We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis at the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto

Save Saved
You added Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Angamos 01455, Antofagasta, Chile   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Antofagasta
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis at the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I guess that it may be the biggest hotel at the region. I`ve stood there for three days and to be honest I`ve enjoyed a lot. All the rooms overlook the Pacific ocean, are confortable with cool decor. There are two nice restaurants, both very good and the casino gives a special charm to the hotel. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
27
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Been to this hotel since February 2010.
AT the begging everything was perfect, great rooms, great breakfast and a casino where you could actually win a little bit. The spa back then was outrageous, it had everything you needed.
During my last stay, about a month ago, I've noticed how the service has declined over the last year (yeah, I Stayed 3 times in 2012, and service was declining rapidly). For check in, long queues (at 1030PM), we goot to a room where the AC was not working perfectly, but could be managed fast. No more complementary water bottles in the room.
Breakfast the following morning was AWFUL, waiters simply did not mind you were here, they just stood there talking with eachother instead of setting up a table for some guests like me who were waiting.
No scrambled eggs on breakfast, and if they were, they were not properly cooked.
Try asking for some eggs, it is impossible to get them unless you ask at least 4 or 5 times a waiter for some, do not even think for bacon.
SImply, the only edible thing at breakfast were the pastries, well done and excellent quality, it is the only good thing about the "buffet breakfast".
The men SPA was not working perfectly it had 2 pools that were worn out, they were under "major repairs" (the truth is that they were broken and left without water), Sauna worked OK and steam room too, my complaint is please filter the people who get in here, I know Antofagasta is a mining town, but really, the SPA which is a relaxing place was everything but relaxing, I even have to say that I feared for my life, as there were some people that I noticed that were of "low class" (C1).
Rooms OK, beds are really comfy, pillows are NOT, please be sure to ask for good pillows, and or hard ones.
I've noticed that since the modifications to the new Tobacco Law here in Chile, the number of people going to the casinos has decreased.
Enjoy Antofagasta is a Casino that if you go, you are destined to lose every penny, they are not paying anything (yeah, the house always wins, but I'd be nice if the slots payed a little).
It's far away from everything in the city, so if you want to rest, this is a good place.
Avoid at all costs the: La Barquera REstaurant (Bad service, Pricy and terrible quality of the dishes), the bingo buffet (come here only if you want to get an infection by S. Typhii or E. Coli) and the A Fuego restaurant (Pricy for getting stone hard steaks).

The best restaurant in the city is here and is Miscanti Restaurant, a real gourmet experience (It may be really expensive, but the food is worth it), try to avoid the Gyozas (they tend to be raw).

Room Tip: Try asking for a suite, do not know if it makes a difference in service. Avoid at all costs rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited casino to play craps, walked away planning to not come back. I've gambled in Atlantic City, Tahoe and Vegas and noticed a few strange things here I've not seen before like a cover charge to get in, no free drinks while gambling, and some goofy rules at the craps tables (possibly other games, didn't play them). Biggest gripe was telling the dealers to place our bets off during a come out roll only to have them collect them when a 7 was rolled. We then asked why, no English. Asked for pit boss, no English. Asked for anyone who spoke English, 20 min wait. Once the supervisor arrived we explained what happened, she talked to the dealers and then checked the videos. 30 min. Said the casino absolutely made a mistake, we did indeed tell them to freeze our bets. But she was unable to do anything, it was "out of her hands." Boiled down to $40 down the drain (no big deal), but the fact that they admitted it was their mistake and wouldn't do anything about it (she did offer to buy us a drink) is just inexcusable in my opinion. Decide for yourself, just be careful if your Spanish is terrible like mine!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I had such a good fun last night with my friends at Enjoy night club, the prices are very good, the venue is just amazing with an excellent view of the Antofagasta city. My only problem was all this Pisco I had and now I'm hungover lol... And the music was top 40 sort of thing which I don't like but that's ok...it was nice to watch all Chilean people having a blast!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My colleagues and I stay here frequently on work trips to Antofagasta. The rooms are large, nice views over the water and I really like the bathrooms. Service at the front desk is hit and miss. I´ve been waiting to be checked in and there were staff standing around behind the reception desk chatting to each other - that´s annoying when you just want to get into your room late at night. I´ve had some really nice meals in the restaurants there and breakfast is pretty good too. Once again, service can be a bit scatty. There is a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the public areas of the hotel and despite smoking areas being separated in the restaurants, you can still smell it as the doors are constantly opened. But in the room there is not a trace so that is plus. For me, this is the only option in Antofagasta.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for non smoking if that is your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Probably the bet you're going to get in this desert town. With restaurants, casino and views to the sea and mountain range it's ok. B'fast was excellent while my dinner of rib eye was unfortunately an insult to the beast that gave up its life to sit on my plate. Service was otherwise good despite arriving during Chile's public holidays of independence. The heated roof top pool with spa and mountain views plus the lights of Antofagasta is enjoyable against the chill winds that blow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Santiago, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I have to stay here some times for work. One time, when i was checkimg out and waiting that the valet parking get the pickup truck, i was sitting in the front chairs, somehow when i got up to leave mu wallet fell and i realized the same day like 4-5 hours later, i called and ask, they said they found it, when i arrived there it was, with all the money, cards, etc. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE SECURITY DEPARTMENT OF THE HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto

Address: Av Angamos 01455, Antofagasta, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > Antofagasta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Antofagasta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enjoy Antofagasta Hotel Del Desierto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.