We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"More of the same", anyone? :)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baphuon Temple

Baphuon Temple
Angkor Tom, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$80*
and up
Private Tour: Angkor Wat and The Royal Temples...
Ranked #17 of 79 Attractions in Siem Reap
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
1,260 reviews 1,260 reviews
1,056 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
640 helpful votes 640 helpful votes
“"More of the same", anyone? :)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a rather new addition to the touristic hype of Siem Reap, and what can I say - "more of the same" sums it up pretty much.
There are many, many, many steps to climb, and while the view from the top IS nice, once you've visited Angkor Wat, you can skip this one for sure.
A 30-minute visit is over the top for this temple.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    86
    32
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Olongapo, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Dress Properly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

They didn't let me in because my attire was a bit inappropriate. No hurt feelings though. That I completely understand and respect.

Baphuon is still an active Theravada Buddhist temple. I should've brought a long cover-up skirt to be allowed to climb this beautiful temple. I'll be more appropriate next time :)))

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Climb every mountain... temple.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Don't miss this! This isn't in most of the guidebooks (yet), and has a surprisingly low rating in Trip Advisor, presumably because this temple was recently opened to the public, after restoration work was completed some 2 years ago. I would have missed this, had my tour guide not worked this into the itinerary. What many don't know is that Baphuon is older than Angkor Wat. The view from the top is breathtaking. Best time to see it is now, when the tourist hordes haven't yet discovered it. Couple of helpful tips: (1) Make sure you wear comfortable shoes with a good grip, if you plan to scale up this temple. Baphoun is a mountain temple. Expect to walk up several flights of steep stairwells. The view of Angkor Thom once you reach the top, is worth the effort. (2) Heed the advice, offered by other reviewers, on appropriate attire; i.e. shoulders and knees must be covered. The dress code is strictly enforced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very tall and magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This temple is very big and get ready to go up stairs. but once you are there yo can see the whole Angkor Thom.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyk
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
137 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
“one more !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

by this time you must have seen all the great temples and therefore this one wud seem not much different... but if you have had the chance and time to see this , its a good visit !

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baphuon Temple also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Baphuon Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baphuon Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.