We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just needs a bit of work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Colonial

Hostal Colonial
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Colonial to your Saves list
Hostal Colonial
General Lagos N0 710, Arica, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Arica
Northville, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just needs a bit of work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The room was a bit small, but comfortable with a tv and nice bed. The day we arrived there was no hot water, and the following morning there was no water at all for about an hour. For the price we paid I expect more from a hotel. However, they have an excellent kitchen and the owner was very friendly. Overall, it wasn't a bad place to stay, but I would look elsewhere on a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
1
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hostal is ok, nothing fancy but nothing else on its price range. I disliked the fact that the owners, specially a young lady, smoke right in front of the guests at the hostal living room. They think that's ok. It's just terrible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samaipata, Bolivia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

great find when i arrived in town without a prebooked room for the night ... this cozy inn is right around the corner from the popular Surf House, however for my stay was perfect with its smaller size and less expensive price for similar ammenities. i am very please with the cozy homey feel and the very friendly service, will definatly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Pros and Cons: The only con is that the hot water was only lukewarm. Breakfast included coffee, tea, bread, butter and a delicious assortment of jams. Internet was available to guests. Good maid service. The rooms and bath were cleaned daily. The atmosphere was relaxing. Having a refrigerator and kitchen privileges was definitely a plus. With fresh seafood a few blocks away, my wife cooked in the evenings. The family that owns the hostal were gracious and very helpful with info on where to go and what to see in and around Arica. If we return to Arica, we will stay at this hostal again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Colonial

Address: General Lagos N0 710, Arica, Chile
Location: Chile > Arica and Parinacota Region > Arica
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Arica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you different accommodation possibilities in singles, doubles, triples and multiple family rooms, all with private bathroom, clean sheets, towels, cable tv and hot showers any time, breakfast is included. Here you can occupy the kitchen and prepare your food, wash your clothes in the washing machine and it is possible to be connected to Internet, everything included in the lodging cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.