We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Heritage Suites Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wat Polanka, Slokram Village, Siem Reap 93101, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Charming boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Heritage Suites was a great choice for our 2 days in Siem Reap. Although tucked away in the back streets of the town, it was quick and easy to get into town on a tuk tuk, and it was a haven of cleanliness and order after trips to the temples. The bungalow suite was just lovely, and the whole setting, pool area, etc. was beautiful. Staff were attentive, gentle and friendly. Breakfasts were great. The 2 half days we spent visiting the temples with a driver and guide organised by the hotel were extremely good; the guides were knowledgable and accommodating and the cars air-conditioned and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    104
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
129
505
77
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

In summary, we enjoyed our stay and the hotel grounds/accommodation met our expectations, and its attention to detail/level of service far exceeded our expectations. However our entire Cambodian trip was nearly ruined by a truly disastrous tour booked with Heritage Adventures (as described at no 1 of "cons" below). Stay at the hotel, but book your tours elsewhere to avoid serious disapointment.

PROS
1. Airport pickup - Needless to describe much beyond the reviews below, the pickup in the vintage Mercedes with welcome drinks was a real highlight.

2. Welcome drinks - After checking in, we were brought fruit and a second drink. Nice touch!

3. Lobby/grounds - The lobby/pool area is as it appears in pictures, if not better. The hotel has a very intimate and charming atmosphere. The poolside fire is

4. Breakfast - I'm still dreaming of the delicious, decadent breakfasts. There was a buffet of fresh fruit/veg/bread paired with a menu of hot food - local and Western dishes alike. We ordered multiple items on the menu to taste different local specialities - this did not phase them. Everything was served promptly and with a smile.

5. Management - Baptiste was truly warm, charming and very professional. We didn't meet the other managers, but felt the hotel was being well-run under his oversight. That being said, we shared our tour experience with him and there was no constructive resolution. We may be partly to blame for this, as we repeatedly said that we did not want a second day of touring like the first and would go to great lengths to avoid a similar experience.

6. Rooms - As you would expect from a four or five star hotel: relatively spacious, nicely decorated, and equipped with a kettle + tea/coffee. We especially liked the lit-up buddah and the fact the toilet was in a separate room from the showeroom. N.b. We had a regular room, not a bungalow, and this was more than adequate for our needs (young couple).

7. Staff - We were always greeted with multiple smiles and hellos when walking around the hotel. The staff were all charming and spoke excellent English, with the exception of the tour staff.

8. Attention to detail - The hotel provided mosquito spray, and itch relief balm, along with other nice touches such as fresh flowers and fresh fruit upon arrival.

CONS

1. Hotel tour operator - Where to begin!? In short, the tour was hopelessly disorganised (we had to create our own itinerary using our guidebook as we drove along!); the guide didn't really speak English and lied to us multiple times; we were provided with a lot of false and misleading information beforehand (meaning we nearly missed seeing one temple); the car was never at the pickup point (meaning lots of wasted time); there was only enough water for about 1 hour of the tour (meaning we were dehydrated in the 40 degree Celsius heat despite water supposedly being included in the tour price); and it was very overpriced (you can get tours approximately 30%-60% cheaper from any travel agent in town). You would be much better off with just a guidebook, or a slap on the face with a wet fish. It was THAT bad; here are some further examples throughout the day:

(a) The night before - We were trying to organise a tour of Angkor Wat and surrounding temples the night before. At first, we were going to speak with the head operator, but he had left by the time we checked in at around 7.30. Then, the hotel agreed to send someone else to us, but he never arrived. After following-up, and being told the second person had also left, we were given a trainee who spoke very little English. The trainee suggested an itinerary which wouldn't have taken more than a few hours. We made clear to him that we wanted an itinerary from sunrise to sunset seeing all of the major temples. He nodded and said "for sure" a lot. We expected an itinerary in the morning. We were told we had to wear jeans and tennis shoes, and promised coffee in the morning before our 5.15 am departure.

(b) The morning of the tour- An itinerary never materialised, nor did the coffee. It turned out all the other tourists were wearing shorts and sandals, and we were the only idiots sweating it out in long trousers and closed-toed shoes.The tour guide took us to possibly the worst position to see the sunrise - behind hundreds of Japanese tourists - and only after some prodding did he agree to go to a reflection pond that our guidebook recommended. It was much better (as was every other surrounding spot).

We then had to sit and wait for about an hour for the sun to rise - precious time that we could have been sleeping. Surely, it's not so difficult to ascertain the time of sunrise!? Following Angkor Wat, without any itinerary to speak of, we were forced to try to get the driver and guide to take us to places listed in our guidebook. Our suggestions were met with fierce opposition, and seeing each and every temple was a stressful and tedious struggle! We had to ask ourselves multiple times what exactly we were paying for.

(c) Mid-day- After our original guide disappeared mid-day, and after running out of water within the first hour, we were given a second guide. This meant we had to hear the first hour of the tour all over again. Further, the second guide was a very angry and impatient man who barely spoke any English and didn't know the answer to a single question we asked. I don't know where they found this guy, but he was easily our worst tour guide ever (and we travel a lot), and we could have done better with any chap off the street. Clearly, Heritage does not employee a guide vetting procedure.

The car was never at the meeting point, which meant we had to wait around for him to materialise. Apparently, the guide didn't have his mobile phone number, which we later found out to be a lie. The guide was full of lies: e.g. he told us there were no air-conditioned restaurants, and then took us to a restaurant he was clearly receiving commission from with an air-conditioned restaurant just next door! He regularly told us temples were too large to explore - to dissuade us from seeing them - only to correct himself later when we finally convinced him to take us there.

(d) End of the day - By the last few temples, the guide didn't bother going through the temples with us. He sat in the car pouting that we had managed to see so much (he wasn't keen on "extra" work in the heat), and we explored the temples/environs ourselves.

For the sake of brevity - or something close to it - I will not go on. Suffice to say, you will have a much more enjoyable and less stressful experience if you go on your own (just hire a tuk-tuk to take you around for a fraction of the price), or hire a driver/guide in the centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful boutique style hotel in September 2011. It is small in scale but so tranquil and well appointed. The rooms are all on ground level set in lovely gardens and so peaceful. As part of the Relais and Chateaux group you would expect to pay top $ and I suppose you do by Cambodian standards but by western standards this is a bargain for what you get. We stayed for 3 nights which is long enough to visit the sites and the temples. I was travelling with a friend and we opted for a bungalow suite each. King size bed with separate living space, large bathtub in the room with separate shower and steam room plus a walled private garden with outside shower. Very tastefully appointed and so quiet and tranquil. Such a haven to return to each day after exploring the temples and floating village etc. It is tucked away in a little side street in Siem Reap rather that on the main road of wall to wall hotels. A short and cheap trip into the centre by tuk tuk (?) or cab. There is also a spa and treatment centre. The staff are lovely and so eager to assist you as are all Cambodians and Magnus, the manager, is a friendly and charming host. They all couldn't have been more helpful. The food is also very good. If visiting Siem Reap this is the place to stay. Treat yourself!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a bungalow suite. Great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We spent three nights never to be forgotten in this heaven on earth. Wonderfully clean, tastefully decorated rooms to get back to after sightseeing. Fantastic breakfasts in a beautiful garden at the side of the clean swimmingpool. Good food in the restaurant. Very helpful and friendly staff with an extremely visible and interested manager, who organised unusual and fun outings.

Room Tip: We stayed in a beautiful suite with a private jacuzzi in a minigarden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on our second trip to Siem Reap. (The first time we stayed at La Residence d'Angkor.) Heritage Suites has all the jungle glamor of the even more expensive hotels in Siem Reap, and was very comfortable. The staff helped with every excursion we wanted to make, and were so friendly and kind. Heritage is a Relais and Chateaux hotel, and the food was delicious and service outstanding. And the grounds had that amazing exotic back-in-time feel that can just be so much fun. (And the 24-hour pool was delightful on those hot nights!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent three nights here and the hotel more than met our expectations.... Pickup at the airport and check in were seamless, greeted by managers Magnus and Baptiste who set a relaxed, welcoming tone. Wonderful rooms, pool, food and excellent service all around. We booked temple tours through the hotel, and our guide was fantastic, well informed and dedicated to having us experience the essence of Cambodia at the perfect pace. The staff--housekeeping, restaurant, front desk-- was wonderful ( a shout out to Sara in the restaurant for taking such good care of us). It was a perfect respite for us in the very busy destination of Siem Reap.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a very charming and elegant boutique hotel with a lot of personality in a very convenient location. The rooms are spacious. The food is excellent. The management and staff are very friendly, gracious, and attentive and they go out of their way to accommodate customer needs. On top of that, you will have the privilege of being escorted in a vintage royal Mercedes that once was owned by the King of Cambodia. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Suites Hotel

Address: Wat Polanka, Slokram Village, Siem Reap 93101, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#8 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#18 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Suites Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience sophisticated and genuine hospitality in this small and charming luxury boutique property with 26 well designed and spacious suites & rooms, located a block away from the Siem Reap river, 15-20 minutes from the Angkor temples and 3-5 minutes from downtown. Saltwater pool, Spa, fine dining Restaurant & Zinc Bar. Indulge in sophisticated dining at our Lobby Bistro and Mezzanine with refined Khmer Specialties & International Favorites. The stylish zinc bar is the place to gather for drinks and enjoy unique cocktails or a tasty Cambodian Kingdom beer. Regular Happy Hours from 5pm to 7pm at the Cocktail BarEVERY TUESDAY ! ROYAL APSARA DANCEExperience Traditional Dance performance in an elegant ambiance. Show from 7.30pm - 8.30pm (no entry fee)Dine à la carte (A/C, Wifi)EVERY THURSDAY ! JAZZ IN THE CITYJazz the night away from 7pm to 10pm at only live jazz music venue in Siem Reap, showcasing a unique repertoire of Modern and Classic Jazz selections by talented musicians. Happy Hours at the Cocktail Bar while the music plays. Dine à la carte (A/C, Wifi) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heritage Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Suites Hotel Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Siem Reap
Heritage Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.