We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanei Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Tanei Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tanei Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   017, Steung Thmey Village | Svaydangkum Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 219 hotels in Siem Reap
Pune
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Tanei with family and child. We checked in four hours early than the actual checkin time, but they didnt charge us extra, instead they kept apologising for the rooms were still being cleaned. The stay was memorable due to the warm and smiling staff and owners. The guesthouse had a very family flavour with the owners children running around. The pool was clean and a good break from the temple tours. The breakfast was decent. The staff never complained or frowned when I went every morning and evening to warm the milk for my little one. They even packed us the breakfast for our sunrise tour to Angkor. The airport transfers are free and prompt. We loved our stay there and would definately recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: We took a room on the ground flr, had easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    145
    28
    16
    11
See reviews for
67
119
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved this guest house. For only $35 a night, we got a large room, comfortable bed that had a heart created with flower pedals, a bottle of wine, fresh fruit and cold water. Each morning we had a very nice complimentary breakfast. The bar was well stocked with booze and cold beer selections.

My wife and I utilized the hotel services for a message where two young ladies came to our room and gave us both much needed 90 minute massages. ($6 each). At first we were a little concerned about what it would be like to get a massage on the bed at the same time. With in minutes, we were in a state of bliss.

Pub street and Night Market street are a short walk away. Late each night we easily found a tuk tuk to take us back to the guest house. We also found that there were lots of laundry services just a block away (cost $1 us per kilo for wash/dry/fold).

The outside patio was very relaxing to take a break, have a drink and talk to other international travelers.

(Warning: As of December 20th, 2012 there was major construction going on with an addition to the hotel. It was very loud during the day. Normally we are never in a hotel during day hours; however, with getting up at dawn to see the temples, lots of walking, and then when the hot heat of the day hits around 3 pm, it is nice to head back to the hotel for a cold beer and a little rest. The construction was a distraction.(7 am to 6 pm). I'm guessing they will be done around April 2013.)

We posted a video of the guesthouse on our travel photography web site: quickadventures.net

Room Tip: Stay near the road while construction of the addition is on-going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

When I arrived at Tanei Guesthouse I was a little concerned about the construction going on right next to the guesthouse overlooking the pool. I was also given a room with three beds for one person because they had sold out and given my room to someone else. That being said my experience there was wonderful. To have a pool in 90 degree weather was amazing and the construction turned out to be ok. The staff was so welcoming and kind and the other guests so great! For the price I paid ($18 US) this place turned out to be a steal. The restaurant on the premises was excellent and the prices were the most reasonable in all of Siem Reap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Amazing value for money. Staff very friendly. Room basic but ok. Clean and cleaned everyday. Pool is nice but not many beds so you need to be there in morning to get one. Building an extension next to pool so it's noisy and a lot of workmen. Food is great and cheap. Happy hour. You have to take shoes off for walking around reception and restaurant. We were given complimentary massage for booking 3 nights which is given in your room. Would not recommend this, the two girls who came chatted amongst themselves in Khmer throughout and laughed a lot and even changed our tv channel to a Cambodian quiz show! Except from that we loved our stay and would definately recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were picked up from the airport by tuk tuk, coming down the dark little back street didn't look too promising but the property is a nice garden setting with security out the front. The twin room we had booked turned out to be 3 beds in the same space so asked to be moved the next morning. No problem. Beds comfortable and clean, good bathroom layout for a change (no shower over the toilet!)
The included breakfast wasn't all that great but adequate. And why oh why do westerners who would never do this in their own country smoke in the eating area??? We engaged the services of a tour guide (Sororn) and tuk tuk for the trip to the Angkor Wat complex for one day. There is a pool but the chlorine smell was too strong for me to enjoy although many others did use the pool.
Friends had recommended ringing the Batman tuk tuk man Ramet so we hired him for the next few days. Ramet speaks good English and has a clean well maintained tuk tuk. ph +85 592 512 245 or email vuthsametsamet@yahoo.com

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed only four days, but we met customers who were staying there for weeks. Great place for families, very clean and cozy and a swimming pool to cool down and make friends.

The staff is very friendly and try to do their best to please the customer. Some examples:
-There was a problem with their reservation system and they were not aware of our arrival, so nobody was waiting for us at the airport. So they acknowledged their mistake and asked us to take the first transport available in the airport which they paid out of their own pocket.
-The front desk receptionist, Li Kong, even helped us later by telephone when we were in Phnom Pehn.

I would also like to recommend the bicycle tour along the country side organized by Yang Chan.

Thank you very much, Li Kong, for all your help :)

Room Tip: It wasn't possible to connect to Wifi from rooms on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was a nice hotel in a good location, our room was big, clean and had air con, fridge, tv etc. We paid a lot more than we had been all trip as wanted a bit of luxury, but to be honest it was the same quality as what we would have got paying half the price. there was a nice pool but a lot of building work is going on around it at the moment so its fairly noisy and intrusive. Can't fault the actual place but just disappointed with what we got for our money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanei Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanei Guesthouse

Address: 017, Steung Thmey Village | Svaydangkum Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tanei Guesthouse 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanei Guest House is ideally located on the good location a quiet road a few minutes walk from the fantastic cafes/restaurants & bars of Siem Reap City Centre. Free breakfast and pickup from the airport. Bus and boat station. Nice outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Phsa Chas( Old Market) market is just a few minutes walk from Tanei Guest House, 10 minutes from International Airport and close to down town, which is possible to go shopping, easily 15 minutes to magnificent Angkor Temple in the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Tanei Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanei Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanei Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.