We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cueva del Milodon

Cueva del Milodon
24 Km (15 mi) to the south-east is Puerto Natales, Puerto Natales, Chile
+56 61360485
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Landmarks
Attraction details
Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

After reading comments, we didn't expect much of the visit (we stopped there before visiting the Parque Torres del Paine), but I must admit that I was pretty impressed by the cave: it is huge! At the entrance you hear the story of the Milodon, and - whether it is mythical or not - the explanation of our guide was quite interesting. So the stop is worth the visit!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    168
    135
    28
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Madryn, Argentina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Interesting spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very interesting spot during the Torres del Paine excursion. It is a very unique place since you can imagin how was the recent past before the massive extinction of the american mammals.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Close to Puerto Natales and very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you have time this cave is close by and worth the time. The cave itself is unbelievable. Would recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
878 reviews 878 reviews
668 attraction reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
689 helpful votes 689 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The visit to the cave was included as part of our tour to Torres del Paine. The walk to the cave took us past uninteresting signage relating to the history of the area. Then there were some horrible rusty metal cutouts of animals from the past. Really? This sort of visual information has moved on to bigger & better things. Once in the cave there was a long, up & down walk around. Err - with no passing information. Err - we walked round for the exercise? Then finally a photo opportunity with a full blown fake Milodon. This has to be the worst example of "How to Fill a Tourists Day" so very badly. A shame because with a bit of thought this could have been so much better.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting site - very well managed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We passed by on our visit to Torres del Paine and it was well worth the visit. We visited all the caves by foot and it took us about 3 hours. The paths are perfectly marked and the historic site is perfectly prepared. However the site is a bit out of the way and if your time is limited I would prioritize the nature around - Laguna Sofia which is just on the other side of the mountain for example-

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cueva del Milodon also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Cueva del Milodon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cueva del Milodon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.