We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in siem reap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siem Reap Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Siem Reap Hostel to your Saves list
The Siem Reap Hostel
7 Makara Street | Cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay in siem reap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for nearly a month as was volunteering in a nearby village. They give discounts when you are volunteering. Staff are so friendly, spent a lot of time chatting with them. Facilities are amazing, a pool for that price is great, and food is really really good. Clean big rooms, strong aircon, separate shower, big lockers, cleaned everyday, I loved my stay here. only two problems are ba computers, but wifi is strong, and lack of communication between stff if you are changing a booking or have some request. Great stay! Great location! :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    102
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
51
206
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

i stayed in this hostel for two nights with 3 friends and we loved it! we had a private room between the 4 of us which had two single beds and one double but this wasnt a problem. on arrival the staff were extremely helpful and spoke good english. the food was good however we had to wait a while for breakfast on the first day as there was a power cut which is quite common. the swimming pool is great and there is computers available for use free and also wifi. we booked ourbus tickets thru the hotel which saved us money on a tuk tuk to the bus station and they were very helpful when the bus didnt turn up on time,calling to find out where it was. the location was great, only a 5/10 minutes walk to pub street and other bars and restaurants as well as the night market which is a must see! overall a great stay and would go here again if i am ever in siem reap.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Spacious double/triple rooms, clean, friendly staff, nice swimming pool inside, breakfast just fine for the few box it cost you, good laundry service next doors,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This place feels like a haven away from the obligatory hassle and grit that are part of Cambodia's charm. Cheap drinks, nice pool, good food, great place to meet people before you head out on the short stroll to pub street. Had a little too much fun and left some belongings behind when we left and the owners got them to me safely in Australia for free! I was reccommended this place by a friend and will pass the word on!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This place doesn't feel like a hostel, it has its own pool, billiards table, foosball table. The bar/restaurant is a good place to hang out and meet new people. I would suggest getting a private room for $10/person/night for 2 or 3 people/room. Water pressure is excellent. Wi-Fi gets weak on the 3rd floor, blackouts are common in Siem Reap (but not the hostel's fault), it usually lasts around 15 minutes. For 3 days, we only experienced 2 blackouts.

We also had a problem with our a/c (we stayed in room 303), it would act up and sometimes turn off by itself and didn't cool very well. Our friends in 304 had no issues with theirs.

Also, even though the hostel offered tours, we didn't book tours with them. We made plans with our tuk-tuk drivers, Shon and San whom we met at the bus station. I think it's better to make plans directly with the tuk tuk drivers, the possibility of getting ripped off is quite slim. We haggled the price down to $12/ tuktuk (hostel offered $15) to tour Angkor Wat temples, but we still gave the full $15 to our drivers afterwards.It's quite obvious that the people from Siem Reap need all the help they can get from tourists, and the people are so incredibly warm and friendly, so if you can afford it, please feel free to be generous.

Overall a great place to stay in, would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

After staying here for 5 nights towards the end of August it is difficult to find anything negative to say...

From the off they did everything we could of asked of them. They sent a tuktuk driver to pick us up free of charge from the bus station and, as anyone who has arrived at a bus stop in SE Aisa will attest to, seeing someone holding a sign with your name and guesthouse on in the sea of drivers jockeying for your attention is truly a sight for sore eyes.

The $20 a night double room is huge. The shower isnt your standard wetroom but a cubicle with enough room to walk around in and the toilet even had its own little room. The balcony was pleasant , the TV had star movies and HBO and the wifi was faultless. Sheets were clean and changed everyday and breakfast is on the house for private room residents. We also stuck with the tuk tuk driver who the hostel sent for exploring the temples. The food in the restaurant was decent and reasonably priced but pub street is a 5 minute walk away with its wealth of places to eat and drink anyway. Like i said, difficult to find fault.

The only thing I would say is this place is tailored slightly more to solo travellers or groups of friends rather than couples like us. It was not a problem in the slightest but this is who populates the place in the main which means the bar area can get a bit busy and their is very much a traveller 'vibe' to the place.

That said i would happily recommend Siem Reap hostel to anyone and i find it difficult to believe there is anywhere in the same league as this place in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The most friendly place I stayed at in Asia, a proper backpackers with facilities for meeting people. Lovely staff, arranged everything so that I always had someone to share a tuk tuk with etc. Nice bar and pool, great beds with locking storage underneath. Our dorm was en suite and with aircon. A great bargain. Remember most people stay there to do Angkor at sunrise so be prepared to be woken up at 4 every day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Siem Reap Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Hostel

Address: 7 Makara Street | Cnr of Wat Bo Road and Angkor High School Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:- Free Wi-Fi (now available in EVERY room)- Hot Water- Air-Conditioning- Western style showers and toilets, Awesome undercover pool, bar and restaurant, chill out rooms, TV room, free computers, close to Pub St.Please be aware there are other near by hostels with names very similar to ours, they are hoping you end up there by mistake. There is only one hostel named 'The Siem Reap Hostel'. Accept no imitations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Siem Reap Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siem Reap Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siem Reap Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.