We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Big Regret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sala Bai

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sala Bai
Save
You added Sala Bai to your Saves list
Sala Bai, 155 Phoum Tapoul, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My Big Regret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed at the Sala Bai in March this year. What is my single BIG REGRET? It is that I'm returning to Siem Reap in September and that's during the time the Sala Bai is closed to the public while they start a new student intake. I will be forced to stay somewhere OTHER than this wonderful place. Very disappointed! Any other time of the year - this is where I would stay over and over again. Marvelous management and teaching staff, and the students are outstanding. Just delightful. Nothing is too hard when it comes to looking after the guest. Rooms - great value, clean and comfortable. Food - five star quality. Front office students - easily sort out your activities around Siem Reap. Ok, the students sometimes don't understand, or bring entrees and mains out in the wrong order - but who cares! It is all part of the experience.

At the Sala Bai you will have a wonderful, comfortable stay, surrounded by infectious and enthusiastic young Khmers. Perfect experience and one I don't hesitate to recommend HIGHLY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Enjoyed 5 nights in the suite. Quiet and secure location, short walk to main streets. housekeeping immaculate including a turndown service as well. Great cause and great students. You get to enjoy the daily operation of the school, my favourite was coming down for breakfast and then watching the students with flag and national anthem followed by a short demonstration class.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at Sala Bai for 9 perfect days. I visited two rooms and both were sparklingly clean. On my first day, I got my laundry done for the very same day. Check-in was warm and efficient; one of the students helped me to bring my bags to my room. The hotel itself is very quiet because it's not directly on the main road and it is at walking distance from PubStreet and all kind of restaurants. Breakfast is delicious. Unfortunately, I couldn't make it for lunch but I met a couple of guests that told me that it was amazing.
The most amazing thing about this Hotel is the quality of the student staffs: always helpful and smiling, always very happy to interact with guests and assist them. You will feel like you’re staying in a 5-stars hotel except that the numerous smiles and the quality of service that you will receive will both be genuine.
Even if you traveled a lot in your life, I guarantee you that your stay at Sala Bai is one that you will never forget. These kids are amazing.
One of the Tuk-Tuk driver who works with the school, Mr. Samnang, was wonderful, driving me carefully to Angkor temples and more remote areas, always smiling and very knowledgeable about history and culture.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Sala Bai has been one of my best experiences in Cambodia. Students and staff were very smily and helpful and the suite was a nice place to rest for my daughter and I. I spent nearly 10 days there in 2 stays and was never disappointed. As said by other travellers, don't miss it. It helps poor family to increase their income and youth to have a better future...last but not least cocktails and food are elegant and tasteful....

Room Tip: ask for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We spent 1 night and were pleased but the number of smiles and help we received from the student staffs. They were lot of attention to us and our room. They let us having a shower after checking out! Walking distance from the city center.
Can rent bike nearbye. Ask for the suite! They can pick you up from the airport , chose the tuk tuk to enjoy the view!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Sala Bai is amazing. The guest house is actually a non profit organisation set up to train young Khmers from poor backgrounds to become professionals in the hotel and restaurant trade. Currently 100 students a year pass thro Sala Bai, all of whom are guaranteed employment at the end of their training.

Ok that's the worthy bit - even if it wasn't such a 'good' organisation Sala Bai is probably one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. It's not posh in the 'I need every possible luxury' sort of way, but the staff are keen, friendly and always very engaging. The breakfast is to die for (fruit salad par excellence!) and we had lunch which was completely superb - a fusion of Khmer and French.

All in all if you're in Siem Reap and you don't stay at Sala Bai you are missing out - seriously!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I spend 4 perfect days. Service and room were great. Restaurant is not expensive and amazing. And i help sala bai school in the same time so what could be better? Thanks for mao who helped me so much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sala Bai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Bai

Address: Sala Bai, 155 Phoum Tapoul, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sala Baï, The School of Rice in Khmer, was created by the French NGO Agir Pour le Cambodge. This Hotel & Restaurant School opened its doors in 2002 and trains each year - totally free of charge - 100 young Cambodians from underprivileged families.This year again, 100 new students have got the chance to practice in real conditions every week days at the Restaurant and 7 days a week at the Hotel.They are highly motivated, dynamic and eager of learning.Come to meet them and support as a guest our program! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sala Bai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.