as well as guests and really enjoyed our time. The breakfast was simple but there was real bread and real coffee (instead of instant). Sebastian helped us arrange our tours and gave us advice on some mirdadors and restaurants to visit. It's a great location only 5 blocks from the main plaza and 6 blocks from the water. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Email them directly for the best rates especially
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aonikenk_com, Owner at Hospedaje Magallanes, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Well, I guess, you're now part of our family... ;-) ... and you're right, a family's home with a bunch of guest rooms is truly what describes our place in a very good way.

We believe, getting to know the locals is an important part of ones journey, and if you don't mind that we (our family, staff and sometimes a friend and/ or some of our guests) all join at the table for lunch, or that one of our boys is doing his homework in the common area, while you're having a cup of coffee or reading a book, staying at our B&B is your best choice.

A little note for anyone yet to come stay with us:
Don't be afraid of sharing our living room/ common area with us. For us, that's what it's all about! If we wouldn't be happy sharing common areas, running and living in a B&B wouldn't be our choice to begin with. To clarify this a bit, we do have our private part of the house and with over 10 years experience, we know when to go hide - just like we respect your privacy. It's simple: it's our life style!

To warp it up: I'm happy you noticed my big 6-o'clock-in-the-morning-welcome-smile, especially, since 6:00 a.m.'ers are not necessarily my favorites - but you know what: everybody deserves to be greeted with a smile, right?! :-) "Welcome to Patagonia!" --Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospedaje Magallanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Magallanes

Address: Magallanes 570, Punta Arenas, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Punta Arenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Arenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by travelers, we offer 4 quiet double rooms with 2 shared bathrooms.Our provide great German-Chilean home-made breakfast with real coffee and real German bread.Centrally located, we are 4 blocks from the Plaza, close to bus stops, restaurants etc. In our full-on in-house travel agency, we provide first hand information and can arrange pretty much everything in Patagonia.We often get together around the campfire or for a Patagonian-style BBQ in our backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hospedaje Magallanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje Magallanes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.