We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Senoret # 267, Puerto Natales 267, Chile   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Natales
Friday Harbor, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found this B&B to be an extremely well run operation with wonderful breakfasts, comfortable rooms, and friendly owners. They were extremely helpful in putting together excursions for our group of 8 as well as surprised us our first day there with "munchies" around happy hour time. We would stay there again.
Kerwin Johnson, Friday Harbor WA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    35
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
78
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very mixed feelings about Keoken. It is pretty close to the boat dock and the centre of town. The owners are really helpful and friendly, organised a day tour of Torres del Paine for us and bought our tickets for the bus to Punta Arenas. Breakfast is good.
But our room was a little odd with single beds end-to-end pretty much, OK for a couple of nights but wouldn't have wanted to stay in it any longer. Great shower though. (This room doesn't appear on their website)
And it was expensive, US$135 for a twin room, And a fairly hefty premium on the bus ticket. So I can't recommend it for good value.
By the way - while in Puerto Natales eat at Afrigonia, it is splendid!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
878 reviews 878 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
691 helpful votes 691 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Overall we were very disappointed – definitely not worth the US$135 per night that we paid. We chose & reserved a twin room through the official Keoken web site which clearly shows a picture of what the room would be like. On arrival however we were shown to a twin room at the back of the building, two beds lined up end to end along the wall and nothing like that that we had selected. We were told that the twin room as shown on their website no longer exists and that the photos on the page are out of date. They said that this was “too difficult to change” and that “this is their home and not a hotel” Fortunately we were able to take a double room with window – but that too didn't look like the one advertised on their website. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was super comfortable. Hot, strong shower, albeit the bathroom was a bit small. Only a 3 shelf open cabinet and a coat stand to put our clothes. Towels are only changed on request. Not good sleep quality due to the fact that all the floorboards squeak. One guest got up and we heard every move they made including all the water passing through the house as people used the showers & toilet. Wi-fi throughout was excellent. Breakfast was fine. The owners Rodrigo and Gloria were very helpful with organising us a TDP tour, taxi and bus tickets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeokenPatagoniaBnB, Owner at Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guests, we are sorry to read about your discomfort. But also, try to understand the context of where you stayed. You stayed in a historical house owned and operated by locals. Not a concrete building owned by a hotel chain.
Nevertheless, we are always putting great attention to detail, reason why we have quality beds in our rooms, feature delicate decoration, provide rich breakfasts, and deliver responsible travel services. If you make a comparison, we indeed offer great quality for our price range and for our type of establishment.
Also, in our effort for delivering a greater degree of comfort to our guests, we have recently increased the size of the rooms and replaced part of the floors to reduce unwanted noises.
I would like to take this opportunity also to encourage you to be more respectful with people around you, since during your stay, other guests complained about your behavior.
Best regards, Rodrigo & Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

There is no shortage of places to eat and sleep in Puerto Natales. It seems every street has either a restaurant or lodging on offer. We chose to stay at Keoken B&B which is conveniently situated just over 2 blocks away from the central square, and 1 block up the hill from the waterfront. It's a small B&B with only 5 bedrooms, all on the first floor. Our room was a good size, modern, light, half panelled in wood, with a large comfortable bed and an en-suite bathroom with shower. There are 2 guest lounges, one next to ground floor reception, with a good range of books and DVD's of local interest. The other on the first floor, with views down the street to the waterfront. This was a good place to watch the sunset across the bay behind the distant mountains. A pair of binoculars had been thoughtfully provided.
Breakfasts are simple but adequate. There is a range of fruit juices, cereal, and yoghurt, small cakes, ham and cheese, bread and toast, as well as fruit, tea and coffee. Rodrigo, the owner, will offer to make eggs as well.
Rodrigo will arrange your bookings with tour companies and give useful advice on the various tours on offer. He will also book your bus tickets but charges a hefty commission, and as our bus station for onwards travel, Bus Fernandez, was just around the corner, it was easier to do it ourselves. He will also happily recommend restaurants and make the reservations if necessary.
We found a very good restaurant literally around the corner from Keoken, called Aldea. The menu is written up in Spanish on a blackboard, but the waitress will happily talk you through it. The choice is not extensive but all the food is home cooked and there was enough variety for us to eat here on two nights. We particularly enjoyed the slow cooked beef, plateau al horno, and the hake. It is also reasonably priced.
We ate lunch one day at El Living on the main square. This is English run and a popular place to hang out over coffee whilst reading from their good selection of magazines, or catching up on wi-fi. I recommend the spicy sweet potato soup. Next door is another restaurant where I ate an exceptionally good BBQ lamb, cooked in traditional butterfly style on a open wood fire in the corner of the restaurant. It far surpassed the BBQ lamb we ate at an Estancia on our full day boat trip to Balmaceda Glacier. You can read more about our travels on my travel blog at www.from-the-coast-to-the-clouds.blogspot.com

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I would echo the comments of a number of other reviewers - the owners were extremely helpful, they helped us with bus tickets from Punta Arenas airport, bus tickets to TDP, planning and logistics for TDP, calling taxis, points of interest in town etc. All this was very valuable for someone with limited Spanish skills such as myself. Owners spoke good English and helped us with our Spanish. The simple but tasty breakfast was prepared at a time that suited us. Our room was clean and spacious but fairly basic (eg.no TV). Overall I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Rodrigo is the reason to stay here. He's wonderful (as many other reviewers have pointed out) and will help with anything you need. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable, but several are fairly small. A few have nice views of the lake and mountains. Breakfast is simple but ample - toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, ham, cheese, cake. Eggs if you'd like them. Gloria makes her own delicious jams.
Rodrigo and Gloria do speak English but prefer Spanish (I can't blame them, I wish I spoke much better Spanish - my fault).
The location is fantastic - close to the main plaza. The town is small and easily walkable. Everything is close by (there's a great laundry place nearby that will deliver your freshly cleaned clothes back to Keoken, though it's not cheap). Definitely make a reservation at Afrigonia for dinner - it's one of the best restaurants of our 3 weeks in Patagonia. E Living is a wonderful place for lunch.
A few downsides:
- Some rooms are small and you may hear your neighbors coming/going or talking/walking above or next to you. We brought earplugs and it wasn't a problem.
- Rodrigo will gladly arrange buses and other things for you but will charge $3,000 CLP (about $6 USD) per ticket. This was fine for longer trips but for the short one from Punta Arenas (which was only $5,000 CLP to begin with), it seemed excessive (a >50% increase in the price). That said, it may be completely worth it - I just wish he'd told us that up front.
- The showers were on the small side and the water pressure and temperature varied quite a bit.

Overall, it was a solid choice and we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Location is great; we walked from the Navimag dock to the house in about 10 minutes. They are located away from the main street and town square on a quiet street. Rodrigo and Gloria are friendly, helpful and have created a homey environment for their guests. They work hard and it pays off. Breakfast was abundant (they have peanut butter!) and Rodrigo asked us what time we wanted breakfast every day. Rodrigo recommended how to navigate Torres del Paine in 1 day and also helped me with a car rental. We spoke in English and in Spanish; his kids speak advanced English as well. This is THE place to stay in Puerto Natales!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeokenPatagoniaBnB, Propietario at Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Guest, was very pleased to receive them at home after his wonderful boat trip, we were pleased with the warmth of his family and we are glad that disfrutran and relax in Puerto Natales.
Best wishes to you and your parents.
Rodrigo y Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast

Address: Senoret # 267, Puerto Natales 267, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Natales
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keoken occupies a cozy house, located 200 meters from the main square of Puerto Natales and 200 meters from the seafront. Keoken offers warm and cozy rooms with central heating, box spring 5-star beds, linens and goose down duvets excellent quality, closet and clothes hanger, sidewalks, bars, or individual lamps, and leather armchairs in the room, have private bathroom with shower door, top quality towels, shampoo, conditioner, soap, hairdryer and iron.Breakfast is served in the main dining room, with self service type buffette service, including juices, water, milk, chocolate, herbal tea, cereals, coffee machine, fruit, eggs, butter, jam and pastry.Keoken storage yard has motorcycles or bicycles, garden and a living room with views of the mountains, you can see Glacier Balmaceda and Serrano.It is located 147 kms National Park Torres del Paine, from Keoken can organize all National Park tour and timely book bus tickets to Puerto Natales to Torres del Paine National Park in Punta Arenas and Calafate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keoken Patagonia Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.