We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viroth's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Viroth's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viroth's Hotel
#14, Street 23 | Wat Bo Village, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 339 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2013 following a recommendation from a friend - Viroth's did not disappoint. We arrived mid-evening after a fairly hairy bus ride from Phnom Penh (beginning of monsoon season makes for extra dangerous road travel), after a warm welcome, we were given a large ground floor room and promptly crashed out.

As I'm sure is the case with most visitors to Siem Reap, we spent our days pottering around the Temples of Angkor (choosing to do this by bike, rented from Camouflage Adventure, who Viroth's recommended). We tended to get up, cycle up to the Angkor sites for sunrise and stay until late morning when we'd retire to Viroth's for a few hours to miss the heat of the day before heading back to Angkor for sunset.

There seemed to be very few other guests in the hotel which meant we had nearly exclusive use of the pool and the roof-top bar, exactly the right tonic to the June heat and the invasion of visitors that takes place at Angkor by late morning.

The location, slightly off the beaten track puts the night-life of Siem Reap within easy reach but far enough away that if you don't want to be exposed to it (or bothered by it) you aren’t. We ate at Viroth's restaurant which is well worth trying it is 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

It's not cheap (relative to that part of the world) but with attentive staff, beautiful, well executed design and a relaxed atmosphere it is certainly worth the money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor suite with it's own small private garden - high walls and dense pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    70
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
167
27
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Viroth's is set away from the hustle and bustle of Pub street on the other side of the river. While there are always plenty of offers for a tuk-tuk (not worth the $1-$2 they'll try to charge), it's only a ten minute stroll to the old market and the action, so it's easier to walk.
The reception area is immaculate and the staff are welcoming and always helpful. The salt water pool is very clean, it's not that deep but the temperature is good.
The rooms are spacious and very clean, but the showers don't have a screen/door so those a little shy you may find yourself a little exposed! Water and wifi are provided free of charge - and breakfast is included too. It's a somewhat limited menu, but delicious nonetheless with assorted breads with dragon fruit jam, noodle soup (great with an egg) or seasonal fruits.
Viroth's is a quiet haven in which you can relax after a busy day of temple visits.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Clean, modern and well located hotel. Has a spacious roof terrace, which can be used any time and otherwise serves for breakfast.

Stayed for a night in room 4, which is spacious and whilst facing the street quiet.

The greatest asset to the hotel is its staff - welcoming, helpful and reliable. Well done to Saay, managing guests and reservations. My reservation seem to be double-booked by the agency I used, however they made an effort to put me in a partnering hotel for a night, which ended up being an upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have been to Cambodia several times and have stayed at a few other hotels in Siem Reap, because I was unable to procure in the first instance a booking at Viroths. Its popularity is no surprise! This hotel is a very welcoming and comfortable place to stay. It is small and has an understated retro French aesthetic that is manifested in the breakfast music, furnishings and ornamental pieces. The beds are firm not hard as reported in a previous review ( and I have slept in most of the seven rooms).
The breakfast is bountiful without being over stated.
The hotel is so very clean and the attention to detail by the staff to your every need without being cloyingly servile is most welcoming. The tuk tuk drivers in the vicinity of the hotel are exceptionally friendly. The clients staying at the hotel seem to be mainly couples and singles who want to escape from the usual tour bus shuttle type of hotels.
The manager Mr Saay is a great ambassador for this hotel and despite the hotel's popularity the quality of friendly service does not change. The restaurant 5 minutes up the road is also consistently of a high standard.

Room Tip: room 6 is th e biggest by a fraction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiemReapBenny, Manager at Viroth's Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your very positive and complementary review – it’s greatly appreciated by management and staff. We were delighted to serve you during your stay and hope you will return to stay with us in Siem Reap in the near future.

Saay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Was torn between booking a traditonal khmer style villa or a modern hotel for our 5 day trip in Cambodia. Chose Viroths based on TA reviews. V happy with our stay, the manager extremely helpful (was very gracious about late check-out), pool area although small was very well done, and the room was kept immaculately clean.

We were given room 6 which was directly below the upstairs kitchen and would wake up at times because of shuffling from kitchen. Aside from this we had an excellent stay. Woul recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in July 2013. The hotel only has 6 rooms and I'd say half were booked during our stay (which is low season in Siem Reap). We had room #6 which is on the 2nd floor. The room (and bathrooms) were clean, guests quiet and respectful, and the staff competent though their English skills were a bit limited.

The included breakfast is nothing fancy, but a great way to start the day - croissants, eggs your way, orange juice, coffee and fresh fruit - what more could you want? After breakfast, hang by the pool before heading off to visit the temples and markets of the city, all of which are a short walk or a quick tuk tuk ride away.

If its your first time visiting Siem Reap and you want a great boutique hotel experience at a reasonable price, I would check-in to Viroth's. I think the rooms on the ground floor are the best and I'd ask for room #1 if I were to go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor, room #1 right next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Viroth's and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Siem Reap. We loved that it was a smaller hotel (only 7 rooms) as it felt very warm and intimate, and the location was ideal - close enough to town but not in the hustle-bustle of it. We had arrived very early in the day at the airport and were promptly greeted by one of the drivers who took us back to the hotel. Lucky for us, we were able to check in at that time. The room was very spacious (we had booked the double triple room) and very modern and clean. The bed was a bit firmer, but this seems to be the case in many Asian hotels, and this didn't bother us at all. As others have mentioned, there is a lack of privacy for the bathroom area (ex. the shower opens up into the room essentially and has no curtain). So ensure you are quite comfortable with the people you are travelling with! The salt-water pool was amazing, especially after a long day of sight-seeing. Last, but not least, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, and communication by email and in person was effortless. We had them arrange an early morning tour of Angkor Wat to see the sunrise and they were even so kind to pack a picnic breakfast for us to take along. It was very sweet of them. Overall, a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Try the Viroth restaurant! It was delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiemReapBenny, Manager at Viroth's Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your very positive and complementary review – it’s greatly appreciated by management and staff. We were delighted to serve you during your stay and hope you will return to stay with us in Siem Reap in the near future.

Saay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viroth's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viroth's Hotel

Address: #14, Street 23 | Wat Bo Village, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 339 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay in a newly open hotel, ideally located in a quiet area in the heart of Siem Reap, within walking distance to restaurants and shopping areas, and 15 min. ride from the Temples. Located in a sixties building, it has been renovated in an elegant 7 rooms design hotel. Facilities include a private garden with a pool, a spa with a Jacuzzi, and a large dining and lounging area on the rooftop of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Viroth's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viroth's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.