We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siem Reap Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Siem Reap Hostel to your Saves list
The Siem Reap Hostel
7 Makara Street | Cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I had an excellent stay in this hostel. Staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful. Complete facilities and sometimes I felt like not leaving the dorm at all (lol) because of the comfy atmosphere and friendly people. Free bike rentals (but sukhar told me at the last minute!) and I'd gone a long walk already for 2 days. Location is very accessible and every tuk-tuk driver knows where the exact location is. Will definitely come back here! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    102
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
50
206
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hostel was great, clean, friendly helpful staff, has a bar and a clean pool...I'm pretty sure in Cambodia that's all you really need. The dorms have fans, AC, and internet which was fantastic. They have a cinema with big comfy lounge chairs and they screen documentaries and films on cambodia daily. In the entrance to the hostel you'll find computers, tour information, information on yoga classes or walking city tours just about everything you could need. The hostel is reasonably priced but book early as it seemed to be full during our entire 4nt stay. I spoke with a few backpackers who had stayed in other hostels just waiting for a bed here to open up...don't miss out!

The hostel also sends a tuk tuk driver to the airport complimentary, which my 5star resort in thailand didn't even do. Thank you Siem Reap Hostel for being so thoughtful.

I also liked that the hostel finances their tuk tuk drivers so they can eventually own their tuk tuks. The driver we used almost all four days was the best, and I'd highly recommend him, Mr. Vothea. A quick shout out to him, he toured us around Ankor Wat 2days in a row, and quoted us very fair and reasonable tuk tuk prices, he also got us a reasonably priced tour guide for the temples. Mr. Vothea was also just a nice man, he talked with me about his family and his life in cambodia, I would gladly support him with my business in the future and suggest that you do the same, an honest guy making an honest living.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great place to stay! Really good conditions, good location, friendly staff and a cool swimming pool! ;) The place is Ideal for backpackers, great to meet people and socialize. Great vibe! Definitely recommend, would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was astounded by the atmosphere, service and location. Having a tuk tuk driver pick me up from the airport was incredible and relieved a lot of stress in my arrival plans. The staff also went out of their way to get to know my name and help me plan my time in Siem Reap. I ate a few meals there and enjoyed the pool so much after a long day of exploring the temples. I would definitely return to stay here, and I have already recommended it to all my friends. I even stayed an additional 3 days here because of the people I met, the awesome staff and the chill accommodations! Thanks for being an incredibly welcoming hostel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hostel just has it all! Clean rooms, big beds, great clean hot showers! The staff are very helpfull and are very nice too. An amazing cool swimmingpool, great cinema where they show movies 3 times a day (Thanks for forrest gump again ;-)) the 0.50 cents beers are amazing so is the food. They even got an amazing fruitpunch because the elektricity was down for a little bit on the 2nd Floor,. Overall i recommend this hostel to everyone. Great Vibe

Room Tip: The 18 dorm beds are really good, great A-C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Siem Reap Hostel is the best stay in Siem Reap. I'm a habitual traveller to Cambodia & particularly Siem Reap. I don't understand anyone staying anywhere else. It is a purpose built hostel for backpackers and they totally understand exactly what we are looking for. It is well managed & maintained. It's clean wt big bunks & lockers. Staff are well trained & professional, tuk tuk drivers are fair & knowledgeable. There is a cool pool that is a welcome luxury after a day trekn around the temples. And l mean cool. It is undercover unlike a couple of other places that hv luke warm, sun exposed pools. The pool is in the bar area that serves great food & happy hour is from 5-8 pm serving 50c beers! There is now a comfy cinema showing great docos on Angkor plus lots of other popular movies including the mandatory 'Tomb Raider ' & 'Killing Fields.' The hostel can explain how they support Khmer enterprises & are all round, great people to talk to. Close to Pub st & the old market. The place to stay in Siem Reap!!

Room Tip: I always stay in the female dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Siem Reap Hostel is a very lively place. The bar is a happening place during happy hour and the hostel is great for meeting people. However since most people staying here are going to see Angkor Wat (and sunrise is the popular time to go), noise is not an issue at night and things quiet down well before 11pm. It's like a ten minute walk to Pub Street and the night market if you want to keep the party going strong though.

The staff are efficient and helpful. You're able to book tuk tuks and guides to tourist sites in town as well as bus tickets out of town through the hostel.

This has been one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed at during my three months [and counting] backpacking through Asia. I stayed in a six-bed mixed dorm (with A/C) and the bunks felt comfortable and they provide you with an electrical plug and light for each bunk which is always great. They clean the floors and bathrooms daily (toilets twice a day) and it's great having a toilet and shower for each room. Only thing I found a bit of a nuisance was that the toilet was in a separate room from the sink (which was in with the shower) and this made it awkward when you used the toilet but someone was having a shower so you couldn't get in to wash your hands. Didn't happen frequently, and they do have multiple "public" toilets on a few floors, but perhaps not the best plan.

The amenities this hostel offers are fabulous! The movie room screens documentaries during the day and then two films at night (generally 7pm and 9pm). Such a comfortable place to go and chill watching a movie with some great A/C as well. And their pool is great. Comfortable places are provided to lounge around the pool and it's so refreshing after being out in the heat of the city.

I would definitely recommend staying here. Super clean, lots of extras like the pool, movie room and a pool table, and the staff are helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Hostel

Address: 7 Makara Street | Cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:- Free Wi-Fi (now available in EVERY room)- Hot Water- Air-Conditioning- Western style showers and toilets, Awesome undercover pool, bar and restaurant, chill out rooms, TV room, free computers, close to Pub St.Please be aware there are other near by hostels with names very similar to ours, they are hoping you end up there by mistake. There is only one hostel named 'The Siem Reap Hostel'. Accept no imitations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Travelocity so you can book your The Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siem Reap Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.