We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden TaKeo Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golden TaKeo Guesthouse to your Saves list
Golden TaKeo Guesthouse
#123, Wat Bo Road, Wat Bo Village | Sankat salakamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 364 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We got two double rooms at only $14 per room per night. This comes with free breakfast, wifi and pick-up already. The reason we decided to stay here is because (i) they pack breakfast for the 5AM sunrise tour at Angkor Wat; (ii) they have free bicycles which you can use when going to Old Street; (iii) they’re relatively near the Old Market (we walked one time); and (iv) the price is very reasonable. The owner, Prom, can look a bit cold, but he’s actually okay. And oh, they also offer free fish foot spa at the top floor (but the fish were kinda big for foot spa.. so we decided to skip it. haha). No complaints – even towels and sheets are ok, no bugs etc – and will definitely recommend to friends.

some photos here: http://thepencilpirouette.com/2012/05/20/back-story-vietnam-cambodia-pirouette/

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
57
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The owner was very helpful in arranging an extra bed in one of the rooms with no extra cost. The rooms are clean, with towels and slippers. Breakfast is included in the price, 12 usd per night for two! And on the day we watched the sunrise at angkor wat, he had our bfast packed. I just wish the small road going there is repaired. But that is the only negative thing. We had a blast dipping our toes in the fish foot spa. And we had to check out earlybut he gave us a room later where we can take a bath before we headed to the airport for the trip home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Great place to stay. The "family Suite" had 2 queen-sized bed that will fit 4 guests comfortably. For USD 32 ($8/person), you will get aa 3 day/2night stay, inclusive of breakfast at the rooftop restaurant where you you can have a free fish pedicure. The room and toilet were clean. There is a tv (which we never used), but no phone or refrigerator(which hardly mattered since we used our cellphone and ate out all the time) . They provide you with white flip-flops to wear inside the hotel. The toilet/shower is supplied with toilet paper and a small bar of soap. There is no trash bin inside the toilet but it's only a minor inconvenience. More importantly, the air conditioner works perfectly (something you will appreciate after having spent a long, hot, sticky day at the temples). There is wifi but it was a bit slow when we were there. The hotel is located in a quiet street but just a short distance from a busy main street. One thing though, the street is unpaved and only lined with gravel so it gets muddy when it rains. The food at the rooftop restaurant is good and they will pack your breakfast to go if you are doing a sunrise tour at Angkor Wat. The owner of the hotel is Mr. Prom. He is very helpful and accommodating. He allowed my group the use of a room to shower and freshen up after we returned from an afternoon tour even though we already checked out at noon! He will also break larger USD bills to smaller ones. Overall, a good place to stay in Siem Reap!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Loved this place - we arrived after a nightmare bus trip from sihanoukville and they sent a free tuktuk to come and get us from the bus journey which was very much appreciated. Location is 10-15 mins easy stroll to pub street or $2 in a tuktuk (nice quiet area). Rooms are clean and showers are good.

Breakfast is excellent and they will do a packed breakfast for sunrise at angkor wat. Food otherwise is cheap and good quality and they have a free fish spa in the rooftop restaurant!

The owners are lovely - so helpful without being pushy. They organised angkor wat trip and our bus to bangkok - both of which were fine and well priced. They are only too happy to help and always smiling despite being up at 4.30am every morning and then not going to bed until the last guests are in!

So in conclusion for $14 this hostel is great value and i would definitely recommend it for your stay in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem. Reap
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Welcome from the staff was really good, could not help you enough, explained the area and how much to pay for tuk tuks. Free collection from airport really good.

Organised tuk tuk for Angkor wot and gave us a breakfast picnic at 5am so we could see the sunrise.

Roof top restaurant served excellent food, recommend chicken rice dish.

Interesting fish collection. (not for consumption)

Cambodia a beautiful place with happy people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a wonderfull guesthouse owned and run by the extremely helpful Prom. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the accommodation includes a delicious breakfast served on the lively shady roof terrace ( the pancakes are delicious). The girls who clean and cook , Rosa, Christina and Savane are lovely and deserve a special mention for all their hard work and cheerful smiles.

The food here was some of the best we had in Siem Reap and was very inexpensive. Great Khmer food and fab fruit shakes.

Prom can also organise buses, taxis and visas. I cannot recommend this place highy enough.

Room Tip: Book early as there are not many rooms . All have air conditioning and fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden TaKeo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden TaKeo Guesthouse

Address: #123, Wat Bo Road, Wat Bo Village | Sankat salakamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and welcome to your budget Siem Reap Guest House, only 10 minutes from the Angkor Wat Temples. You can have spacious clean rooms from 7$ for a single room with attached bathroom and 8$ for double room with attached bathroom to 17$ for an air-con twin beds room with attached hot-water bathroom. See more details about the rooms of the Golden TaKeo GuestHouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Golden TaKeo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Takeo Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden TaKeo Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.