We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tara Angkor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tara Angkor Hotel to your Saves list
Tara Angkor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
New Jersey
Top Contributor
891 reviews 891 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 233 cities Reviews in 233 cities
1,631 helpful votes 1,631 helpful votes
“Good service, comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hospitality starts from the first moment of your registration to the hotel. You deal with it while seated with a nice complimentary nonalcoholic drink. The service is good, the rooms are pretty and their breakfast is good. You get the feeling you get cared for. There is a nice gift shop with reasonable prices, a swimming pool, some walking distance shopping opportunities. It was a good experience for our few days in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    781
    136
    27
    16
See reviews for
318
980
156
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Comfortable hotel located just outside of the town. Arranged pickup without a hitch. Ornate, stylish interiors. Nice pool. Rooms were large. Beds firm. Floors were unusual, dusty but they gave slippers for use in the room. Friendly staff, assisted with transportation into the town and to Angkor Wat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shotley bridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Just completed a 3 night stay at this very comfortable hotel. It is situated close to the town but tuk tuks are abundant and only cost $2, so in the heat you can take the easy option! Visits to the temples are obviously the main attraction and do not disappoint..spectacular..breath taking!... Night market is fun, "Pub Street" is lively probably more fun for the young at heart! Boat trip to Tonle Sap Lake was really lovely despite poor reviews found it very peaceful and an insight into Cambodian life. Cambodias 20th century history can not be forgotten and is desperately sad but its good to see how proud and dignified the people are and to contribute to their tourism industry which appears to be thriving. Totally recommend visiting this country

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Overall, my wife and I were very happy with this hotel. We stayed for 4 nights in late Oct 2012.

The location was good for access to Angkor Wat by Tuk Tuk (not walkable). For shopping/evenings, we'd head south to the old market area and Pub Street.

The included breakfast buffet was quite nice and in-hotel restaurants had decent lunch and dinner options (we opted to eat elsewhere for most of those meals).

There was a snaffu at the airport for our arrival - we'd arranged pickup, but the person was not there when we came out. We found a taxi, and were in it when the fellow did find us, but that at that point we opted to stay with the cab since we had already loaded in.

It would be great if the hotel had more information about possible day-trips and options for exploring the area. They can arrange transport (Tuk-tuk, car) and/or guide (we didn't use a guide) if you ask, but they didn't have a large selection of options available if you weren't sure what sites you wanted to visit.

Take care of traveler's diarrhea during your visit. Be wary of the waters and sodas for sale by the sites.

Room Tip: Facing the pool is a much nicer view than out over the adjacent buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London - UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Tara is a beautiful hotel with stylish interiors and great spa and swimming pool facilities. The rooms are comfortable and nicely designed. The service in the hotel was polite and efficient and the staff were charming. I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice and clean, welcoming staff. Not much land to this property so felt a little squashed in! The pool is nice but if busy could be hard to get a seat, but I think most people stay a couple of days, like us to see Angkor Wat and move on.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had just spent 3 nights at 5 star Soffitel in Pnom Penh , all very luxurious but a little uncomfortable for us. We then arrived at Tara Angkor ..... what a great all-round good place. Rooms were comfortable,food was very nice(try the banana fritters with ice-cream)and staff were exceptional. We met a young guy working here one night before bed and had a lovely chat with him about his life and plans for the future ... what a resililent and optimistic young man and i am sure there are many more like him in Cambodia. This by far was the best place in our travels thru Vietnam and Cambodia that we had stayed and would have loved to have stayed much longer. But it probably now gives us the incentive to come back to here maybe with a week at Sianookville which we understand is a lovely beach area to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tara Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Angkor Hotel

Address: Vithei Charles De Gaulle | Road to Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#34 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#39 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#41 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#46 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Angkor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that Siem Reap has to offer in our brand new stylish 4 star international hotel. An ideal base to explore Siem Reap and the magnificent temples steeped in legend and history. Tara Angkor Hotel is conveniently located between the Siem Reap International Airport and the World Heritage site Angkor Wat. The Royal Palace Garden, the new Angkor National Museum and town city center are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Tara Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Angkor
Tara Angkor Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tara Angkor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.