We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great views over the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kau Patagonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kau Patagonia to your Saves list
Kau Patagonia
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Pedro Montt 161, Puerto Natales, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Puerto Natales B&B and Inns
Preston, Lancashire
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Good value and great views over the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here overnight on our way to Torres Del Paine. It provides simple accommodation offering very good value for the price paid (Chile 55,000). Received some helpful advice on buses into the park. Bedrooms are large and attractively decorated, although the bathrooms are really small but ok for an overnight stay. We had a lovely view over the water and mountains beyond. The following day we had an early start and the hotel kindly arranged a simple breakfast at 6pm.
A little far out from the bus station and a taxi is recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

5 rooms over a coffee shop (which has real coffee!), each room faces out over the water with wonderful views to the mountains. Decor is modern rustic, rooms very comfortable. Doesn't have normal hotel services but great informal place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Interior design was top notch, using natural wood colors matched with marine blue. The setting is gorgeous, with only 5 rooms on the second floor of the building, all water facing. Being so close to the water enhances the Patagonian experience, vs. a hotel in town. The ground floor has a cafe - canteen style with long tables. During the day, non-hotel guests come in for drinks / wifi. So the atmosphere is kinda like a restaurant once you walk down from your room.
The only complaint I had was of the quality of its staff. Sometimes a bit slow, and often not being able to get what I want. Bed was a bit on the soft side - not great if you prefer hard firm beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was the hotel we were staying at through booking our trekkign and kayaking experience through Antares. I am glad we stayed here. The rooms may have been small, but they were warm, comfortable, quiet and had great views over the ocean. The service was decent, even if the girls behind the coffee counter couldnt speak the best english (who cares? We are in their country). Even if you dont stay here, you must visit for the hot chocolates. They were the best in our Patagonian travels (maybe ever!?).
The location is great too. Right on the waters edge to take a stroll if you like, and just a short walk to the plaza and restaurants, bars etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The kau lodge fits the surrouding, with the wood, the nice bed, the cosey cafe it is a warm place in a rather cold patagonie. This is what we hoped and what we got. So perfect. It was a oitty the restaurant was closed, but nevertheless a good experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It is a beautiful small hotel with great details in all the spaces. Serves great coffee with a real espresso machine. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The view is amazing its right on the coastal road and close to everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012 via mobile

Stumbling across the Kau Lodge was probably our favorite part of our trip to Patagonia. The coffee at the inhouse coffee shop was the most incredible I've ever tasted and I can't say enough good things about this place. Our first night we stayed in a Queen sized bed room and the bed was so soft, clean, and heavenly. Breakfast the next morning was incredible with fresh squeezed orange juice, cappuccinos, bread & jam, and yogurt. The service was incredible and the entire place was run like a family. We weren't given a time for checkout but asked what time we would like and the same for breakfast. We loved it so much we made an extra stop in Puerto Natales on our way back. STAY HERE!!!! You will not regret it. Obsessed with Kau.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kau Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kau Patagonia

Address: Pedro Montt 161, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kau Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kau Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kau Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kau Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.