We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steaming Geysers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Tatio

El Tatio
Antofagasta, Chile
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This incredible desert spectacle can only be viewed in the early morning, but the sight of the world’s highest geysers shooting up from the ground is well worth an early wake up call.
Planet Earth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Steaming Geysers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had to get up really early for this one, and the trip up there was a bit bumpy, but we got some spectacular views once the sun began to peak over the mountains.

Its quite impressive to see all the steam just raising out of the ground everywhere.

As usual for this area, there is some spectacular scenery and views to be seen, mountains, volcanoes, rives and wildlife.

Definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Despite the very early start, freezing temperatures & long drive, it was well worth the effort to see these amazing geysers. Watching the sun come up over the surrounding hills was simply beautiful as was the wild life. A dip in the nearby hit springs was great, despite the hot bits. Take care with regard to altitude sickness as despite taking prescription medicine to limit effects, I felt very ill following my visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“not the easiest to visit but well worth it while at Atacama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is one of those "unique places on Earthy" tours one can take while at Atacama. This area is apparently the largest geyser field in the southern hemisphere and the third largest field in the world. But despite rumors, this is not the highest geyer field in the world.

But this tour is by no means easy. The trip usually starts at 4-430am, then takes a 2 hour drive to the Tatio. Then the breakfast was set up to be enjoyed at ~15000ft in elevation, at 6 am, in below freezing termperate at -7C/19F. Then the sun finally comes up and the area then gets a little warmer. We walked around the geyser area for 2-3 hours and saw many geysers, some erupting, some pudding, and some just pouring out steaming water. There is also a hotspring for those who want to bathe in. We went to several other smaller attractions after the geysers too and didn't come back to Atacama until 2pm. Bring some snacks/water and extra warm clothing - you will need them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Early wake up, long drive, great pictures.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

You'll have to wake up at about 4 am in order to take a tour bus out to the geysers unless you have decent transportation. Negotiate with the tour companies for a good deal, at the end of the evening they are willing to give you a bargain in order to fill up the remaining seats for the next day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's sad to hear that some people have found this place disappointing. Judging from their reviews, it sounds as though they should've done more research before coming to San Pedro, like seriously... you're in the driest desert in the world, with high altitude and a high difference between the highest and lowest temperature everyday...if you come here, walk it off.

There are several tour agencies in the town, but ensure you don't go with the cheapest. Expect to pay around 20.000 per person. The tour I did with my friend took us to the geysers at around 4am (they did let us sleep and advised us to keep our eyes shut so as to reduce the impact of altitude sickness - going from San Pedro to the geysers involves going up a lot in a very short time so bear this in mind when going there). Also remember it's extremely cold!....We went in winter and it can be 25 degrees celsius in the afternoon but at 4am it was -17 (minus!)...so take warm clothes and ensure your feet are also protected! Lots of us complained that we were warm, but couldn't feel our feet from the cold.

After looking at the amazing geysers they gave us a nice breakfast that included chocolates, a sandwich and a hot drink. We then went to some hot springs... it was still pretty cold... but the tour guide dared us to get in hahaha....he said there's always someone who does it ...and someone did do it for a minute...brave guy.

We then went to a small village and after that we returned to San Pedro. It was a great experience!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tatio also viewed

Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to El Tatio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tatio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.