We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see in Antofagasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Portada

La Portada
Antofagasta, Antofagasta, Chile
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations
Attraction Details
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Must see in Antofagasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It is a must see if you are in Antofagasta. The beach is closed due to concerns of falling rocks after the last earthquake hit the area so you can only take pictures of La Portada.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    41
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“simply stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Take a cuppa or Picnic with you to enjoy while looking at the view as the coffee shop is not very good. They could do very well there if they spruced it up a bit and smiled at their customers.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Unique sight in a cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Antofagasta is not much of a tourist destination, but I found that it still had lots to offer. The scenery is striking as you can look out into the vast empty expanse of desert, and feel like you are lost in the middle of nowhere, and then turn around, and yet there´s the ocean behind you! The Portada itself is an arch in sea, which to me was really inspiring. I know other reviewers seemed disappointed, but I found i marvelous to witness a wonder of nature. That being said, it is a difficult place to get to, I had access to a car, but without that I don´t think there´s any way to get here (maybe taxi?) It is free and also there is a restaurant, but I heeded the advice I saw here and didn´t bother with it. One of the paths is closed, thanks to an earthquake, but I still thought it was an awesome experience watching the sun set behind La Portada and the city lights of Antofagasta turning on.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urunga
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“La Perla del Norte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This rock is a symbol for this city and highlights how really astonishing the northern coastline of Chile is. It is an amazing sight when the surf is wild!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antof
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Not much to see there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Its cold at La portada, and there's nothing to see except this huge rock made of poo...
There was a restaurant there, it was nice, not great though.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Portada also viewed

Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
Antofagasta, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to La Portada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Portada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Portada to your Saves list