We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation between Temples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Lodge to your Saves list
Lotus Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap 12207, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxation between Temples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Out of all the guest houses and hotels I stayed in during my two month trek round South East Asia this is the one that stands out from the rest. The pool was a welcome luxury after days of exploring the temples of Angkor and there is real peace and quiet since the hotel is located a little bit out of town. Some would say that's a negative, since you have to take a tuk-tuk into town or use the pre-arranged FREE shuttle the hotel provides, but after staying in the centres of Phnom Penh, Bangkok and Ho Chi Minh City I was pretty relieved to get some uninterrupted sleep. As a note: I only came across one tuk-tuk driver that didn't know where the Lotus Lodge was, and there were plenty of others clamouring to take me back, so I wouldn't worry about that.

The room itself was clean and cosey, air con working just fine and not too noisy. The bathroom was a bit dark but had an overhead shower, an OVERHEAD SHOWER!! Everywhere else I stayed had a shower head attached to the bath taps. Come to think of it, the room itself might have been dark, I don't know though since I was out looking at temples and in town all day!

Breakfast was excellent and the poolside food even better. We even organised a few tours through the hotel; highly reccommend the trip to the village on stilts and the Dutch owner let us in on a cheeky Khmer secret reservoir with hammocks and huts just outside Siem Reap where the locals relax. That was truely amazing.

Overall, if I'm ever back in the area I'm definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    84
    30
    22
    10
See reviews for
42
134
41
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Amazing hotel, great food and the best staff. I don't write reviews all that often unless I'm really really impressed. Lotus Lodge did a very good job making sure I had an amazing time during my stay. I'm already planning my next trip there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with the most wonderful staff. It was absolutely an experience of a lifetime. The hotel is very clean and relaxing. The food at the restaurant is delicious! You can even see the temples from the hotel's tower! Wonderful place! Planning another trip back there soon

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place to stay, clean rooms, great food and beautiful pool-ideal to relax around after a day at the temples. Free bike hire and wi-fi a bonus too. Staff are sweet, friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowney Green
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Lotus Lodge was a perfect little oasis after several hot days' temple viewing while we were in Siem Reap. The staff could not have been nicer. All were friendly, accommodating and eager to practise their English. It was quiet while we were there and the monsoon rains had made the entrance into a swimming pool, but a short, exciting tuk tuk ride soon got us into town for an evening out and back. The staff can arrange all sorts of trips and travel arrangements so staying there was very easy. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the air conditioning worked fine. My only reservation would be about the bathroom, in that it was a bit dingy. However, everything else was great; the swimming pool was lovely and the food was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

the rooms were perfect,the electric fan was an extra, you could switch the ac off at night.very friendly staff, unusual location, but quiet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Lotus Lodge for six nights in January/February while visiting the temples of Angkor. Both the best and the worst part about the Lotus Lodge is its location. The Lotus Lodge is not in the center of Siem Reap but located some kilometers to the east of town. It is in a residential neighborhood a few minutes off of the main highway. This means that you are pretty far removed from the hubub of central Siem Reap. This can be a good thing when wanting to relax at the end of a long day sightseeing but it also makes seeing town and getting some dinner a little difficult.

The Lotus Lodge offered two shuttles into town every evening and one shuttle back. These are free rides offered on on a first come/first served basis. There always seemed to be enough room for us on the shuttle that we wanted. You are given enough time to eat in town and do some shopping.

The hotel itself has a restaurant that is located on a veranda next to the saltwater pool. It was a great location to relax at. We never ate dinner but the appetizers and drinks that we ordered were pretty good. This is also where the hotel offers its complimentary breakfast. When there were not a lot of guests it was table service from a menu but on the days that there were more people staying at the hotel it was served buffet style. It is a standard continental breakfast.

The pool/restaurant is located off to the side on the property so any noise from it does not travel to the rooms, which is nice. Down the road though there is a skeezy karaoke bar that was very very loud. We could hear the thumping music every night as we were trying to fall asleep. It didn't keep us up, but it was definitely audible. Also, road in front of the hotel is simply awful. One of the most bumpy rides I've ever experienced is over that one block.

The hotel can arrange tours and taxis (tuk-tuks) for you. The prices seemed to be a little higher than what you'd get by negotiating with a driver yourself, but you are located out of town a bit. Two days we arranged for a tuk-tuk through the hotel to take us to some of the further out temples. The drivers we got through the hotel were great. We also bought our onward bus tickets from the hotel. Lotus Lodge offers free bike usage. The "City Bikes" are free and you can rent mountain bikes for $7 or $8 a day.

The staff of the Lotus Lodge were all very nice and accommodating. Upon arrival someone will sit with you and explain the sightseeing, shopping and dining options in town. The desk staff helped us with our many questions without batting an eye.

The one thing that I thought was lacking in the hotel was the rooms themselves. They were fine but a bit dated and maybe even a tad dingy. The beds and bedding appeared a bit old and tired and the bathroom was dark and lacked ventilation. Because of how the rooms are arranged there was not a lot of natural light in the room. My wife thought it was fine but I thought it a bit lacking.

Oh, one final thing. The Lotus Lodge picked us up at the airport for free, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Lodge

Address: Boeung Dounhpa Village Slar Kram Commune, Chong Kov Sou, Siem Reap 12207, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious and family friendly lodge is situated a short distance from the center of Siem Reap. Away from all the big hotels and busy street life, it offers an oasis of greenery. An excellent place for a well deserved and relaxing rest after visiting the temples of Angkor Wat. The Lotus Lodge offers a number of services and amenities to guests staying in one of our 34 clean and quiet rooms. During your stay you can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, a poolside restaurant and bar, free bicycle rentals, tour booking service, computer and internet access, pool table, movies, free daily shuttle, as well as our 10 meter high viewing tower which provides a superb panoramic outlook. You can even view the famous Angkor Temples from the tower! The large swimming pool is surrounded by a relaxation area that allows you to retreat to the calmness of the lodge. Massage can be arranged in your room or on the poolside terrace. We offer a wide variety of Khmer, Chinese and western meals in our open air restaurant and lounge. We also provide transfer services from the airport to the resort. Come stay with us at Lotus Lodge and you are sure to have a pleasant and relaxing experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lotus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.