We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Heritage Suites Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wat Polanka, Slokram Village, Siem Reap 93101, Cambodia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We've given Heritage Suites 4 stars (very good) but in all honesty I would have only given a 'good' as opposed to 'very good' if it were available. The best desription I can give HS is quriky. I say this as some parts of the HS package are great whilst others are odd. The hotel seems to have gone through a number of design changes as I can't believe that it was originally designed as it is at the moment.

Take the room we had (a bungalow suite) which has a bath in the middle of the room. It has an additional outside shower which is all well and good but why? Also the room has a sauna! The sitting area comprises a sofa with no arms which is extremely uncomfortable. The nook in the indoor shower is very small with not enough room to reach in and grab shampoo or whatever. The wash basin is in yet another area and the loo is miles from both the shower and washing facilities. The beds are on a wooden platform which protudes about 5 cms from the matress allowing about half a metre space between the wall and the wooden platform. Just enough room to crack one's shins which we did in the dark. And the view is of a wall. No competent interior designer/architect would design this layout unless, of course, they set out to be 'different' or 'trendy'. It simply doesn't work.

The opposite is true of the staf who are simply brilliant. They are polite to a fault and go out of their way to help and always with a smile.

Breakfast was quite good but nothing special. We didn't have lunch or dinner at HS as there are plenty of wonderful and cheaper options in town. Drinks were quite expensive other than the Thursady night jazz evening when the prices were reasonable. Thursday night seems to be the evening when the whole of Siem Reap's ex pat community pitch up for music and drinks - nice atmosphere.

The pool area is pleasant and the pool immaculate - great to take a dip after doing the temple thing in unbelieveable heat. We went in August and I can't imagine what temple terkking must be like in the hotter months. The temples were crowded when we went so in peak months I think it would be like Oxford Street on a saturday morning - madness.

HS is about 10 minutes out of town which is no problem as a tuk tuk is always available and the ride enjoyable. One thing I found interesting is that less than 50 meters from the HS entrance gate was a great pile of rubbish on the side of the road and which stayed there during the duration of our stay. No doubt the hotel would say it is the council's duty to remove the rubbish but in the event of this not happening I would have thought HS would have removed it themselves as it did nothing to enhance the pereception of the hotel.

Some people have remarked on noise from the school, next door. As it was school hols this didn't affect us and anyway I think the school would enhance the surrounds.

All in all an interesting stay. The layout of the whole hotel is odd but the staff are great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    109
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
136
551
83
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Heritage Suites for a whole week in late August, and we cannot say enough good things about this place. First and foremost, its staff members are so welcoming and accommodating that you would feel you were treated like royalty. Their smiles are so contagious that would make even the crankiest person smile. The beautifully and tastefully decorated main building has a superb restaurant with classy, comfortable and romantic ambiance. The food is so delicious that we ate there quite a few times. We asked them to customize some dishes for our specific likings, so we never get bored with the food. Our room, a bungalow suite, was spacious, romantic, and functional (it even had a steam room). The pool area was also very cozy. The Swedish owner, Magnus, is light-heatedly charming and helpful. I was slightly scratched by a monkey in Angkor Wat. Although we thought it was very funny at that time, we started worrying about a possible rabies or tetanus infection later. Magnus immediately arranged a Western (Dutch) doctor visit for me to make sure everything was okay. They really take good care of you, and we would not hesitate to recommend Heritage Suites to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the first time I'm taking few minutes to write down a review, but for this fabulous boutique hotel, it's worth it ! I've stayed a week in August in heritage Suites with my husband and 3 kids and we simply loved it. Everything was perfect, from the room itself and it's decoration, the food at the restaurant and the staff, so welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed a lot the activities as well, such as a boat tour and some quad in the countryside. We could easily find a baby sitter for our girls when needed. Thanks to this hotel, our trip to Cambodia was one of our best vacation ever. I hope I will be able to go again one day and in the mean time, I highly recommand this hotel to each traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

After spending hot, and sultry mornings trekking through the wonders of Angkor Wat and surrounding temples, it was a welcome relief to return to the Heritage Suites each day, and be welcomed back to a warm and comforting environment!
The management team, and staff are the stars at this hotel: As no request is too small and everything came with a smile. The food was outstanding, the spa treatments are a "must do" and their tours were perfect for my husband and I. A special
" thank you" to Nary Hong, whom handled all of arrangements, despite many changes.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawker, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent an amazing 2 nights staying here at the Heritage Suites Hotel and honestly felt like i was treated like a goddess, the room was everything i imagined and more.
The management and staff were exceptional always friendly, with warm welcoming smiles and hearts.
All in all an brilliant place to stay highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great hotel, very stylish.

Suites are very spacious and luxurious.

Staff are some of the best I have ever encountered!

Food is good, but there is just a tad of style over substance.

Didn't use the outside shower and the HUGE spider looked a little menacing!

Bath Tub in the centre of the room was a very stylish touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Six weeks ago, my family holidayed in Siem Reap. This review is way belated. I am sure many know how it is that immediately after a holiday, work takes over with a vengeance. But I always wished to share with TripAdvisor readers the beauty of the gem that is Heritage Suites Hotel, Siem Reap ... so here goes:

We stayed for 5 nights/6 days in a bungalow suite. It was well appointed accommodation, very clean, airy and comfortable. An impressive breakfast was provided, served to order and not the typical buffet. The traditional Khmer noodle soup with choice of meats was simply delicious.
We ate many other meals in their restaurant. Having their French cuisine for dinner was just outstanding!

What really made this an exceptional stay for us is the staff at Heritage Suites. They are very professional, prompt and efficient but it is their warmth and friendliness that settles you "at home". Always smiling, their greetings in the morning or after a hot day out sightseeing immediately warms and welcomes you! Heritage's Manager Baptiste has such lovely staff he can be so proud of like Saleb, Phim, Thang, Sara, Sokon, Kimbliv .......!!

This is a well run boutique hotel. Prior to our arrival, detailed arrangements were promptly handled by Nary from Reservations and Teka from Heritage Adventures. The latter will plan for you engaging sightseeing trips. For sure, you can negotiate cheaper prices on the street but with Teka's experience, we got an excellent temple guide who spoke English well and was so knowledgable right up to little details about Angkor Wat. The day out there was just stunning, educational and memorable!

We also took the 4 hour quad bike trip. Simply awesome! We had a very experienced, capable and friendly guide, Veasna who made the ride extremely interesting as he patiently took us through endless countrysides and padi fields, potholed mud tracks, scattered small villages and temple ruins. The warmth of enthusiastic Khmer children spontaneously running out to wave to us by the side of the tracks is something we will never forget!

The hotel also provided us with a nice touch of transfers in a vintage Mercedes ... driven, of course, by courteous, informative drivers! Also, worth mentioning is the hotel spa Bodia; it provides quality massages and treatments.

Indeed, Heritage Suites rocks! It far exceeded our expectations !Thank you all for an outstanding and heartfelt stay ! ....... Best wishes, Peter Chan & family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Suites Hotel

Address: Wat Polanka, Slokram Village, Siem Reap 93101, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#7 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#10 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#19 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Suites Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and Charming Boutique Hotel|20 Suites & 6 Classic Guestrooms | Sophisticated - but not trendy | Luxurious - but not ostentatious | Timeless - yet recognizably of its time | Genuine hospitality | One block away from the Siem Reap river |Twenty minutes from the Angkor temples|Five minutes to downtown Old Market| Saltwater pool, Spa, fine dining Restaurant & Zinc Bar | Regular Happy Hours from 5pm to 7pm at the Cocktail Bar | EVERY TUESDAY - ROYAL APSARA DANCE from 7.30Pm - 8.30Pm | EVERY THURSDAY - JAZZ IN THE CITY from 7pm to 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Heritage Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Suites Hotel Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Siem Reap
Heritage Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.