We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Happy Ranch Horse Farm

The Happy Ranch Horse Farm
Group #4 | Svay Dang Koum, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
(855)12 920002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 527 Activities in Siem Reap
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Happy Ranch Horse Farm is an international standard horse riding stables that offers countryside trail rides, 1-3 hours through villages, rice fields and to Buddhist temples on gorgeous Cambodian horses and ponies. An eco-friendly way to get an inside look at true Cambodian life, peacefully exploring remote areas on our healthy well trained horses. We have suitable horses for all ages and all experience levels, from first time riders to advanced. A quiet way to explore areas only accessible by horseback. Open from sunrise to sunset. We also offer horse cart rides through the local villages in Siem Reap, Angkor. Please book directly with us to avoid disappointment.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great first experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The two of us wanted a break from the temples so we booked a one hour trail ride. It was the first time riding for both of us but our guide was very helpful and friendly and we had a great time. Would go back again for a longe ride!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    114
    12
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Happy Ranch Horse Farm is extremely professional and we had a great riding experience with them. The email contact and booking went very smoothly and they answered my questions promptly. They also arranged a return tuk-tuk journey from our hotel, who met us on time and was courteous.

Both of us are first-time riders so we went for the 1 hour ride on the countryside around 5pm. I was quite nervous at first, but the guides were helpful in getting me on the horse and showing me the basics. Our guide (Lucy) was great, she kept the ride interesting with some trotting and we also got to see a village, the rice-fields and a Wat in the countryside. She was kind enough to take photos of us on the horse as well.

I highly recommend doing this, nice way to mix it up after a few days of temple touring.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darjeeling, India
1 review
“Happy Horsing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was a beautiful change of pace at The Happy Ranch, meandering through the countryside, past rice patties and villages, seeing some Khmer ruins that are off the beaten track. It had been years since I'd been on a horse and the staff at the farm were careful and considerate in choosing a horse that was right for my experience (a lovely horse called L.A.). I was deeply impressed by how well the ranch was run (by the charming Sary) and how incredibly well the many horses were cared for.
The staff were all smiles and very attentive. Lucy, who took us on our ride, was lovely and very knowledgeable - while also nursing me and L.A. through my first canter in a decade. I'd highly recommend visiting the ranch and taking a break from the frantic tourist pace of the rest of Siem Reap. It's a couple of hours that give you a glimpse of the place you won't get any other way - it was beautiful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury,ct
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Get out of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

As a family of four, kids ages 9 and 12, we booked a two hour trail ride for the next day on their website which was followed by a confirmation email within hours. My wife was the only one with prior horseback riding experience but they gave the rest of us a decent introduction to being on a horse, best you can do in a matter of minutes. One of our daughters was a little afraid of leading the horse herself so they sent a handler to hold the reins. The ranch is professionally run, clean, neat and well organized so you can be sure the horses are well cared for. Our guide was a British woman who is working there for a couple months. Our ride started out from the ranch which is on the fringes of suburbia in Siem Reap but you soon enter the rice paddies where you get a much better feel for local life. Horseback is an excellent way to view local life since you don't feel like an intruder on motorbike and as it's only a few people you don't get the embarrassing human zoo feeling you may get at other sites. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great break if you are "templed out"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We chose the three hour ride during the afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The trail was through the paddy fields and small villages and ended at a village with a stupa. The ranch is very well run at a very high standard. All the horses were in excellent condition and used to being ridden by people of limited riding ability. We would recommend a ride if you need to have a break from walking temples.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Ranch Horse Farm also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Happy Ranch Horse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Happy Ranch Horse Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.