We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a small resort than a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Angkor Village Hotel to your Saves list
Angkor Village Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 230 Hotels in Siem Reap
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“More like a small resort than a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We can't say enough great things about our stay here at Angkor Village Hotel. Location was great, only a 5 minute walk into town with about 6 markets to choose from and pub street at your doorstep. The rooms are more like double storey villas, made off wood with traditional Khmer furnishings, but dont be mistaken, the room still provides all the modern comforts except a tv... And for good reason, there is plenty to do and see in Siem Reap! We had one on the bottom level near the pool which is just big enough to cool off and have a little swim and a sunbake. You can order food and drinks to the poolside via a phone to the lobby. Because it isn't huge their are not staff everywhere but there was always someone to help and all were extremely polite. Breakfast was lovely, enough to choose from on the menu and all freshly prepared as you wish. I could not have chosen a better place, as all of the major hotels and resorts are further out of town and you would need to rely on tuk tuks.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    58
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
92
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I travelled here with my partner in January 2012 and stayed 3 nights. We both wish it was longer. It is only a few minutes by Tuk-Tuk to the main 'Pub St' and the centre of Siem Reap and literally as you step into the hotel you feel calmed by the reception area, the greeting from the staff and general tranquility of the place. There were always so many staff to answer any questions we had or generally make sure we were comfortable.

The breakfast was amazing, huge choice, all fresh and lovely and suitable for my partner who is vegetarian. The setting looking over the pond was also very beautiful and such an amazing way to start the day. We absolutely loved this place and would thoroughly recommend it. We did go to the pool, and is great for a refreshing dip, probably not so suitable for a family who want to spend a whole day swimming - but then why would you with all the things elsewhere to visit!

Our room was also very spacious and comfortable with a seating area, huge double bed and generous bathroom. Very clean and stylish and also felt very authentic.

The hotel also offered advice on excursions and other activities, we did not embark on any of these simply as we had pre-arranged a guide for our trip, but I would have been happy to take them up as they seemed well organised and a fair price.

In terms of getting about, it literally is a 2 minute ride in a Tuk-Tuk which was a couple of dollars. There was always a few outside, we also walked a couple of times too and this was a pleasant 10 minute stroll.

We didn't dine there in the evening, but as said the breakfast was amazing, we either had plans or went into the main town. Here I can recommend the Khymer Kitchen, best Morning Glory I've ever had and all very reasonably priced!

In all, for us as a couple in our mid 30's. All totally amazing!

Room Tip: We had a room looking over the pond / breakfast area - this was fantastic and spacious. Many rooms l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere a little different unlike the usual hotels found in tourist locations around the world

Angkor village sounded just like what we where looking for it was built with water all around the resort little bridges here and there lots of trees and hanging vines flowers Lilly ponds and small waterfalls at every turn it was as though the whole place floated on water it was very romantic

The rooms overlooked lush gardens the dinning room had an open view to all these things we loved it and we had only stayed in one other place like this and that was in Bali

Siem Reap town was not far and neither where the temples of Angkor,Bayon or Ta Prohm

Just make sure not to get a room at the rear of the hotel which is right on the road with a dance hall that bangs out music into the night during the day there is the noise of motor bikes going past

With so much water around you may see a rat now and then in the walk ways and foyer

Room Tip: Don't stay at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I can't believe this oasis exists a mere few blocks from downtown Pub Street, Siem Reap. It is peaceful and quiet with lush trees and wooden pathways with ponds surrounding the rooms. I truly looked forward to returning back here after a dusty day visiting the temples. Nice open rooms, friendly helpful staff. We hired the hotel tuk tuk driver Sopheat for the day to see Angkor Wat and had a wonderful (safe) ride. He was always available to take us to Pub Street or to a foot massage place. Pool very shaded but quiet. Breakfast average but enough to get you going for the day to the temples. A side note- Vicious Cycle is nearby and they have daily bike rentals/trips. Didn't realize this til the last day unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The is a lovely place to stay. Tranquil, friendly and enchanting. Rooms were large and well appointed. It is so well located. it is about a 5 minute walk in to the night markets, shopping and restaurant area of Siem Reap. It was reasonably priced and luxurious. They had a very nice breakfast, wonder crepes.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recomend this to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

From the moment you enter the resort you feel as if you have been beamed to another dimension. Every staff member makes you feel that they are totally pleased to have you as a guest in their tropical paradise. The pool is a river that meanders through the jungle of palm trees, bamboo plants and flowers from a heavenly garden. Meals are exquisite and if you don't get a foot message in the spa your a making the mistake of a lifetime. I wish we had planned for this establishment and allowed another day or two.

Room Tip: First floor rooms lead to the secluded pool directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This hotel met and exceeded all of our expectations. The "room" was a stand alone structure with a ton of privacy and beautiful views (see pictures). We were concerned about mosquitoes based on other reviews but encountered none. The breakfast was the same every day, but the crepes were truly amazing. I also had a foot reflexology session at the hotel which was well worth the $15.

The main challenge was locating the hotel. Our reservation from Agoda did not give a street address and due to similarly named hotels in Siem Reap, it took a few extra minutes before our driver found the place. However, it was conveniently located and we actually walked into town most nights.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angkor Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Village Hotel

Address: Wat Bo Road, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#36 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angkor Village Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the old colonial area, Angkor Village Hotel blends harmoniously architecture, culture and tropical nature to make it an oasis of greenery and tranquility right in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Angkor Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angkor Village
Angkor Village Siem Reap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.