We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere, bad wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tin House Patagonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tin House Patagonia to your Saves list
Tin House Patagonia
Miraflores 616, Puerto Natales, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, bad wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Small hostel with nice rooms and cosy common spaces.
Kitchen is clean and well equipped.
Because it is small place it has nice atmosphere and kitchen is not too crowded.
Place is cold and rooms are chilly.
Big problem is very bad wifi. It is hard to search for next day tours with out wifi.

And one tip: do not buy Torres del Paine tour from them if you don´t speak spanish. Tour is great but you don´t get as much others with english speaking guide. Their "guide" is a taxi driver, not a guide.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura_TinHouse, Owner at Tin House Patagonia, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you so much for this honest review!! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time in the area.

I wanted to apologize about the bad internet, we have fixed the problem - replacing the broken router - the internet is functioning smoothly again. I am also concerned that you were cold; each room has its own heater and guests are welcome to adjust the temperature of their room or in the common spaces. I am sorry this wasn't made clear to you all.

The tour to Torres del Paine is a completely correct review. The company that we normally work with does not have a guide, but just a driver. It is a bit cheaper and if a guide is desired then a different company would need to be contacted. I am sorry this wasn't made clear to you at the time you signed up for the tour.

Thank you for the review and I hope you have had a great vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a very comfortable, small hostel in Puerto Natales. The breakfasts were outstanding with yoghurt, eggs available to cook, juice, etc. The kitchen is very spacious. We were able to store our bags there while we did the "W" trek in Torres del Paine. They were helpful and supportive as we were working out a few details regarding our trek and our communication with fantastic sur which has an office within walking distance. This hostel is very close to the bus station.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night after doing TdP. Important to book hostels ahead in this town as showing up on day is not an option for most hostels here. Saw lots of people wandering streets late at night with backpacks trying to find somewhere to sleep and some having to camp in park, not worth the risk.
Very welcoming staff. Great location. Good size breakfast and variety. Very warm cosy feeling here. Only room in hostel for 8 people maximum (dorm and private rooms available) which meant was a great friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Really enjoyed our time here, stayed in hostel nearby before TdP which was no good compared to this one. Top choice!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here one night and would definitely recommend it. The place was very clean and cosy and the beds were comfy. The kitchen is very clean and organised. Breakfast in the morning was spot on, cereal, toast, juice and coffee. The owner, despite being 8 months pregnant was very helpful and attentive. I really enjoyed my stay here!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hostel is clean and basic but sufficient for tourists here for the Torres Del Paine. The staff is friendly and would offer assistance in any way. You are also welcome to deposit your bag packs while away for treks at national park. The breakfast is good and you may help yourself of the variety of items. Kitchen is well equipped if you want to whip yourself a meal! The location is about 15min walk to bus station and 10min walk to the plaza. But since it's a small town, you should get around pretty easily.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very cosy little hostel with a lovely helper to assist you with any queries. Clean rooms, HOT showers, and toilets and wifi. Breakfast is self serviced but free flow. Located about 10min walk from the bus station. Recommended for travelers! Book quick before it gets sold out!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Awesome comfortable and clean stay in house with just three rooms (2 doubles, 1 four bed dorm). Great for preparing for the Torres trip and just relaxing. It was nice not to be constantly watched as you are in an ordinary hostel. Luggage storage and laundry and great breakfast. Only slight detraction was that we felt like we were treated a little less friendly than we had been staying there, when we came back to get our bags we had left in storage. Maybe just tired staff.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tin House Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin House Patagonia

Address: Miraflores 616, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tin House is a small accommodation located in the center of Puerto Natales. We have only 6 beds! Tin house provides a comfortable atmosphere for travelers that need to relax. The house has a kitchen, backyard and living room for use by its clients.Our small property is the perfect place to begin your adventure in Patagonia. Tin house was built in the 1950s, renovated in 2009, and now shares a cozy vibe with all its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Tin House Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tin House Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin House Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.