We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat for foodies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of aldea restaurant

aldea restaurant
Barros Arana 132 | Barros Arana 132, Puerto Natales 616000000, Chile
+56 61 41 4027
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Aldea Restaurant looks to develop the concept of eating good. Start from the idea of enjoying every moment of the ritual of eating. Mixing local products with flavors of the Mediterranean, trying to keep each product in its original condition, using products of their own garden, trying to make that delicious it is also healthy. The chef interacts with visitors to create the perfect blend of each dish and a good wine. Slow Food.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A treat for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay at Puerto Natales. The service is friendly and fast and the food is amazing. The owner/chef comes out and talks you through his menu (his English is excellent). He really takes pride in his work and it shows! His ceviche and seafood curry starters were the best I've had! This place is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    18
    2
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wholesome treat. Excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The chef came out from the kitchen and took the time to explain every dish on the menu in English. Couldn't resist the beef which had been slow cooked and the vegetarian tagine. Really wholesome and locally sourced food. Loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here as a group on the way to Torres del Paine and were well taken care of. Fresh simple food, great friendly service and a nice atmosphere make this a fine place to relax over lunch and a glass of wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent! Not to be missed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We ate at this amazing little restaurant the evening before our Torres del Paine trek and could not wait to return after our 9 days in the park. The ambiance is cozy and comfortable and like the other reviews, the owner/chef talked us through the menu. The food was absolutely OUTSTANDING and reasonably priced. The first night, we had the hare (tender, juicy, amazing) and the slow cooked beef (delish) followed by pisco sours (not to be missed) and the tres leches cake for dessert (amazing!). On returning from the park, we again had the hare as well as risotto with morels, again both delectable. I cannot adequately express how delicious everything was - you must go and try it yourself!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
“Best meal so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A very friendly guy opened up the restaurant for us as we were peering into the window. He then took the time to explain/translate the menu for us and so we decided to stay and eat.

The restaurant is very attractive inside with some great reggae music playing in the background.

The very friendly guy turned out to be the chef and provided us with a delicious meal - loin of hare, something we had never tried before but was delicious. Pisco sours and wine also terrific.

All in all a great evening, do try this restaurant if you are in Puerto Natales.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed aldea restaurant also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to aldea restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aldea restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.