We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance from Pub street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Piano Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Piano Guesthouse
No 341, 50 m Northwest of the Old Market | Svay Dangkom, Mondul I, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Walking distance from Pub street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

The best room we've stayed at in Cambodia, the staffs really nice and we get free breakfast :) Breakfast includes a coffee/tea with a cookie, 2 toasted bread which comes with jam and butter, and a plate of fruits (sliced up bananas, dragon fruits, oranges, apples). Carved wooden beds and colourful wall hangings.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We are a family with 4 kids age 8 to 13 - we wanted to get a family room where we could all stay together and with a limited budget we were happy enough with the Red Piano. The staff put extra beds in the room for us and our family fitted in just fine. The bathroom was adequate but small and needs a bit of re decoration and new fittings, but on the whole it was clean, large enough to take 4 beds and staff were pleasant enough to us. There was the odd gheko in the room but hey, it's Cambodia. Breakfast was the only disappointing thing about the Red Piano - inclusive it might be but ask what breakfast is before letting it sway you to book here. We beefed it up by ordering extras each day but we stayed at other places in Cambodia where we got a veritable feast in comparison.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I are at Red Piano twice (once for breakfast and once for lunch) and was impressed! Both the food and service was good and it is a great place to people watch. Be aware though, they love Angelina Jolie!

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

i paid $13 for a very clean and well furnished room, i was staying alone but i believe they charge more for extra persons, the price included a breakfast of 2 fresh baguettes, jam, fresh fruit salad & tea or coffee, extras like cheese, ham, salami could be added for 50c each, breakfast is served in their excellent bar/restaurant a short walk away on bar street, which serves great and very large pasta dishes amongst others, the location is in a quiet side street close enough to the action, the rooms were very clean and well furnished but the sheets were very thin and the pillows tiny, also the TV was so small that you could not see it if you were lying on the bed so i had to watch whilst sat on the end of the bed, but i would deffo stay there again if i am ever in siem reap.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Can't fault hotel, clean, AC, v. reasonable at $20 (inc. breakfast), very friendly and helpful staff. No complaints. Having moved from the dire 'Shadow of Angkor' this was Mecca!
The 2 days spent at the temples was amazing and the tuk tuk driver/guide was the best we have used throughout SE Asia, if poss give him a call, Yean (pronounced 'gin') (855) 092 533 414. V knowledgable about the history and excellent English.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

I booked into the Red Piano Guesthouse in the morning for a 4 night stay and checked out just after lunch on the same day. The building is lovely from the exterior but the room was small, dirty, painted an extreme yellow and the sheets were so thin you could see the mattress through them. The bathroom was super tiny with only a shower hose on the wall by the sink. The room was only $20USD/night but not for me. So, I walked across the street, paid $5 more and got a beautiful room with full walk in shower, breakfast and access to an outdoor pool. Skip the RP Guesthouse and go to Encore Angkor. The Red Piano Restaurant is excellent though - it's on the Pub Street.

  • Liked — Walking distance to Pub Street, Day Market and Night Market
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

I wouldnt stay here again. The location is good, two minutes from the centre of town, but the place is a bit depressing, and it is worth spending more when you are here as you'll be tired from the temples. the showers are rubbish as well and the mosquito nets torn on the windows. Its not even that cheap considering its not good.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The depressing feeling of returning here.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Piano Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Piano Guesthouse

Address: No 341, 50 m Northwest of the Old Market | Svay Dangkom, Mondul I, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 220 hotels in Siem Reap
Also Known As:
The Red Piano Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap
The Red Piano Hotel
Red Piano Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Piano Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Red Piano Guesthouse to your Saves list