We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somadevi Angkor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Somadevi Angkor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Somadevi Angkor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sivatha Road | Mondol II Village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
Harpenden
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Due to the hot weather we wanted a swimming pool to cool off after a days sightseeing and the pool here is one of the best. The hotel staff are very good and friendly. The breakfast is good but we didn't use the restaurant as we prefer to go out for dinner. Across the road is the Indo Chine restaurant which is excellent value and very good. There is also an Indian restaurant a few yards down the road on the left called Curry Waller, give it try, great value.

We asked for a room overlooking the pool. We were told that we had been upgrade to a studio suite, but the room was no different than any other room as we could see. It just about qualified to overlook the pool if we lent over the balcony. However, as it turned out we were not dissatisfied. Would recommened this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    314
    85
    12
    11
See reviews for
99
270
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A really beautiful hotel with a great pool to cool off in after shopping and sightseeing.
I emailed the hotel beforehand to get rooms overlooking the pool which only cost $5 extra per room per night above the standard rooms. It makes a big difference to have a nice outlook even if you don't spend much time on the balcony. The rooms were really nice with comfortable beds but with really high pillows that would make a chiropractor happy. Very uncomfortable! They really need 2 extra low pillows per room as most hotels have.
Make sure you have a shower in the morning or at night as the hot water ran out in the afternoon just as I put conditioner in my hair. Now that was a bad hair day.
Great buffet breakfast. We caught tuk tuks for $2 to the main tourist strip for dinner, snacks and shopping. Pub Street is where all the action is with lots of eateries and the night markets. You could walk there but the heat is so sapping in the middle of the day which is where the pool comes in handy.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with secure baggage storage for our late flight.
A special hotel and a great base to visit Angkor from.

Room Tip: Book rooms a few floors up overlooking the pool and the stage for their nightly traditional dance sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our tour guide took us to this gorgeous place. You walk in to a magnificent lobby loaded with stunning artwork. The rooms were beautiful although when one leaves the room, the electrical goes off when you take the room key out. The pool is gorgeous, with swim-up bar, the breakfast buffet sumptuous, the staff beyond excellent, and a location within walking distance yet away from te noise of town. Very very reasonable.

Room Tip: pool views nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of all the action. It's just a few blocks to the Night Market and many nice restaurants. The hotel has a lovely pool with a swim up bar and the restaurant was good. The breakfast buffet was also very good. Some of the rooms were a bit small but were furnished nicely and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My partnerand I stayed at the Somadevi Angkor Hotel over the New Year period. The hotel is centrally located in Siem Reap. We stayed in the older front hotel. There is some signs of age but generally the hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff are helpful. Breakfast and other eating opportunities were good. There is a large pool which is well used for cooling off and as a social setting for dance and dinner shows. What really stood out during our stay was the efforts put into the New Years Eve party. We had the best time and really appreciated the work by all the staff some of whom worked to midnight then came back at 5am to do the breakfast service.
Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great hotel very nice rooms, nice pool area, central location well worth the money. The deluxe suite is a great room for the extra $10.Tuktuk ride is only $1 to town or a casual 10 minute stroll. Nightly dance show is a bargain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here with my family over the new year holiday. It is in a good location, near all the restaurants, markets, and bars. The breakfast buffet is delicious (noodle station, omelet station, waffles, pastries, and a full hot buffet). The rooms and bathrooms are a little old, could be updated. The pool area is great, with a swim up bar. The spa is just ok, I got a massage which was overpriced compared to the places outside. You are separated by curtains so you can hear people around talking, and the masseusse had really small hands that made it uncomfortable (like quick jabbing motions into my back).

Overall the hotel is in a great location so you can walk into downtown area and still close to the airport and a short car ride (less than 30 mins) to the main temples. Don't expect a 5 star hotel though. The newer hotels seem to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Somadevi Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somadevi Angkor Hotel

Address: Sivatha Road | Mondol II Village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#33 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#40 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somadevi Angkor Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Somadevi Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somadevi Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Somadevi Angkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somadevi Angkor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.