We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Décor, Eclectic Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divinus

Divinus
Avda. Bernardo O'higgins 1456 | Parque Brasil, Antofagasta, Chile
385841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 73 Restaurants in Antofagasta
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Décor, Eclectic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Divinus is one of few restaurants open on Monday, that was one of the reasons we chose it. You can’t miss the place when you walk down the street, it’s the unique red building with the gold trimming. The décor inside is even more unique. The waiter did not speak English but we managed with the limited Spanish we know. The menu includes dishes from around the world with local interpretation and all the dishes we’ve tried were very good. For desert I tried the tiramisu with chestnut cream and it was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the Top Restaurants in Antofagasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you want to celebrate a special occasion or important guests meet, this is one of the best options.

My wife and I went to celebrate Valentine's Day for excellent food and service. They had a special menu for that day so we had no option to choose.

The service could be a little slow when it is full and certainly should change the paper napkins for fabric ones, otherwise excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Facing rather quiet sideroad by a little park, but still the facade part of the terrace is made as a set of glazed doors - looked like that to me, at least. At the same time roof there is made of thin mats - bamboo perhaps. The whole arrangements cuts off the street noise, but lets in fresh air. Pleasant interior.
English menu, not sure about English speaking waiter, since I have been there with a Spanish speaker.
Very good food, very good selection of vines and alcoholic beverages in general, GOOD COFFEE - which is not always the case in Antofagasta. No noisy music of any kind. Good service - and the bill was lighter than I expected.
Not sure about delivery and brunch, therefore lest that open

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of the best in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

There are few restaurants in Antofagasta that have well-prepared dishes and an international menu that's well put together. Dishes in this restaurant are flavoursome and serves are generous. The service is attentive and knowledgeable. The ambience is also quite nice, very nicely decorated and mood lighting makes this restaurant stand-out from others in the city.

Loved the Chicken Panang and the dessert degustation (lots of sweets!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Fancy interior, fancy food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The atmosphere of this place is very nice, parts of the inside feel as though you are dining outside (except in a cleaner/quainter version of this city) and the food is presented very nicely by attentive wait-staff. The food on it's own wasn't any great shakes however, but it was decent. I cannot comment on the prices however, as I have only eaten here when my teaching program covered the costs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Divinus also viewed

Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to Divinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divinus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.