We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Afrigonia

Afrigonia
Eberhard #323, Puerto Natales, Chile
+56-61-412877
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: African, Chilean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ambiance of the restaurant and presentation of the food were good. The food tasted good, but did not reflect the price, especially for those portions, which echoes some other the other reviews. Decent wine selection. Don't bother ordering a pisco sour here -- someone in our party ordered one, which could not have been more than the size of a double shotglass. I would have given this place a pass, but what was just surprising is how long it took to place a drink order compared to other people who were seated after us and just the overall feeling of neglect from our main server (the ladies were nice, the man was almost condescending). Make sure that if you plan to pay in USD, you check the final invoice and bring bills without tears OR creases. Would not eat here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    60
    18
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It’s a cozy, comfortable and modern restaurant. The food is very tasty and beautifully presented. Our waiter was excellent and very helpful choosing the right wine. Overall it was a lovely experience and though not really cheap, the price was sure worth it!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious meals, good service, a bit expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Ate the lamb with mint sauce dish - delicious!
The waiter spoke english.
The dishes are expensive for a backpacker traveler like myself. Also, the dish was not as big as i expected.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Afrigonia is an Afro-Patagonian restaurant located in the heart of Puerto Natales. The name is a merge of the origins of the couple running the restaurant, and so are the dishes. Portions are extremely generous, but I would recommend the salmon ceviche, the best ever eaten. I've got then salmon again as a main course, still great and tasty.
The atmosphere is great too, and attention appears to have been paid to each detail of the interior decor. Service is fine, somehow pricey for Chile but it is among the best restaurants of Puerto Natales. Reservation is recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This restuarant was recommended to us by our son in law. It was the best food we have had in a long time and totally unexpcected in such an out of the way place. We went there 2 nights in a row and we never do that. We had the salmon one night and the sauce was out of this world. Second night we had the fillete that came skewered with a to die for mushroom sauce. The vegetables were prepared wonderfully and the home made ice cream was just a nice small portion to finish off the night. Make a reservation as it fills up fast. Waiters talked very good english. We don't drink wine but based on their selection and the number that were driniking and being told is was very high quality I am sure you won't be disappointed there either.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afrigonia also viewed

Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
Puerto Natales, Magallanes Region
 

Been to Afrigonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afrigonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.