We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Heritage Suites Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wat Polanka, Slokram Village, Siem Reap 93101, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Shanghai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Everything was perfect. One of the best hotel we did in Asia (in term of hotel, atmosphere, food).
We stayed 4 nights, hotel is small, quite, nicely decorated, clean... we directly had the feeling to be at home...Management is very good (easy to discuss, good information about the trip...), staff is very nice... Food is also a very good... There is a band play music on the Thursday (very friendly atmosphere). After long day visiting, we were so happy to arrive at the hotel and feel so good and relaxing (enjoy the swimming pool, have a drink in the bar...).
We will definitively booked to Heritages hotel next time we will travel to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    109
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
136
551
83
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We could not have felt more welcomed. Everyone was gracious and very accommodating. The room was gorgeous and I loved the location off the tourist area. The template tours they arranged were terrific, it was a great way for me to get to know the area with an expert.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Siem Reap is pretty cheap for hotels by the world's standards and this is about as inexpensive as you can stay in any Relais & Chateaux hotel, I'd imagine. The standard room was a little bit more worn and dated than we expected and not the most spacious. Other than that, it very comfortable and peaceful. The location is a bit out of town but it's a $2 or $3 to the centre. The best bit of the hotel is the bar/lounge area where you can while away many hours. The set tasting menu from the restaurant was up there with our best meals on a three and a half week trip (a definite 5 if I get round to doing a separate review). The staff are friendly and welcoming. Definitely worth your consideration for Siem Reap.

Room Tip: We were in standard which was decent but not amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel has a unique atmosphere which makes it something special and a delight to come home to. No, it does not have all the glitz of a swanky five star hotel - which I must say I also enjoy - but its intimacy and the staff, make it a very special experience. We loved happy hour every night, we loved the breakfast, and the other meals either by the pool or in the restaurant, and were delightfully surprised every night with the small gifts on our bed. We also got a kick out of the airport transfers in the old Mercedes. All this combined to add to our Siem Reap experience. When you are going to somewhere as special as Angkor, it is great to have the whole package. We stayed in the Red Poppy suite which was huge, but suited us nicely..... and was blissfully quiet. We even used the steam room! The one suggestion I would make is to provide better toiletries - with the Relais & Chateaux brand, I would have loved to have been spoilt with luxurious soaps and some body cream please! Although I didn't see the standard room I would definitely recommed taking a suite. We used the Heritage Tour services which were great, and the shop was also a little treasure trove. I look forward to returning to Siem Reap and to the Heritage Suites!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in the MIdlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I am a regular Relais & Chateaux customer, so this hotel was a natural choice for my trip to Angkor Wat earlier in July. I was met at the airport with cold towels and a cold drink by their exceptionally friendly driver, who gave me some excellent tips for my stay.

In the other Relais and Chateaux Hotels I have stayed in, one of the real joys has been the feeling that the senior staff (hotel proprietor, maitre'D) were around and attentive, taking a personal interest in your stay. There is no such feeling at this hotel. I didn't meet the proprietor at any time, nor did I see them around the hotel.

I decided to treat myself to a bungalow suite (Ylang-Ylang) and was impressed by the space it provided: really open and an exceptional haven in the humidity of rainy-season Cambodia. While the layout was somewhat non-traditional (toilet, shower & sink facilities quite a distance apart) I didn't find this to be a problem. You have total privacy in the room and although the garden is too small to use as such, it was a pleasant space to look on. The turn down gifts were certainly a nice touch.

I came to the conclusion that aside of the space, the Bungalow wasn't the best use of my money. There is an unusable sofa, made so by two things. Firstly, it has an absurd wooden frame which mean that you cannot lie down. Secondly, no thought has been given to the ergonomics since it is massively uncomfortable to sit on.

Most annoyingly, the same is true of the bed, which is without doubt the hardest hotel bed I have ever slept on: so hard, that I had back pain on the last day of being there. I think this is the room's most serious weakness.

The breakfast was really good: it was a la carte, but you could order as much as you liked. I loved the eggs benedict and the coffee was seriously tasty and is highly recommended. I also tried some of the cocktails and recommend those too.

The hotel tried to sell me a tour of the temples but you should be aware that there is a huge premium and you would probably do better to look on trip advisor for some of the many highly regarded tour guides in Siem Reap.

Overall, this was a nice hotel but certainly not worth

Room Tip: Avoid paying for a bungalow - not really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

At its core, a hotel is to be used for a comfortable night's sleep. Unfortunately, this is where Heritage falls short. My understanding is that Asian beds are a bit more hard than normal although after traveling for a couple of weeks in Vietnam and Cambodia my wife and I have been more than comfortable...until we hopped in the bed at Heritage. It is basically a box spring with no padding and it squeaked anytime you moved. At first I thought maybe this was an error, but the hotel staff said all the beds were the same. One night stay of no sleep and we moved to a much more comfortable setting at La Residence d'Angkor. The hotel attempted to charge us for another night's stay because we did not cancel with a couple days notice, but after meeting with the general manager (an amicable fellow) we agreed to disagree over the bed comfort but he conceded that the squeaking isn't appealing.

Other than the bed, the hotel is located about a block off a main road in a Cambodian neighborhood that isn't all that appealing. I saw others complain about the children's school next door and while you certainly could hear them it was better than other noises. The property is nicely kept and our room (Bungalow Suite) was a little oddly laid out but spacious and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Went to enjoy happy hour at the bar and was very pleased when we arrived at the place. It is immaculately designed with the garden well-tended. Handsome bar served up pretty 2 for 1 cocktail drinks, not to be shared. We were pretty buzzed after 2 drinks! Peanuts were so good, so were the beef carpaccio and goat cheese bruschettas!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Suites Hotel

Address: Wat Polanka, Slokram Village, Siem Reap 93101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#10 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Suites Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and Charming Boutique Hotel|20 Suites & 6 Classic Guestrooms | Sophisticated - but not trendy | Luxurious - but not ostentatious | Timeless - yet recognizably of its time | Genuine hospitality | One block away from the Siem Reap river |Twenty minutes from the Angkor temples|Five minutes to downtown Old Market| Saltwater pool, Spa, fine dining Restaurant & Zinc Bar | Regular Happy Hours from 5pm to 7pm at the Cocktail Bar | EVERY TUESDAY - ROYAL APSARA DANCE from 7.30Pm - 8.30Pm | EVERY THURSDAY - JAZZ IN THE CITY from 7pm to 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Heritage Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Suites Hotel Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Siem Reap
Heritage Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.