We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice colonial feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frangipani Green Garden Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Frangipani Green Garden Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Frangipani Green Garden Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   #051, Sivatha Road | Mondul2 village, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #136 of 369 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice colonial feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

this place exceeded our expectations completely. it was about the 10th place we could find accomodation in the high season of siem reap and a recent review on trip advisor was really bad. on top their website was quite bad and they offered us an immediate discount of 40% upon reservation which left us a bit suspicious.
so we came with low expectations. fortunately this place was the perfect place to stay, take a break and breath when in siem reap visiting the temples. it's a quiet, green colonial setting with nice attentive staff, a great pool area, and a good restaurant serving a good breakfast. it's very central to everything. our room was nothing special but had everything we needed with well functioning ac, very clean, good big beds and access to the huge shared terrace.
even without the 40% reduction we got for an inexplicable reason when reserving online, i would recommend it for the price. our daughter was ready to move in for good.

Room Tip: It seemed as it was possible to stay in two different houses there, one close to the street and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    10
    5
    10
See reviews for
21
41
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just spend 9 days at Frangipani Green Garden. It is a very nice hotel with a lovely garden and pool! An excellent place to be with kids (ours are 3 and 6). The staff was super nice and very service minded and helpfull at all times. They even arranged for a birthday cake for our eldest son's birthday.
We had room 107 with diret access to the pool. A very nice family room!

We can highly recommend this hotel for all kinds of travellers. The location is central in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Frangipani Green Garden Hotel and Spa (formally The Green Garden Guest House) for three nights in Feb 2013. On the three nights we were there, we spent in three different rooms. It was the Chinese New Year period and the whole town of Siem Reap was almost sold out. Needless to say, we had a difficult time looking for accommodations. And that resulted in three nights in three different rooms in this hell place.

The first room was a big suite in the old building, which was rundown and dirty. The beds and pillows were the worst you can imagine. The shower head was appalling and should be changed. Water pressure was weak. Water drainage was almost chocked and the water slowly drained away when we bathe. There were no hangers and cupboard, only a dirty rack to hang towels. The TV was from the 80's. Room was infested with mosquitoes and we found that the hotel was breeding mosquitoes in huge jars. Told the manager about this and he said no mosquitoes because there were fishes in the jar. HOW WRONG WAS HE !!! We showed him and he sheepishly said the mosquitoes must have attacked the fish. We insisted they get rid of the jars and they finally did.

The second suite room in the front new wing was the best of the three, but not great. Same problem, dirty and mosquitoes infested.

The third deluxe room was upstairs in a new main building. The toilet flush was broken and we had to asked them to fixed it once, and subsequently replaced the flush when it did not work again.

The swimming pool looked nice when you enter the little garden, but when you go for a dip you realised there were many broken and missing tiles. A guess had a cut on his foot but lucky it was nothing serious.

The best part of the hotel: Breakfast was adequate and fairly good, and the restaurant staff were very attentive and friendly. There was also a free wi-fi for the guests.

We felt the owners and management must do much more to improve the hotel. A serious maintenance staff to maintain and look into problem areas. The housekeepers also badly need training and supervision. Get rid of the mosquitoes and flies problems.

All these said, hope they would seriously do something to survive in the industry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We found this hotel to be clean and relatively quiet. We had a gigantic room on the second floor. A bit of a weird layout, but very pleasant overall. Great air conditioning. Breakfast patio is in a great setting and the food is decent. There was some construction next door, but we were out for most of the day seeing the sights. The hotel is an easy walk to pub street, night markets and other shops. Staff is very pleasant. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rueil-Malmaison
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Horrible stay.
Hotel more than noisy due to road work in front all day.
It was impossible to stay at the pool and simply rest, rest is a world inexisting in this place.
Water coming red out of shower, toilet and wash-basin
Bathrooms of an other age
We will never stay here anymore and the place is not valuable at all for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Booked as a treat whist backpacking, disappointment from start to finish. Turned up to be told they had overbooked so we couldn't have the room we booked (which makes it somewhat pointless having online booking). Eventually after saying we would find another hotel were offered a free massage and to move rooms the next day.

Both rooms were a disappointment, not the Khmer wood floors in all the pictures but poured concrete and a rubbish little shower that people sat in the bar could see into through the shoulder height window (we did hear from people who got the rooms in the old section that the rooms in the old section are very nice)

When tried to book the free massage they told us due to further overbooking they had converted the spa room into a bedroom, so they would do it in the room, arranged a time...an hour later with no sign of the masseuse we were told they'd overbooked that too.

After complaining they did give us a discount on the 3 nights, but definitely think this is a hotel to avoid unless you rock up and see the room they are going to give you before booking. Kind of place if it was half the price and they hadn't miss sold themselves would be very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is just 10 min walking distance to the PUB street, night market and old market. The room is big, the swimming pool is right there on our door step, staffs was very friendly. Breakfast need to be improved.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frangipani Green Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Green Garden Hotel & Spa

Address: #051, Sivatha Road | Mondul2 village, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Green Garden Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to The Frangipani Green Garden Hotel and Spa, there are three houses which are beautifully decorated. The hotel offers 16 rooms, all en-suite from suite to deluxe. All rooms equipped with quality facilities. The hotel has a great central location in Siem Reap; it is about 10 mins by foot to night market, pub street and other places. The hotel provide all facilities to ensure that all guests have a compa feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, T4B, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Frangipani Green Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Garden Home Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frangipani Green Garden Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.