We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amatao Tropical Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amatao Tropical Residence to your Saves list
Amatao Tropical Residence
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Mango Forest Village | PO Box 99, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
“Unique Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Amatao last month for 4 nights as the kick-off to our honeymoon through Cambodia, Laos & Thailand. Amazing does not even begin to describe this place. Naomi is just an incredible host that made us feel so welcome upon our arrival and throughout our stay. Our room was massive and gorgeous, Naomi's cooking was the best food of our trip, and we were given an excellent private local tour upon request through Naomi's connections. Throughout our trip, we stayed at some of the nicest hotels in each of the cities we visited, but none of them had the feel and service that we experienced at Amatao.

A quick 10 minute tuk-tuk ride or 30-40 minute walk to city center makes Amatao the perfect get-away for couples looking for some peace and quiet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know visiting Siem Reap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comment for us! All our AMATAO family still remember both of you clearly, we do wish for your further success & happiness & luck in the new year 2014! A Happy New Year! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here last month for two nights. There are so many nice things to say about Amatao. Our room was very nice- huge, well decorated and super clean. The service here exceeded our expecations. The entire staff makes you feel like a really special guest at someone's home.
It's tucked away in a village which means that you are far away from the hustle and bustle of town and get to enjoy the real Cambodian life.
Naomi and Stefan are simply a remarkable couple. They personalize all your requests and even sit down with you for a cognac (free of cost) in the evenings where you chat away. It's like being amongst old friends.
They have a farewell ceremony which really makes you so sad because it feels like you are saying goodbye to family members. But it also confirms that they are serious when they say that you are now part of the Amatao family.

If i ever went back to Siem Reap, i would definitely stay at Amatao!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your precious comments for us. We still remember for your grateful power to walk from our hotel to Siem Reap & enjoyed for the tropical & local ambiance! :) Hopefully we could welcome you back again of course as members of AMATAO family! A happy New Year 2014, wish for your further success & luck & happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This review is a long time coming. We stayed at Amatao last year but its an experience that we're not likely to forget not least because of our amazing hosts Stefan and Naomi. From the lovely, tranquil gardens with classical japanese music for breakfast or haunting jazz in the evenings to the undivided attention of Stefan and Naomi, the Amatao is worth every penny and more. Definitely a unique experience made even more memorable by the beautiful send off at the end of our stay. thank you Stefan and Naomi. Our only regret is that we cant remember the name of the japanese composer that Stefan played for us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments to us. Japanese Musician is "Kitaro", we are sure that you could search through the internet. However, if you could not find it, please feel free to contact us back anytime! Remember, now you are a member of our AMATAO Family & we do wish for your welcome back in the future one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Naomi hosted us at Amatao when we were in Siem Reap and we had an amazing stay. When you are there you feel like you are staying in someones incredible home. Just fifteen minutes from the hustle of Siem Reap it feels like a sanctuary. The garden setting is so tranquil and lush you instantly relax, the pool is a great place to relax. My room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and extremely quiet even though I slept with the windows open. I hope I get back to Siem Reap so I can get to stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room on the first floor above the wine cellar. It was incredible. Beautifully finish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your sweetest message, we do also hope that we could welcome you back again to your lovely 2nd tropical home in the future. You might have another experience with the different style deco/ atmosphere new suite room with full of Cambodian full field view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Previous reviews said it all. Amatao is a beautiful and well-kept property located in the village that's wonderful to return to after the dust and clamor of tourist attractions. We stayed in the Ambassador Suite with its unique and exciting design. There were other guests on the property, but Naomi arranged everything the way we never met or bother each other. Naomi and her staff pay their guests very special attention. Sometimes, I thought that anything is possible if Naomi made an arrangement. We've used concierge services in some of the best hotels in the world but what differentiated our stay there is the personal touch: you didn't feel like a guest of the hotel but rather the owner’s personal guest. It's a completely different way of treating guests and made our stay a trip to remember for a lifetime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
This is our duty & aim with our biggest pleasure, hopefully your vacation with us is still under your unforgettable memory. For us all our AMATAO family, of course we do never forget you, and if you have a chance to visit Cambodia again, we are most pleased to welcome you back to your sweet tropical home here! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Naomi and her husband have made one marvelous resort! Their unique property, complete with a wine cellar, pool, and lush gardens, is NOT near the hotel area. This place is tucked within quiet villages and is a true escape into the life of people in Siem Reap. Our room, one of few, was massive. The entire property, more impressively, was built by Naomi and her husband and you can note the care and attention to detail poured into the place. Have Naomi do at least one dinner for you. She and her team are outstanding in the kitchen and facilitate any detail or desire. (Such as negotiating the rates of taxis-a HUGE help!) I would love, love, LOVE to stay here again. It's a home away from home!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Exactly "Home away from Home", since you stayed with us once, this AMATAO is your 2nd tropical sweet home. Remember, as we mentioned & showed up upon your departure it's exactly you are the members of our AMATAO Family. Whenever you have a chance to come back to Cambodia, just drop the email to us, we are always most pleased to arrange for the another surprise with the newest suite room or lodge! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

After a hot day of trekking the temples or the markets in town, there was nothing nicer than coming home to Amatao ....and the pool :) Naomi and Stephane went out of their way to make our stay special and they succeeded. Stephane's cellar is also something to behold, or rather, to besavoured! Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Each room is quite different - the family room where our friends stayed with their kids was one huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatao_11, General Manager at Amatao Tropical Residence, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the details of all our different rooms' description. We have now another new suite lodge & etc. If you are supposed to come back to Siem Reap again with all your family or friend, just let us know in advance. We would love to arrange the best room allocation for each of your group with our particular unique surprise! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amatao Tropical Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatao Tropical Residence

Address: Mango Forest Village | PO Box 99, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amatao Tropical Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first and foremost private tropical unique exclusive villa in Cambodia! For your special occasion, like honeymoon or anniversary trip, or private truest family vacation, step on our tropical resort! In general we accept only for a few couples or a few families per day. Therefore, you could enjoy your most memorable moment with full of nature, tranquility, total relaxation & comfort & privacy, and our warmest unique personalized service. Moreover, all hotel facilities only for you 24 hours, there are no fixed times for usages or meals at AMATAO. This is your tropical 2nd home! :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amatao Tropical Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amatao Tropical Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.