We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad value, but needs improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tara Angkor Hotel to your Saves list
Tara Angkor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Not a bad value, but needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our visit to Siem Riep b/c of the great deal we got. The room is pretty average. I liked it, but didn’t love it. The bathroom is a little small for my taste, but it was good enough. The sheets had a stain on them that bothered me. They need to be careful and re-wash them if dirty or just throw them away if they cannot clean them.

The lobby of this hotel is great. I absolutely loved the floating lotus flowers as you walk in. The entire lobby smells amazing! The front desk staff was extremely friendly and generous.
We ate at the restaurant, but it was so difficult to order because our waiter couldn’t understand English very well. He had to go get someone else to take our order. The food entrees arrived 10 mins apart, also very strange. And to be honest, it just wasn’t very good. We had better meals outside of the hotel.

What bothered me the most is what happened at check-out. We had reserved and paid the hotel for a shuttle to the airport the day before. We had a set time and arrived 5 minutes before then. First, they could not find the reservation. They finally managed to find it, but then tell us they need to check the room before we check-out!? I’ve never heard of ANY hotel doing this. As far as I know, you check the hotel after we leave, and charge us for anything we ate/drank from the mini-bar (which we didn’t and told them we didn’t). They insisted on sending someone to check the room while we are getting late for our flight! We are here basically yelling at them to hurry up and take us to the airport, but they wouldn’t. The person took a good 10 minutes before they came back and told the front desk the room was okay. Then they were able to check us out and take us to the airport. Luckily, our flight was delayed 30 mins so we were able to make it, otherwise we probably would have missed it. This was EXTREMELY frustrating and I am not sure why the heck they had to check our room. The hotel lost major points with me for that.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking time to review us on this website.

I was greatly disappointed to learn that your stay with us was not reached your expectation especially case of van booking and also check out procedure which made you delay onsite of the hurry and I would like to apologise for not having been able to make it done efficiency from our procedure.

Your comments have been shared with our front office team for their action and review, however I am sorry if this experience had a negative impact on your overall stay and department concerned has been instructed for right procedure they might have done for all standard of services.


I am sorry that your stay with us was not the experience in the site of good memorable.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel, and indeed restore your faith in us. Please do let me know if you do decide to make another booking with us, and I would be delighted to oversee the reservation for you by drop me an email: gm@taraangkorhotel.com

Best regards

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    699
    109
    22
    15
See reviews for
297
861
145
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

On arrival we were welcomed with cool towels. Our room was quite roomy and we had a bath tub which was great. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style with a great variety of foods.
The only disappointment was where we had lunch on two occasions, the area was very warm and we felt there was no air-conditioning there or if there was it was not on cool enough.
Overall would recommend staying here and would do so again myself.
Great gift shop in the foyer. Spa treatment was lovely, my husband and I had one together.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

hank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on this website.

I was absolutely delighted to read about your fantastic experience at our hotel, and thrilled to learn that it was our team that really made your time with us so memorable. From the warm welcome provided, I am so pleased that your time with us was seamless, and every expectation was exceeded.

Apologise for air condition which not fresh well during your lunch, technical has been done of fixing included services staffs has been repeat trained for the operation hour of facility.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the next visit.

Best regards
Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I were disappointed with this hotel and think it should be classified as 3 star. The only positive was the location. We had the most basic room, which was actually very spacious but it was a little dirty and the shower was horrible (one of those bathtub showers with a curtain). If you're staying here, then make sure you get a room with a proper shower! Breakfast was just OK, nothing special. Can't believe they charge you for lattes at breakfast...and they weren't even any good! Overall, the hotel was fine for just two nights but as we were on our honeymoon, we were very disappointed. Our advice is to stay somewhere else.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Valued Client,


Thank you for your honest feedback regarding our amenities for our services and facilities. Whilst the found the unsatisfied on the breakfast charge by lateness arrived from Breakfast operation while i would like to gentle repeat with you again that our breakfast hour start from 6 am-10 am and if guest who arrived late it will be ahead per charge of a la cart. So far if there is any advance information it will be exceptional or flexible.

Our Breakfast menus is alternative change by turn round every 3 days and all counters are fulfil by European dishes, Bread, salad, yogurt ,asian dishes, boil rice and other of choice of drink and mainly by tea and coffee which daily over 30 kinds of food are release.

refer to Honeymoon mentioned, all honeymoon guest who inform us in advance or event by last minute we will treat as an VIP which will received Flower, Cake and couple bath soak as well as personal checked, after review your reservation we have found that no any specific mentioned.

Any, I would like to express my sincere apologise of any inconvenience may cause during stay and all member has been shared and give them solution for further efficiency services standard.

should there be any additional information you may need to direct, please drop me at gm@taraangkorhotel.com

Best regards
Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayd two days in the Hotel in november 2013 when we visited Angkor What.
Hotel offers good rooms staff is very friendly and the restaurant offers a good selection of food.
Hotel is on the main road to Angkor What.
We had a very good stay here and we can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on this website.

Whilst I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the beautiful building we are so lucky to find ourselves in, I was disappointed to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations on all levels, and would like to apologise if there was any inconvenience caused.

I do hope to have chance to welcoming you back for next visit.

Best Regards
Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent 2 nights here in mid-May. Our package including airport transfers who we were greet upon arrival at Siem Reap Airport with clear signage. The driver then escorts us to a ‘Tuk Tuk’ which took around 10 mins to hotel. Basically not humid in these 2 days but better wear a mask whenever you get on a ‘Tuk Tuk’ to avoid dusty faces. Hotel itself is modern and with easy access to major spots by ‘Tuk Tuk’ like ‘Pub Street’, ‘Old Market’, ‘Night Market’, ‘Angkor’ etc. Swimming pool is quite small but is good enough for cooling down under 36C sunny day. Breakfast is super with great choices. However their house coffee taste like instant coffee and is not hot enough. Set dinner in lobby restaurant is nice too. Their Deluxe Room on 4/Fl is spacious. Suggest having ‘Pillow Choice’ which definitely is an add-value to guests. Housekeeping service is fast and they can deliver additional complimentary distill water to your room within 5 mins.
Tuk Tuk is the major transportation in Siem Reap which cost you usd2 per trip. Try ‘Heaven Restaurant’ for lunch or dinner, great food and service and reasonable price. Suggest making reservation in advance cos walk-in chance is ‘ZERO’.

Room Tip: Pay for a bit extra supplement to stay at their Deluxe Room since they have extra standing shower co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taraangkor, General Manager at Tara Angkor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on this website.

Whilst I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the beautiful building we are so lucky to find ourselves in, I was disappointed to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations on all levels, and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Tara Angkor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Tara Angkor
Not sure what ranking this is on TA. but if it's not in the top ten, then the rest of the hotels must be out of this world.

Cracking little hotel, staff brill and rooms spot on.
Location is good only $2 Tuk Tuk ride from centre of town / pub street/ markets.
Would use again.
On main road to temples etc

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is the second time that I have stayed at Tara Angkor Hotel. The first time was 2010 and it is even better now. Cambodians generally speak the best English in SE Asia and the staff at Tara Angkor is very friendly and helpful. Everyone was great but particularly, Miss Choeuth, Miss Pim at front desk and Miss Kimla in the restaurant. The breakfast is great as well. Lovely pool. This is as close to 5 star as possible without the 5 star price!
I will be back for sure.

Michael

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#28 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#38 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#42 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Angkor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.