We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Happy Ranch Horse Farm

The Happy Ranch Horse Farm
Group #4 | Svay Dang Koum, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
(855)12 920002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 432 activities in Siem Reap
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Happy Ranch Horse Farm is an international standard horse riding stables that offers countryside trail rides, 1-3 hours through villages, rice fields and to Buddhist temples on gorgeous Cambodian horses and ponies. An eco-friendly way to get an inside look at true Cambodian life, peacefully exploring remote areas on our healthy well trained horses. We have suitable horses for all ages and all experience levels, from first time riders to advanced. A quiet way to explore areas only accessible by horseback. Open from sunrise to sunset. We also offer horse cart rides through the local villages in Siem Reap, Angkor. Please book directly with us to avoid disappointment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Do not miss the chance to book a ride with these guys!!! My trip was planned last minute with a few schedule changes, but the Happy Ranch was extremely accomodating and communicative.

The rural vistas at dawn were unforgettable. Over three hours, we splashed through rice paddies, saw children plucking lotuses from pools, and stopped at temples (ancient and modern). My guide (John) let me stop and oggle at sights along the way. I can't say enough nice things about him! Patient, helpful, and fun while being professional. I had a blast and felt safe even as an inexperienced rider.

The stables are clean and lovely, the horses healthy and clearly loved, and the English-speaking staff is excellent. I would recommend the Happy Ranch for any travel itinerary to Siem Reap.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    103
    10
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“So much fun, great way to see the countryside with superb guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have nothing but good things to say about this place, from our initial email inquiry onwards the staff at the Ranch were consumate professionals and super friendly! We were tight for time so opted for 1 hour trek which was great, the guide Kong was superb - friendly, enthusiastic, helpful (he took lots of photos for us), the horses themselves (L.A and Mexico) were great and seemed so well looked after which was important for us. The ranch itself is lovely - lots of room for the horses (and chickens) to roam and stables/facilities all great also. All staff spoke excellent English and were a pleasure to talk to. They even arranged for tuck-tuck to take us to and from our hotel!!This experience is worth every cent!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The highlight of our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We found out about this though our lonely planet guide book and were desperate to go after reading all the amazing reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed.

Our guide was fantastic and informative, he came from a family of farmers so could talk us through the farming processes in the rice paddies and villages we were riding though. He also took us to an ancient temple that was absolutely beautiful!

We'd been going horse riding for a while in the UK and the ranch had given us horses that were ideal for our skill level - my advise would be if you're going, be honest about your abilities even if you're a bit long winded so that you get the best horse for your skill set.

We chose to ride on western sadles as we thought it would be a change from the norm - we did feel very secure in them also. The horses were very healthy, clearly well cared for and very friendly, there was no mistaking that the animals welfare was extremely important to everyone that works at the ranch - they even had fans in their stables to stop them getting too hot!

We went for a 3 hour hack that started at 6am. You can choose the time you go but I would recommend going super early or quite late - galloping through the wild is fun, but it's much more fun when you get to enjoy the experience... I think if we had gone at midday the heat would have lessened the experience somewhat! The guide also provides you with bottled water which we didn't expect.

This was worth every penny and even if you don't have riding experience you should give it a go!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tour guide with great English speaking skills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The tour guide was attentive, the little boy tugging my horse (Oley) along was trying his best to make conversation despite his lacking English skills which is more than adorable!

I really enjoyed my one-hour tour very much as it brought us to the countryside. The guide allowed us to trot than casual walking several times which was a great experience as we had no prior riding experience.

It is really a "must-try" activity in Siem Reap!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Horses are well looked after! And you can really see that the horses are happy (there was an area where the horses were 'horsing' around and running and playing with each other), and the staff working there too! Happy Ranch indeed!

Wonderful trail - riding in the padi fields, looking at the temples. Great to be riding in wide open space with huge open space.

Horses superbly well behaved! Knows to keep behind each other. And it was fun when we requested the guide to go faster and the horses gallop!:) Make sure you are comfortable with the run though!

It was also great to see the cambodia kids happily playing in the fields and always yelling 'hello' to you.:)

We planned for 2 sessions - a sunset ride and a sunrise ride. Sunset cut short to an hour cos' of rain (they refunded the diff), and sunrise, we had to postpone due to the weather again.

It's alot more fun w/o the hot sun. We did the 2nd ride 1030am to 1230pm and we got burnt cos' we forgot our sunblock. So if you can - ride early / later in the day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Ranch Horse Farm also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Happy Ranch Horse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Happy Ranch Horse Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Happy Ranch Horse Farm to your Saves list