We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cosy and comfy apartment style accommodation in perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tin House Patagonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tin House Patagonia to your Saves list
Tin House Patagonia
Miraflores 616, Puerto Natales, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great cosy and comfy apartment style accommodation in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Awesome comfortable and clean stay in house with just three rooms (2 doubles, 1 four bed dorm). Great for preparing for the Torres trip and just relaxing. It was nice not to be constantly watched as you are in an ordinary hostel. Luggage storage and laundry and great breakfast. Only slight detraction was that we felt like we were treated a little less friendly than we had been staying there, when we came back to get our bags we had left in storage. Maybe just tired staff.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is a fantastic base for trips in the area. Small, well kept hostal with really helpful staff. They helped sort all our buses and trips before we arrived. The extremely good value laundry service is a bonus! I wish there were other versions of Tin House in the other towns we are staying in. Thanks Patti and Laura, it was great.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Patti made reservations for me at Torres Del Paine, bus transfers between town and the park, and also provided me other great advice. Laura also saved me by letting me know that I needed my reciprocity paper to re-enter Argentina. The rooms were comfortable and clean. A great overall value and the breakfast was really good, especially having eggs to cook. Thanks a bunch. I would have given it the highest rating, but only Hospedaje Lautaro in El Calafate gets that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

A lovely hostel, feels like you've rented a chalet for a couple of nights. Very warm and toasty, with welcoming owners who want you to feel at home and are very knowledgeable about Torres del Paine. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tin House before and after our Torres del Paine trek. We can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay. Our hosts were fantastic and made us feel right at home. With only a few rooms, it's a cozy place with a great living room and kitchen. We enjoyed being able to cook meals with all the cooking utensils and pots and pans you could possibly want. The also keep some basic things like spices, cooking oil, etc. on hand that makes things a lot easier. A nice touch is a place for travelers to take and leave extra food, supplies (white gas, etc.) to help stock your journey. We benefitted by taking some of the dry goods left behind and off loading some stuff we didn't need any more or want to be lugging around.

Tin house also provides a great breakfast with bread, jams, granola, yogurt, and eggs you can cook any way you like. Such a night treat and something we don't see too often at other hostels/guesthouses.

As others have mentioned, the floors are a little creaky and walls a little thing - common throughout the area - so if you are light sleeper, you might benefit from ear plugs. But with comfortable beds and pillows, you shouldn't have much trouble snoozing.

If you are making a trip to Puerto Natales, definitely check out Tin House.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just got back from a week long trip in the South of Chile. We found Tin House on trip advisor and when we booked it, we were asked if the hostel could do anything else to assist us in our trip to Puerto Natales (and Torres del Paine). Patti (one of the employees) ended up booking all our transfers to and from the airport and Torres del Paine. She gave us tips on the best places to eat and the best walking route for the Torres.
She also helped us get to the Milodon Caves, which is something I'd definitely recommend to anyone with a spare morning in Puerto Natales.


I was astounded to receive this level of customer service & attention to detail for a 10.000CLP hostel.

Could not recommend it any higher.

Room Tip: Dorms are great value and a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved Tin House! It has been our favourite place to stay in South America thus far. We had two nights before doing the W Trek and one after - We just wish we could have stayed for longer! It is a really relaxing, quiet hostal with great full communal kitchen facilities for cooking (gas stove!). We found ourselves hanging out in the kitchen a lot, chatting to fellow travellers, owner Laura and her staff. The hostal only sleeps 8, so it has a very homely feel. Laura is American, and together with her Chilean husband, owns the hostal. They also run a travel business, and I definitely recommend organising bus tickets through them, as well as talking to them about options for visiting the national park. The breakfast was the best we have had in SA. The muesli was delicious, as was the bread. They also provide eggs, yoghurt tubs, fruit, dulce de leche, jams, percolated coffee, a selection of teas and juice. There is also a very good wifi connection, as well as a computer for all to use. They will also do laundry for you for a very reasonable fee. Two bathrooms for 8 people, so there was never an issue with one being available. The beds were also very comfortable. You can leave your bags with them while on the W. The hostal felt secure and safe. We would return in a heartbeat! Puerto Natales is also a great little town, really easy to get around, very safe and well worth a few days to just relax and explore. I really wish we had had another two nights here - much nicer than Punta Arenas and El Calafate to hang out in.

Room Tip: The double room off the kitchen is a little bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tin House Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin House Patagonia

Address: Miraflores 616, Puerto Natales, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tin House is a small accommodation located in the center of Puerto Natales. We have only 6 beds! Tin house provides a comfortable atmosphere for travelers that need to relax. The house has a kitchen, backyard and living room for use by its clients.Our small property is the perfect place to begin your adventure in Patagonia. Tin house was built in the 1950s, renovated in 2009, and now shares a cozy vibe with all its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Tin House Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tin House Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin House Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.