We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breath taking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salar de Atacama

Salar de Atacama
Antofagasta, Chile
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Antofagasta
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This vast salt lake is blanketed by a thick crust of salt and attracts some interesting varieties of birds including several different types of flamingos.
Toowoomba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“breath taking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The pink flamingoes were just beautiful. The bathroom facilities are very basic with no water to wash your hands so take your own supplies.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    38
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vitoria, ES
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscape and great sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I visited Salar de Atacama on July, as part of our visit to San Pedro de Atacama. We took a van with other guests of our hotel. First we watched a very informative video about the Salar, which is a very very big flamingo reserve. The reserve is really big and we got to visit just one part of it. After the video, we took a walk around the place and waited for the sunset. Stunning! The landscape gets colorful and the volcanos look beautiful. It´s worth the visit, specially if you go in the afternoon for the sunset.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urunga
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Like nothing you've seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

It is so calm out there you can hear your thoughts. The salt flats are amazing, swimming (or floating!) in the lakes, saltier than the dead sea, is a must!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington,Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting and amazing lagoon and terrain...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

When my husband chose to visit the Salar de Atacama, I had my concerns. Yet, after traveling close to 2 hours from San Pedro de Atacama, I was very impressed with the natural beauty, interesting landscape, and the flamingos in front of us. It was late in the afternoon and the sky was signaling a potential rain storm with gray skies. It was awesome! If you go, do take rubber-sole shoes and rain gear, just in case.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antof
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

It was beautiful, amazing, but it's so far away from civilization that I couldn't tell if the trip worth it or no.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salar de Atacama also viewed

Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to Salar de Atacama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salar de Atacama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.