We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried and failed to stay here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Erratic Rock 2

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Erratic Rock 2 to your Saves list
Erratic Rock 2
Benjamin Zamora 732, Puerto Natales, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 42 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tried and failed to stay here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We made a reservation with ER2 several months before visiting Puerto Natales. We confirmed our reservation by email and thought nothing of it. When we arrived there with backpacks in tow we were told we had no reservation and all rooms were full. It turns out that someone had recorded our reservation for the wrong day despite the confirmation email (which we'd printed and brought with us on the trip). Whoops.

I still give them 3-stars because the man at the desk was very apologetic and called other nearby hostels until he found us a place with room. The down side was that we had to pay a significant amount more for our room than we had planned. Travel with a credit card!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    41
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
70
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Erratic Rock 2 is a small hotel or more hostel. We stayed here the night before and the night after our trek in Torres del Paine. The second night we were roughly disturbed in our sleep by partying neighbors…. The simple rooms are spacious and clean but noisy. The breakfast is great, including scrambled eggs. Wifi works only in/near the ‘lobby’ (entrance). They do have a computer in the lobby area you can use for free. Nice and helpful staff, especially the Spanish guy who does the night-shift. He is also the only one that speaks (really good) English.
If you don't need much luxury: recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Be careful if following a recommendation for Erratic Rock in Puerto Natales - one is lively place attached to the Base Camp bar where daily talks take place to guide you through hiking the W. Erratic Rock 2 is the other one - more like a motel, more expensive than ER1 and apparently targeted at couples. We ended up staying at this place after asking a previous host to book us in by phone - they called the wrong E.R. and when we turned up at Erratic Rock 1 they had no booking and quickly suggested how the mix-up had occurred.

Overal it's nice enough - clean and pleasant. But why couldn't they give it an individual name to save confusion?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We only spent one night here on our way to El Calafate.
The rooms are big and the bathroom as well, with great hot water and a very good breakfast.
Ok, the wifi does not work in the rooms, but it is not a big deal. The common area is very pleasent and nice where you can seat and use the wifi. The location is quite not excellent as you have to walk a few blocks to the main area or the waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Small, clean, friendly, good breakfast, very helpful. Kept a good "e-mail" attitude when
I kept changing the days of my stay. A good base if you want a private room/more privacy than provided at Erratic Rock. All good.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Me and my family stayed here for 3 night. We had the room 1 y 2 for ourself and they have everything we were expecting: Bath for ourself, breakfast and nice beds.

They have everything you need if you want to visit Torres del Paine, the glaciars, etc. The price it's right, the even have a storage so you can trek lightweight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Imagine this.

Everyday.... you get up, make breakfast, see the kids off, clean the house, change the sheets, welcome a new load of kids, answer all the same questions the new kids have that the ones yesterday had, check all the new kids are ok, go to sleep, get up at 5am to make breakfast, see the kids off.... tough eh?

But Bill and his small team do this effortlessly and with such care. Juggling a reservations book of kids not knowing whether they're coming or going must take the patience of a saint and perhaps 'Saint Bill' might be fitting.

With a brother that runs a bar next door, equipment hire and the legendary 3pm TdP advisory 'talk' (free to everyone even if you're not staying at the hostel), Saint Bill will guide you and care for you.

Here endeth today's lesson. Ignore it at your peril.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erratic Rock 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erratic Rock 2

Address: Benjamin Zamora 732, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Erratic Rock 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erratic Rock 2 Hotel Puerto Natales
Erratic Rock 2 Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erratic Rock 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.