We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vibe & beautiful spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Remota

Save Saved
You added Remota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Remota
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 9 Norte, km 1.5 | Huerto 279, Puerto Natales, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 hotels in Puerto Natales
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice vibe & beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Remota has a cool design and very beautiful views from virtually every part of the hotel, and staff was very nice. It's pretty central for a variety of activities and for visiting Puerto Natales, which is 5 minutes away. The place has a cool design and chill vibe but it's a little disorganized in some respects and seems to still be getting it's footing in terms of service at meals (random whether a waitor/waitress will notice you, even with a half full dining room), excursions, and sticking to departure times. We called the hotel in advance to ask if we needed to pre-book excursions and they said no, as all are weather dependent; when we got there, that turned out not to be true and we had to go with a third party (not hotel run) company for one excursion. That said, even if you book in advance, the weather will dictate everything, so booking ahead just means you'll have a spot on the excursion if weather cooperates. The one hotel organized excursion (to Torres del Paine) we went on was great, with a delightful picnic lunch and diverse stops along the way.

Room Tip: Some rooms require you to walk outside to get to them, which is ok, unless it's windy, cold or r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    26
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
73
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed at Remota for the first time and had a great experience. The hotel really takes care of all the logistics so you can focus on just showing up for your adventures and making the best of them! Pros: knowledgeable guides (especially warm and friendly Claudia) and friendly and warm service in the restaurant and spa. The tours are all interesting though some demand a high degree of fitness so please be prepared. The pool and jacuzzi area are incredible especially when they bring you a glass of champagne as you lay in the hot tub!! Room for improvement: meals in general aside from breakfast. The hotel could do much better if it offered more alternative even in the way of simpler dishes such as pastas or sandwiches. Rabbit and crab are hardly easy choices and these were the alternatives on several days. If you are a coffee lover, bring your own because you will be disappointed. Another suggestion would be to have a few more books in the upstairs 'library' so guests can benefit from this during their down time and to have a few basic medication such as throat lozenges on hand. Being on such a remote area makes it hard for customers to go find this on their own. Overall, the experience was great and we loved our holiday in Patagonia but I think a few tweaks would make the whole package even better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGerencia, Director Comercial at Remota, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello 334flamengo, how are you doing?

thank you very much for your comment about your stay at Remota.
We will immediately speak with all the areas involved and will make sure that we can improve the details you mentioned.

For us it is very important to receive the comments of our guests, as we constantly looking for improvement of our services.
We wish you and your family a great 2014 and we look forward to receive you at Remota again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

It is expensive but very special.Special design. Very good food. Super friendly staff.
Thanks Pedro for guiding us and of course also thanks to our drivers Bastia and Carlos.
We hope to come back to Pagonia. Puerto Natales is very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Every aspect of Remota is top notch.... Rooms, meals, staff, excursions and more. We had a lovely 3 night experience here. We took 3 excursions into the park! The guides were knowledgeable and fun, and the picnic lunch was so delicious and plentiful, from the chopped salads, soup sandwiches, wine and even midday snack! Make sure to step onto the rooftop at sunset and don't forget your camera!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Other reviewers have commented on the architecture, and there's no denying the interesting features and stunning, expansive views from Remota, especially the public areas. However, it was the genuine, cheerful, uber-helpful and personalized service - from everyone we encountered- that made Remota an outstanding experience.
Prior to arrival, all reservation inquiries & processing (by email) went very smoothly, as did the airport pickup.
Upon arrival, we were warmly & personally greeted by Claudia, invited at our leisure to the bar to discuss the next day's excursions, and off to our room within 5 minutes, where our luggage was already waiting. The room was clean & comfortable, although a bit dark, especially the bathroom. That said, we spent minimal time there except to sleep, and the bed was wonderful!

We found the bar and restaurant service lovely - perhaps not always absolutely polished, but all the more enjoyable for the evident enthusiasm and effort. Although others have commented on the food, we actually found it difficult to choose among the dinner options, as they all sounded delicious and we were never disappointed. Allergies (shellfish) were handled carefully. The meals at Remota were the best of our stay in Patagonia/ Torres del Paine. The only minor flaw, as previously mentioned, is the coffee (at breakfast) isn't the greatest nor abundant...

The highlight of highlights, though, was the excursions, with a tremendous variety to choose from, for all activity levels. Claudia thoroughly explained our options, and was our guide the first day - she was outstanding. Highly knowledgeable, energetic, enthusiastic, dedicated, passionate about the land, people & culture - we simply couldn't have asked for a better introduction. The following two days we had different guides, who were also capable, well-versed and enthusiastic. And if your trail lunch includes the chicken soup - have some, it's addictive!
In an example of 'above & beyond' service, for personal reasons we wanted to return to Punta Arenas by bus some days after departing Remota. The crew at Remota sorted out our bus tickets, which were waiting as promised at the station upon our departure.

Overall, we loved our stay - the property is remarkable, but the people and service even more so. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I saw a photo of Remota in a travel magazine and knew that's where I wanted to complete my Patagonia trip. It is architecturally stunning, staff were very friendly and the room was so comfortable. But the slime on the tile of the pool, repetitive meals (it was delicious the first time, but couldn't they at least come up with a different sauce each day after?), and mosquito infested trek were not worth the all-inclusive rate. I could not drink enough wine to justify the cost. I have NO regrets, just suggest others do some comparison shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent 3 wonderful days at Remota. It was really beautiful. The accommodation was very comfortable, the food amazing and really friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to be of assistance.
The guides were very knowledgeable.
Exploring the National Park was a real experience with the most breath taking scenery.
It was a magic experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Remota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remota

Address: Ruta 9 Norte, km 1.5 | Huerto 279, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Natales
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Remota 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remota is one of the most celebrated and awarded Hotels in Chile, where the National Architecture Prize Awarded, German Del Sol, achieved the most breathtaking views of the fjord and glaciers.Normal things like breakfast,is an unforgettable experience.Luminous and inserted in Patagonia's landscape, without any modification, with the best infrastructure, totally different from a classic hotel that impresses visitors and leaves a lasting memory.Remota is more than just a hotel, it allows travellers to have a unique total Patagonia Experience.Remota is an ecological and sustainable hotel, built with high quality materials, almost no motors, no elevators,no television or internet in the rooms, very light, almost transparent, natural ventilation and highly efficient energy use.We support local communities and are strongly linked to social and cultural organisations as well.Remota is a selected property of the prestigious Virtuoso luxury travel network (only 5 operations in Chile) and was choosen by Orvis as an International Endorsed Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Remota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Remota Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile
Remota Hotel Puerto Natales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Remota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.