We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargain for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Crown Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Crown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Makara Street, Wat Bo Village | Salakamreuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great bargain for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was able to catch this hotel when they had a special rate. Basically paid $40usd for a standard hotel room with a balcony. The AC worked but internet was in and out in the rooms. Room was very clean the beds were really comfortable.

Location was great.. super close to everything but not exactly in the middle of the action, which is what I prefer.

It came with free breakfast, internet, and ride from the airport. Breakfast was not bad at all, I actually liked the food, they had a good assortment of Western and Asian favorites.

Hotel had 2 pools and a roof deck bar..

Over all, if you are on a budget, I dont think you can beat this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    169
    52
    8
    8
See reviews for
45
153
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed there towards the last week of June, and personally, I have absolutely no complaints. The staff was friendly, the room was spacious, I got the balcony view, and it's really wide. The room was really clean, and so was the bathroom. The Wifi in the room may not be excellent, for better and great coverage head down to the pool. The pool was small, but it was enough, because there isn't much crowd either. It's only about 5 min walk to the pub street, and it's distant enough for it to be quiet at night. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to request for the balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I was staying in Siem Reap and decided to switch hotels. I had researched the Royal Crown online and was close by so thought I would walk over before I made a reservation. I asked the person at the desk how much a room would be for one person. He quoted the deluxe room price, which was $15 more than the superior room (which was available online). I asked if there were any other rooms available and he said that was it. I asked to look at the pool, it is on the ground level by the road and not a lot of space to lounge, would have been okay, but the price situation was enough to make me book at a different hotel.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our room was clean, comfortable and with nice views. The service was friendly and efficient. The pool is small but perfectly adequate. We especially liked the rooftop bar although it was a little on the pricey side. Loved the location, a short walk from the market and main bar/restaurant areas but far enough away to be quiet at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a great hotel that we have stayed at several times. This time we found it a little more expensive since the new wing and roof top bar has been opened. Prices and menu selection in the rooftop were crazy expensive.

The new wing rooms are a great size and good value for money.

They have soft mattresses available for you to swap too if you find the traditional Asian ones a bit hard.

The new wing has doors fitted with electronic door locks that play music when unlocked with your card. All night this is all you can hear as party goers, families and others return late. Also in the mornings you be awoken by these sounds.

The dining room floor is tiled and the bottoms of the wooden chairs make the worst sound when they moved in and out.

The pool areas is great and anyone traveling with kids will enjoy this.

The breakfast is the best we have had in Cambodia so far.

Room Tip: If they put you on the new wing paralleling the road, Ask for a room on the high floor (above 2nd Fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the outside it looks a bit messy. Get inside and its chic with good staff. Good location close to markets and restaurants/bars. The bed was a bit small if you're 6ft +.

There was a shower/bath combo. The shower hot/cold taps were the wrong way round. Shower drain was too small. Hard to get the shower gel out of the packaging. Lots of light switches all over the room was a bit annoying. On the plus side, lots of tv channels, nice pool, a decent Asian and Western breakfast spread.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Upon arrival at the airport, the hotel provides tuk-tuk service to pick you up and bring you to the hotel. The room is spacious enough, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great given the price of the hotel, the buffet table is full of choices and they even provide packed breakfast for those who will leave at 5am to catch the sunrise at Angkor Wat. One of the greatest advantage of the hotel is the location that is very near the Pub street and the Old market that you can actually walk and even enjoy the scenery of siem reap. But for those who wanted to take a tuk tuk they are readily available in front of the hotel. Just haggle with them and transact the price before riding. During our trip, it almost rained everyday so the nearness of the hotel made us go back from our nightlife without the hassle of getting wet. The hotel provides tour services but we made advance booking through a guide prior to our arrival. The pool is also great since its salt water. I just hope they provide better quality tiolet paper and better quality soap. But generally Im very happy to have chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crown Hotel

Address: 7 Makara Street, Wat Bo Village | Salakamreuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 231 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.