We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angkor Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Angkor Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Angkor Holiday Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Of Sivutha Boulevard and the 6th National Road | National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 244 Hotels in Siem Reap
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I do not understand the negative comments regarding the hotel--we have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and we don't have anything bad to say about it.
- The staff were friendly and helpful.
- Security is also pretty good (compared to one horrible hotel in Kep).
- It is only a few minutes walk to pub street, night market and the Artisan Angkor, and the temples
- Breakfast was okay -- a little crowded before 8:30 am but after that you will have the whole place to yourself as most people would have already left
- the rooms we were in were spacious -- De luxe twin and deluxe king (We didn't realise that we have confirmed a twin bed with our travel agent so the next morning we asked whether we could transfer to a double and we were able to arrange that without trouble)

:)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    195
    60
    17
    6
See reviews for
46
90
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed for three nights in mid Februrary. Good location easy to get anywhere in town with lots of
tuk tuks around and easy walk to most parts of town.

Free wifi is available and it worked pretty well within my room. The room itself was large but the lighting was very poor. We had to keep the clothes in one section since we couldn't see in the others. Bathroom shower is layed out very poorly - no place to hold the soap or shampoo except on the tile floor - pretty wierd.

Breakfast was ok with a variety of choices. But when we were here it was very busy and the staff could not handle the crowds - which resulted in a poor experience. Overall, I would not stay here again and would look for a different spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum Turkey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We arrived fairly late and were tired but even so did not want to accept the room. The bath looked as though they had been mixing cement and bricks in it, it isn't often you put your shoes on to get into the shower. The receptionist suddenly stopped being able to speak English the minute we wanted to change rooms! We found the manager the next day and as soon as we told him our room number he immediately knew we would want to change rooms as they have had many complaints about the state of the bath. Instead of annoying many different guests why not just change the bath!
We were with a group and inexplicably all the singles were put on the 4th floor in enormous rooms with balconies and all the couples put on the 3rd floor in smaller rooms. I think Siem Reap is so crowded that they have a captive audience and don't need to bother with customer satisfaction. Niether of our rooms were clean.
The road was repaired with new wet tarmac whilst we were there and I asked if they had anything to put down outside for me to clean my shoes on as I didn't want to walk wet tarmac in. The response was a shrug as no-one could be bothered so I and the rest of the people outside walked wet tarmac all over the polished floors.
Breakfast was good with lots of choice.
On one ocassion we were also woken by a large party taking place next door. The hotel boasts CCTV and the receptionist is supposedly watching the corridoors...not enough to see up to 50 people pile into one room it seems.
The availability of hot water is random.
Of all the hotel in five weeks of travelling this is the only one we would advise against. It all looks fine on the outside but the minute something goes wrong you are on your own.
We had checked out three days later before our welcome drink arrived!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Came to Siem Reap for conference, I stayed in Angkor Holiday for 4 nights in Superior room. This hotel was beyond my expectations, according to the room rates. The location is in the centre of the city, can walk to the Old Market, Night Market, Pub Street, and famous Artisan Angkor in about 10 min. The room is big and clean, and so does the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was good, they served lots of fresh fruits. For Muslims, better to make sure whether the dishes were halal or not. The hotel staffs were very nice and helpful, but except the receptionist, most of them cant speak English. You will find lots of tuk tuk drivers around the hotel, but do not take tuk tuk that parking on left side of the hotel, they will charge you much higher.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was in Siem Reap from the 9th till 13th Jan, and the one good thing I can comment is that the location is good. It is in the heart of the city, and everything is within walking distance so you do not need to ride a tuk tuk within town. There is an abundance of tuk tuk drivers at your disposal outside of the hotel.

The hotel provides free wifi to its guests, but within my room, the wifi signal is weak and constantly disconnects. There was a period of time where the Internet was down as well, which was frustrating as I needed to do some browsing to find places in Siem Reap.

Breakfast was good, with a wide variety of choice between western and local cuisine. There were few days where I had to go out early about 5am to see the sunrise, so it was possible to pre-arrange packed boxes for breakfast on the night before.

Room facilities were average, but since you would typically spend the whole day out, amenities like the TV were hardly used. The air conditioning was sufficient. Beds were comfortable. Plumbing was terrible, during my stay, we have had inconsistent water heating, one day it was cold water all the way, other days it would be alternating between cold and suddenly boiling hot.. it was quite frustrating. Toiletries could be improved on, toothpaste was not effective.

I would recommend looking for another hotel within the same price range, but if you are not so picky on the items I listed above, it is still a good location to stay at, simply for its convenience to get around Siem Reap town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stopped here for a couple of nights at the end of an Exodus trip to Vietnam and Cambodia so we had no choice of hotel. Tuk Tuk rides into town are just a quid for 4, but you can walk it in 15 minutes.

Rooms are clean and well appointed with a comfortable bed and decent shower. What else do you really need after a hard day in the temples?

Breakfast was the usual Vietnamese/Cambodian continental affair with an omlet chef and some hot food but nothing to get excited about.

Staff were good but not too excitable, apart from the door men who scurry to open the front doors before you can get to them, I challenge you to beat them.

Pool was good, clean with towels provided and a nice seating area next to the snooker table. Pool bar was a bit thin, if you order drinks, they have to come from the kitchen and take ages. Paying is worse, they have no change and if you sign, they have to fetch a waiter to do it.

The restraunt does evening meals but we didn't eat there. Other people on our tour did and said it was OK.

The real down side of this place is that there is no bar area. There is a coffee corner in the lobby, but if you order a beer or other drink, it again has to come from the kitchen and takes ages. The seating is very uncomfortable and there is not much of it. You are better off leaving the hotel and finding a comfortable bar down the road or on Pub Street, beer is cheaper here too.

Whilst we were there, I did see the most enormous rat round the corner from the pool bar. It was so big I thought it was a dog at first. it was sniffing round a pile of building material left in a passage way. this was not actually inside the hotel building, just on the grounds but it could access the pool area. I suppose these things are common here but worth keeping your eye on if you have small children. Lots of hand washing is probably a good idea, but you should be doing that anyway in a country like Cambodia.

All in all not a bad hotel but I suspect that there are better in the area, bet they all have rats though?

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor overlooking the pool and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Following our experience, there are a few things to note that might help other travellers.

Location: It's in the business district which is great because it's about a 10 minute walk away from the backpacker and market hustle and bustle of Pub Street. We liked to walk down there for meals, but appreciated the atmosphere of a more sophisticated hotel.

Fitness Centre: This was a major drawcard for us, but only one of the 5 cardio machines worked and staff could not assist. The pool is lovely though.

Internet: It sells itself as having free wi-fi, but when you get there, hotel info tells you that you must pay. However, I just went up to the front desk and asked for the log in details and they happily gave it to me, no questions asked.

Air-con: The aircon in the room was so loud that it woke me up with a jolt one night. It sounded like a generator starting or something.

Overall, it was a lovely stay. The rooms are clean, large and comfortable and the breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor have a lovely balcony overlooking the pool, but the lift only goes to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angkor Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Holiday Hotel

Address: Corner Of Sivutha Boulevard and the 6th National Road | National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#74 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Angkor Holiday Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Holiday Hotel conveniently situated at the heart of Siem Reap Commercials & Businesses district with fast & easy access to wide and variety of restaurants and the popular Pub Street. Both world famous Angkor Wat & Siem Reap International Airport are only 10 minutes drive and the Royal Palace is 2 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Angkor Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angkor Holiday Siem Reap
Hotel Angkor Holiday

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angkor Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.