We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks great on the outside but very poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antofagasta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antofagasta to your Saves list
Hotel Antofagasta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Balmaceda 2575, Antofagasta, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Antofagasta
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Looks great on the outside but very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had just crossed the Tropic of Capricorn on my motorcycle and decided to celebrate by staying in this hotel, which I thought would be the best in Antofagasta.
The men at reception thought they were professional and smart but they certainly were not. I was made to feel like a crook because of all the security questions I was asked.
The service in the restaurant was appalling. Two other people left without eating because they had been kept waiting so long. This bad service is not acceptable because there were very few diners in the restaurant. However the food when it arrived was good.
The bedroom was very good but overall the hotel needs a facelift. The cleaning staff in the bedroom area were very friendly.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff at breakfast were helpful and friendly, not like their colleagues the night before.
Checking out was as unpleasant as checking in had been.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
8
11
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed here to speak at a conference. I had an ocean view room. You get a free Pisco Sour coupon upon check in. All of the employees are very helpful and they have a nice patio overlooking the beach for lunch. The rooms need updating and there is free internet throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room! Noisy on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirão Preto, Brazil
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is situated right in front of the Pacific Ocean, with easy access to a small beach from the pool area. We stayed for only one night after a long trip in the desert, and our room had a view of the ocean and a small balcony. Note that some rooms face the town (and are cheaper!!). The whole place is being renovated and the room was sort of a hybrid. The bathroom was really modern and the bedroom had new windows, a flat screen TV and air conditioning, however the carpet was really old. During our stay they were renovating the rooms in the upper floors and the elevators, so there was a lot of noise in the hotel during working hours. The attendants at the reception are very helpful and when you arrive you get a voucher for a welcome drink, a well made pisco sour that you can enjoy on the varanda of the hotel bar while looking at the Pacific. If we travel to Antofagasta again we would stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean - pay in dollars for a 19% tax discount!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights. Friendly staff, but the rooms look old and not comfortable. From the street side it is very noisy, sometimes a train passing right along the street wakes you up in the middle of night. On the other hand - great view from seaside, a lot of birds. The hotel is located next to the fish market, where pelicans and fur-seals are waiting for some fish from the maret guys. As a whole, the place can be really great, but it should be renovated. With the current state, the hotel is terrible overrated

Room Tip: On the seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

For Chile this is an expensive hotel that really fails to live up to the price tag. Its location is perfect, over-looking the sea and within easy walking distance of the old town.

It is obvious that it has deteriorated considerably over the years and is in part being refurbished. This is good news as it is long overdue but the disruption and dust add to the shabbiness of the original rooms. Staff were variable, ranging from helpful to rude.

The swimming pool was unusable as it was home to a colony of sea birds that deposited their waste therein.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This hotel should be great - it has a wonderful location and a five star rating. The reality is that the whole hotel is tired and what is worse is the staff don't seem to care. We
looked at five rooms before we found one that was acceptably dirty but at least had an a/c that worked - it was a decent size, had a sea view but was just so grubby - the sort of room where you would never walk barefoot on the carpet, let alone sit on the bedspread. The pool was the same - looked great but when you got closer had large chunks of human hair floating around in it - who knows what else- spent all the time trying to keep my head above water. They have spent a bit of money on the public areas downstairs but it still doesn't cover 15 years of neglect.
My guess is that they have a good corporate contract with Codelco or someone similar and they really don't care about anything else.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

The location is perfect - directly at the coastline, opposite of the city center and next to a major shopping mall. The hotel's architecture has a really nice charm from the 60'ies (it certainly was the flagship hotel at that time) - it would have all the ingredients of a number 1 hotel even today.

Unfortunately the maintenance doesn't allow it - the rooms are a bit worn out, same applies to the elevators, etc. We could not speak English at the reception (only Spanish spoken) - one should expect this from a hotel of this category. So the service was not the best.

On the good side - get a Pisco Sour from the bar and sit on the terrace - location is just perfect. The restaurant with its old fashioned service (meant as a compliment) also contributed to the good side of our experiences. So overall a mixed experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antofagasta hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antofagasta
1.0 mi away
Ibis Antofagasta
Ibis Antofagasta
#7 of 23 in Antofagasta
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrado Suites Antofagasta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto
2.7 mi away
NH Antofagasta
NH Antofagasta
#3 of 23 in Antofagasta
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.9 mi away
HVM Hotel
HVM Hotel
#6 of 23 in Antofagasta
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antofagasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antofagasta

Address: Balmaceda 2575, Antofagasta, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > Antofagasta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Antofagasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antofagasta 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Antofagasta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antofagasta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.