We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costaustralis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costaustralis to your Saves list
Hotel Costaustralis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pedro Montt 262, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here one night on out way to Patagonia. Comfortable room with an incredible view. Hotel was clean, centrally located, staff was helpful, and the windows in the lobby by the bar offered a comfortable place to have a drink, with a wonderful view of lake and mountains. WiFi in room. Stick with local wine, beer or pisco sour at the bar. The other drinks on the menu need some work. Overall a wonderful experience! Would recommend a stay absolutely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for the time you spend writing us. We hope to see you soon.

The Hoteles Australis Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    125
    35
    3
    5
See reviews for
40
124
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Well decorated and very comfortable rooms. Very well located with incredible views. I liked the sitting area off the bar which was a cozy spot to meet up with friends.

Staff is pleasant and helpful and the buffet breakfast is pretty good. They have free wi fi, but it was a bit spotty.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest:

Thanks for leave a comment. This is a great feedback channel for us.
We hope to see you soon.

The Hoteles Australis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

So much nicer than its sister hotel in Punta Arenas which was terrible.

Staff much more pleasant in this hotel and service really good, particularly the lady restaurant manager who was very attentive. Overall a pleasant stay and a lovely view to boot!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest:

Thanks for leave a comment. This is a great feedback channel for us.
We hope to see you soon.

The Hoteles Australis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The view of the waterfront is beautiful. The lobby its beautifully decorated with wood sculptures. The rooms were large and clean. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was pretty good. The buffet breakfast is decent but not great. You can't beat the location and the views. They have free WiFi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesAustralisLtda, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costaustralis, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest:

Thanks for leave a comment. This is a great feedback channel for us.
We hope to see you soon.

The Hoteles Australis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Insofar as hotels that are in rather than surrounding Puerto Natales I think this rates as no. 1. Hotel was incredibly well located across the road from one of the most beautiful vistas (see pic), rooms were large, comfortable, and clean. Restaurant food and service were average but not unusual for an "out of the way" town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very comfortable and homey, great location and friendly staff. Rooms are warm, clean and quiet. Not a lot of variety for breakfast and I didn’t find out I could get hot items cooked to order until my last day there, and when I did order it took forever and I had to cancel my order because my transportation had arrived. Other than that, dinner was delicious and the overall experience in Puerto Natales, the glaciers, Torres del Paine, etc is simply unforgettable. Totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Think twice before paying for a better view... you won't be sitting in your room all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMPHIS, TN
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

With it's fantastic location on the waterfront, it's nice bar with a water/mountain/glacier view, courteous staff and comfortable rooms- this hotel is great. You have to know that most people that are staying in this "frontier" town are not staying in accomodations like these! There are lots of hostels and trekker inn- but this one fits the bill if, like me, you require a bit of luxury whist in the wilderness!

Room Tip: We didn't have one but the water/glacier/mountain view must be magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costaustralis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costaustralis

Address: Pedro Montt 262, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costaustralis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the attractive town of Puerto Natales (Chile), on the edge of the astonishing Ultima Esperanza fjord, the CostAustralis hotel stands out as a living example of the spontaneity of the Magellan architecture. The model on which our hotel is based is the friendliness offered by the inhabitants of this remote town. Thus, at Hotel CostAustralis, service is our calling. We are committed to providing the very best, and a satisfied guest is our greatest reward. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Costaustralis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Australis Puerto Natales
Hotel Costaustralis Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costaustralis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.