We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Magnificence at the End of the Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Singular Patagonia

Save Saved
You added The Singular Patagonia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Singular Patagonia
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilometro cinco y medio norte | Puerto Bories, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Puerto Natales
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Historic Magnificence at the End of the Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Visiting The Singular was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. My husband and I visited in February 2013 and everything about this all-inclusive resort is amazing. We chose our trip around this hotel after I found it listed here, on Trip Advisor, and written up in several magazines. The pictures do not lie.....it looks exactly as management represents it. The Singular was actually nice enough to rearrange our dates, as we were forced to rearrange our entire trip due to a missed connection in Buenos Aires during Carnival (this was not pleasant). Anyway, we arrived in El Calafate and paid for the transfer to Puerto Bories through the hotel. This is steep at $500 per person; however, this is a 3 1/2 hour journey across the border (from Argentina to Chile). Given the time spent, fuel cost, border-crossing assistance, etc....I feel it was well worth it. Our guides pointed out local animals and fauna along the way and offered to stop for pictures if we were so inclined. We arrived at the Singular that afternoon, and immediately caught the tail end of lunch service. THE FOOD HERE IS AMAZING AND YOU CAN EAT AS MUCH AS YOU WANT. Again, it is all-inclusive; however, I have been to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean where you may not want to eat that much due to the food quality. That is not the case here, folks (look at my food pics- again it is all amazing).
The 2nd best part is that you can eat to your heart's desire, and you won't gain a ton of weight because you will be participating in the excursions offered by the all-inclusive package (which may or may not be physically strenuous). They only offer certain trips at certain times, so the amount of full days spent there will dictate what is on offer. We took the hotel tour upon our arrival, which is highly recommended, as you will learn all about the historic converted plant and how it supported the local village and areas surrounding. We also did two separate excursions in the Torres del Paine National Park, one that was labeled "easy" (and I agree), and one that was the difficult trek to the base of the glacier. The easy trek, labeled "Discovering Torres del Paine National Park" on The Singular's website, offered two small treks to uniquely contrasting parts of the park. On the first trek, we saw the most amazing light blue colored icebergs and walked a strip of land no more then twelve feet wide where literally the sea is on one side of you and a lake on another.....and the bodies of water never meet- very cool (see pic). The 2nd trek was to the waterfalls, where it was so incredibly windy, you could literally be blown over the side of the cliff (pics included). The second, difficult excursion (labeled "Trekking to the Base of Torres del Paine") was no joke. We hiked over 3,000 feet in altitude, over 12.4 miles (to the base and back) in under 6 hours. The guide we had, a local, said that he had never done the trek, or known anyone, to do it that quickly. It was crazy (did you know you could bruise the bottoms of your feet? I discovered that fun fact on this journey). We went from wearing tank tops and shorts at the bottom, to parkas and rain gear at the top. Anyway, I recommend it, as the adventure seeking, I presume, would account for most of the visitors to the Patagonian region- this is what you came to see.
The rooms at the Singular are extraordinary and the views are absolutely breathtaking.....just like the pictures. And because of the way the hotel is laid out, all rooms appear to have the same view.
We also tried the spa while we were there. We booked a couples massage and bubble bath, which was very nice. Not the best I've ever had, but certainly on par with what you paid for.
Lastly, a note on the accommodation price- the full all-inclusive package is worth the expense in comparison to the half, if you plan on participating in excursions. I actually requested a list of excursions and their prices and did a cost analysis. For our party of two, factoring in what we participated in, the cost of transfers, and all-inclusive food and wine, it turned out better to pay for the full booking.

Room Tip: All of them appear to be the same, so all should be equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Owner at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for your magnificent review. We work hard to deliver what we promise, so it nice to hear that your experience was a singular one. We look forward to have you as a guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
119
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanne, Limburg, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Vissiting The Singular can be something you will never forget. The location, the landscapes, charm and misticity of the distant latitude together with nice people, makes a perfect memory. If you are interested in architectural novelty, simplicity, history, nature and exquisite food, please go to Puerto Natales, and visit this place. Simply unforgettable!.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We could not have said it better ourselves. Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review!
The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for only 3 nights but enjoyed every moment. From the pick up and drive from the airport to the private tour of Torres del Paine for myself and partner. We found the staff extremely helpful, friendly and more then willing to have chat about ideas, activities and share local stories. The restaurant menu was phenomenal and every plate a masterpiece. In the full inclusive package we were spoilt with culinary delights coupled with local and International wines and desserts.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Sounds like a professional review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed The Singular for all we intend it to be.

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although my stay here was unfortunately short, this certainly was a hotel experience that I will never forget. I doubt if there is an traveler in the world that would find this hotel to be anything short of memorable, for many reasons. The old factory is still preserved in a way that defines its history and yet endears it to visitors of the hotel in the most interesting contrast of new and old world. The services are impeccable, the rooms magnificent and the food was the best I had in an entire month-long stay in Chile. I travel most of the year every year and this property would truly be on my top-3 list anywhere for uniqueness.

Still though, I found just a few small reasons to complain a little, and probably the biggest on of these is simply the prevailing darkness about the place. In fact, the hallway was so poorly lit through the old factory to the dining room I at first turned around and went back to ask directions, thinking I must have gotten turned around. There's definitely a few corridors inside that are dim and even a bit spooky, but I've noticed this as a trend in Chilean accommodations and won't harp on it any further. Secondly, I wish they would at least pave the driveway here, even though I don't believe this part of Chile has a single paved driveway.....you'd think it would cut down on the mud in this wet region.

Trust me, I had to really think about reasons to complain though.

Overall guests here are going to get exactly what they pay for and never forget it. It's one of those rare hotels that might leave as much an impression as anything else you do on your trip.

Room Tip: Visit at the end of the season. I recommend March and April especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your passionatte and positive feedback. We wish you could have stayed longer but of course now there is a good reason to come back! We will be sure to check on the lighting in the corridor leading to the restaurant. Thank you again and safe travels!

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Singular Patagonia was the best place we have stayed in a long time. So unique, warm and welcoming from the first minute we stepped onto the property until we sadly left to return to the US. Although expensive, it is definitely worth the money! The restaurant/bar was outstanding - the food was so delicious and the drinks just kept on coming! The day trips offered were terrific and so informative. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: Seemed that all of the rooms faced the water - our only complaint was that the windows don't ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the terrific feedback. We are thrilled to hear you indeed enjoyed a "Singular" experience!

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A day's journey south from Santiago via plane and transit van, this one of a kind hotel and location is worth the effort. A ten year renovation programme saw a 19th century brick meat processing factory turned into a design triumph of low level lighting, distressed wood screens and decorative decking, subtle rooms with full wall views over water, hills and the weather rolling up from even more southern Patagonia. service is discrete but friendly. The combined bar/restaurant is comfortable in an old wood, gentleman's club kind of way and the food on offer is a sophisticated take on local, seasonal ingredients. Optional excursions into the neighbouring stunning scenery are easy to arrange. This is a special occasion hotel but the journey of discovery is just the start to the joy if being here. A true delight. Only one drawback - you are isolated 5km out of town...

Room Tip: All rooms have the same outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Wow - this review sounds like it is straight out of Conde Nast Traveler. Thank you for your thoughtful and thorough analysis of The Singular experience.

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, they did an amazing job renovating it. It wasn't very busy when we were there, which may have contributed to some of the service issues we encountered. The excursions were not as good as those you can get at hotels in the park like Tierra Patagonia, due in large part to the fact they are further from the park. That said, the guides we had were excellent and we definitely enjoyed the excursions we took.

Our main issue with the hotel was the service surrounding excursions as well as the selection. The excursions were were most excited about were those to the glacier from the hotel's boats. Yet we were told they weren't running those excursions due to the weather. After doing a days worth of excursions, we were told by the front desk the following day they were running only the same excursions we just did, and that they were too busy the following day to do anyhthing else as they had a lot of new guests checking in. Naturally this upset us since it wasn't really relevant to us and we'd paid full fare to be here. After we pushed back on this they ultimately arranged another trip for us which we loved, but they should have been much more accommodating up front. It also made us very suspicious that the reason they weren't running the boats to the glaciers had much more to do with the number of guests in the hotel than the weather.

The food here was very good, though the menu never changes. Luckily we were there only a few day so that wasn't an issue. They have a lot of very interesting game choices on the menu which were fantastic. The bar and wait staff were very friendly and excellent. The wine and bar selection were top notch.

Our main service issues had to do with the booking of the excursions (and the significant lack of choices in excursions), but not at all with the wait staff or guides, all of whom were excellent.

Perhaps the main issue with The Singular is there are simply much better hotels to launch out of to do excursions, noticeable Tierra Patagonia. If you are landing in Puenta Arenas and driving to the other hotels in the park, then The Singular is definitely worth a stop for a day or two on the way to or from the other hotels to break up the 4 hour drive. However, I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here due to the location if your goal is to access the Torres del Paine area.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell all the rooms appeared the same, and were quite spacious and clean with grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSingularHotels, Gerente at The Singular Patagonia, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review. Unfortunately, weather plays a huge role in Patagonia. As you likely experienced it can change at the drop of a hat and the winds can and do get very fierce at times. Although disappointing that we cannot always run our Fjord / Glacier navigation, the safety of our guests is of course paramount and when the winds and weather are challenging we don't take any chances. Apologies, If that was not communicated well by the team. At The Singular there are nearly 20 different excursions on offer, several of which are indeed in and around Torres del Paine while some others are on private reserves only accessible by Singular guests. We will be sure to review the process with our management team to ensure if there are any future problems guests are informed correctly.

The Singular Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Singular Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Singular Patagonia

Address: Kilometro cinco y medio norte | Puerto Bories, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Singular Patagonia 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 100 acres lining the Fjord of Last Hope in Puerto Bories, in the surroundings of Puerto Natales, The Singular Patagonia affords guests the opportunity to experience all Chilean Patagonia has to offer - the true Patagonia. From expeditions to nearby glaciers and horseback riding on private ranches to walking tours of historic Puerto Natales and adventurous treks through famed Torres del Paine, The Singular provides guests the full spectrum of extraordinary and beautiful terrain that is Patagonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Singular Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Singular Patagonia Hotel Puerto Natales
The Singular Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Singular Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.