We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and functional, but don't expect any smiles.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bories House

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bories House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bories House
Puerto Bories N.13, Puerto Natales 0000, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 hotels in Puerto Natales
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful and functional, but don't expect any smiles.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Giving a hotel a poor review bears a great deal of responsibility and is never very satisfying.

This is a charming Boutique Hotel with very comfortable rooms and great beds.
We stayed here for 4 nights as a family and while the " hardware" is up to standard there is no "charm" or soul to the place.

Unfortunately the owner does not understand the word "hospitality", and clearly made a mistake in terms of career choice. We had the clear impression of being a burden and were made to feel totally unwelcome, something that never happens to us and is disappointing when you are on holiday. Unfortunately I had not read all the reviews for Bories House and I only noticed that I am not the first to have this impression after our stay.

Might be great for a 1 night functional stopover but not for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Choose room with view onto the fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A beautiful and charming B&B with comfortable rooms, stunning landscapes and amazing beds that are very much appreciated by your sore legs after a long hike! The owner is tough rigid and quite unpleasant. Every thing seems to be a problem and no flexibility is provided for the guests. It all has to go according to what he planned and how he sees it. He peeks at what you have for breakfast (as if he was checking you don't take too much) and makes a big deal out anything. He slightly spoiled our stay that could have been marvelous thanks to the brilliant accomodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Bories House is a very small B&B –– a single three bedroom villa plus a few rooms in the mainhouse. It is in Puerto Bories about 5 km from Puerto Natales on the beach with a splendid view of mountains. Run by a friendly Chilean / British couple. Spacious and comfortable. Quiet and a little isolated. A lack of services –– yes you can have breakfast or a drink or even dinner. But everything needs to be ordered well in advance. On the whole we found relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here a few nights with our friends, we rent the cottage on the property with the 3 bedrooms. The location was breath taking, it's a nice quiet place off the beaten path. They have a small glass room outside with a wood stove that we read books in and watched a movie one day to relax while taking in the scenery. They have a cook to order breakfast each morning which is worth.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aust, Qld
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at Bories for 3 nights and found Gustavo very helpful and friendly. I paid with credit card - no problem. Rooms spacious, but in summer they still had the heating on which made it stifling so we opened the window which then squeaked annoyingly. The other annoying squeak were the floorboards as other guests walked up and down the corridor - easily fixed I would have thought for this otherwise lovely B&B. The room and bathroom were wonderful.
The taxi ride in and out of town was ok but it would have been good if there were a transfer service at least once a day in and back. We took the Agunsa boat ride to the glaciers. An excellent day out. And hired a car (with difficulty - but found Rio hire car - a small new operator) to tour through Torres del Paine, which was fabulous.

Room Tip: I would ask for the last room at the end - away from the squeaking floorboards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

Loved the website! Of course, one should always take the angle of the shot into consideration....much smaller then one is lead to believe and right next to a ferry port (convenient if you want to take the day excursion into the O'Higgans National Park Glacier tour).

Overall, a nice place to run away--a want to be, home away from home. The house is shared (3 rooms total and two bathrooms).
Main problem we had was with the owner husband: when we did not want the horse excursions, he became a bit of a passive aggressive and horse's rear end. One day, as we parked our rental car he actually asked us to back-up "2 inches"...we never could figure out why...no one in front of us and no one behind us and we were not blocking the path way to the house...

Kitchen was described as working...only if you did not really did not want to cook! The only cooking utensils and pots were those that backpackers (to the National Park Torres del Paine) left behind--in other words TINY ones. There is a stove and refrigerator for those who want to make sandwiches and or picnic lunches for your day trips to the park.

We stayed a week, and the breakfast never varied! We bought our own eggs and oatmeal to mix up the standard: roll, ham and cheese breakfast. Since we were the only ones there for half of our stay, I would have thought a little more effort could have been made to be a bit more welcoming.

NOTE: misleading representation re: credit cards acceptance. When asked for my credit card number to hold my space, I called to give the number over the phone and not on email---I asked if I could use a different credit card when we arrived to pay. Yes, no problem -- until it came time to pay. Husband insisted on CASH only...not a problem, but a total hassle.

When we talked the night before I reminded him we were leaving right after breakfast to go to Puerto Arenas to catch our flight. No worries, he would come in now to collect...when I handed him my credit card, he had a meltdown~we do not take credit cards~NEVER. After watching his tirade we calmly noted we would need to go into town to get the cash....no worries, we have money in the bank. BUT, I told him we had just come from a long day of hiking and would go in to town in the morning to get the cash. Another melt-down, he wanted to be paid now. Geez, louise....felt like I was dealing with a total stranger...not someone we had just stayed with for a week.

House was comfortable and the hosts fairly non-existent....of course until payment time! Had no hot water the first day and got the "maid" delivering breakfast to understand that we wanted to have her check the hot water heater (which my hubby had to turn on). The skylight moved (and squeeked) intolerably during the high winds (everyday in Patagonia!) and when there was a huge rainstorm water came in the bathroom.

Normally, I go with the flow (note I do not give them a 0 or 1 rating) BUT, when concerns were shared about the rain (and we mentioned the skylight to) the male owner response was one of complete boredom--"what should I do?" which totally amazed me as a home owner--duh, fix it? I spent the night emptying a pot and drying the wood floors. Certainly got the impression that I cared more then they did.

Would I stay again...maybe. IF they expanded the kitchen to one you could cook dinner in and IF the owners felt more energetic about what they have chosen to do for a living! A bit more clarity and concern would have made our stay more pleasant.

  • Liked — Sunset and their dog~
  • Disliked — lackluster care of the place and the renters
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

cosy little bed and breakfast, very homely, best bed we slept in in all of south america, the owners are wonderful, feels very homely, a bit out of town though but no problem to get a taxi

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bories House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bories House

Address: Puerto Bories N.13, Puerto Natales 0000, Chile
Location: Chile > Magallanes Region > Puerto Natales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Natales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run country house hotel set in 18 acres of parkland situated on the banks of the Last Hope Sound. The hotel offers 9 spacious bedrooms in total divided between 2 houses. All the rooms have deep mattresses, the finest quality linen and have been individually designed with antique furnishings staying true to the character of the house. All rooms have wonderful views of the surrounding mountains, the Ultima Esperanza Sound & glaciers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Bories House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bories House Puerto Natales, Aisen Region, Chile

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bories House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.