We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, adequate for base in Puerto Natales” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel IF Patagonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel IF Patagonia to your Saves list
Hotel IF Patagonia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magallanes #73, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Natales
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Clean, adequate for base in Puerto Natales”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in the If hotel for one night, the hotel building is new but doesn’t have any lifts.
Our room was clean, very plainly decorated. Bathroom with shower was clean and sufficient also.
There was wifi in the room.
We had breakfast included in our stay which was rather good. Eggs made to order, freshly made orange juice (unlike a lot of other places we stayed out which provided carton juice). Breads, ham, cheese, cereals, yoghurt.
Hotel is adequate, clean and with breakfast included I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    10
    7
    0
See reviews for
5
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at Hotel IF. Hotel IF is a small, modern, well located hotel that you immediately feel at home upon entering. We were warmly greeted by the owner, Isabel. Check-in was super easy and it was a huge plus that Isabel, Nicolas, and Carmen spoke English. The first night we were there the hotel was completely full. On the second day, Isabel gave us an extra room so we could have more space. The breakfast was very good with a fresh fruit smoothie, biscuits, and coffee & tea. Carmen that served us breakfast was great. We saw Carmen in town while she was off and she graciously showed us a few places to buy wool. Thank you to the whole staff at Hotel IF for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

The hotel appears relatively new and has some excellent design touches. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The biggest drawback of the hotel is the room layout and size, given the price. While the rooms have a comfortable bed, there is almost no room for luggage and a very minimal closet that you can barely hang any clothes. All of this can be overlooked, but the bathrooms are incredibly tight. The shower is extremely small, with almost no room to manouver. Also the room appeared to lack any means to regulate the temperature.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This hotel looks stylish on photos from the outside and when stepping into the lobby. However this first impression changes quickly going a step further.
We can hardly support the previous reviews on this hotel. Yes, the hosts are charming, offering a welcome drink and snack, providing a bunch of laptops, serving a non standard and nice breakfast (rare in Patagonia), help with booking tours. However, one cannot miss that they are new in the hospitality business.

The room layout is a complete failure and unacceptable for that price. The room is so tiny, that you cannot open a suitcase on the floor, the wardrobe consists of a few open shelves only. Design and appliances are minimalist and cheap and despite their newness already falling apart, e.g. door that doesn’t close, shower and windows. There is no room in the bathroom to place your toiletries. If you are unlucky, your staff will fall into wholes of unfinished parts, e.g. behind the sink.

In summary, the hosts seem to be aware of the smallness of the rooms. They did offer us a spare room for our luggage which was well appreciated, but still inconvenient. This place is way overpriced!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We really loved our stay at Hotel IF. Everything is so new and clean and comfortable, and the staff is extremely warm, friendly, and professional and helped us find tours and a spa. Terrific breakfast with delicious juices and bread. Our large bathroom had a huge tub, and the room, though not particularly large, made perfect use of it's space. The nicest touch was the lambskin rugs next to the beds, such a great way to start/end the day in a city that can be chilly!

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

It is a modern hotel with comfortable and clean rooms. Towels and sheets are very white. The accommodation includes a good full breakfast (3 options of meal styles) with homemade bread, brownies or cakes, yogurt, jam, and fruit juice. Service and support staff that works there is good, especially Isabel Nuñez (hotel owner) who was always attentive. We were welcomed with great fondness,guided and helped recruit various tour packages. Always with a smile and a great willingness to everything we needed. The hotel is well located and it is a few blocks from downtown, close to restaurants Ultima Esperanza of Mario Marin and Afrigonia, both first rate, with exquisite regional cuisine and good prices.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Hotel IF is just lovely. The decor is really nice and the open plan proves a great refuge from the wind and cold. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is very good. The crab cakes and pisco sour welcome was a nice touch. The staff is very nice and welcoming. The price ($170) feels a bit high considering that it is a gateway to Torres and there is not a lot to do in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel IF Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IF Patagonia

Address: Magallanes #73, Puerto Natales 6160000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel IF Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are IF Patagonia Hotel a small hotel of 15 rooms with private bathroom. We have an excellent view from the balcony on the 4th floor at 360° where you can see the city and see the majestic glaciers and the immensity of the Patagonian mountain range.A hotel built in metal structure with a large wall Termopaneles located on the north wall, making it the firstCity bioclimatic building, thus creating a climateDespite the comfortable interior to exterior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel IF Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel IF Patagonia Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel IF Patagonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.